Kaz AMPS 533/PMPS241

Status
Not open for further replies.
The no shoot number is where you stall, don’t feed and test 20 minutes later to see if the BG is rising. And you post and ask for help on the forum. I know that might be hard when you have to go straight out to work so on those occasions a reduced dose may be best. We want to avoid skipping insulin altogether as he needs some insulin, especially after DKA.
You just gave insulin with a preshot of 177 (when you could monitor) which is great! And now we can get some data on how he goes with that preshot and the full dose.


this is why I wanted you to swap to the human meter now and not get a fright when you put on the libre the day before you left for your trip.
The human meter runs lower than the pet meter so we expect lower numbers. Normally as the numbers get lower, the difference gets smaller. Because you have shot a 177 we can now lower the no shoot number to that…..that means that is when you will stall, dont feed and retest 20 or 30 minutes. If it is a day that you have to work, we can sort out a reduced dose.
It is great you have the auto feeder set up and Kaz likes it. This will make things easier all round.


I completely understand your concerns. This is why I wanted you to swap to the human meter before you put on the libre to travel. ….getting used to the lower numbers of the human meter will just take a few days. The human meter BGs are showing as lower but Kaz still has the same numbers on the pet meter…..it’s just the human meter runs lower.


Absolutely you need to understand what you are doing….that is our aim here….to help you learn how to manage your Kaz and to understand why you are doing what you are doing. Keep asking questions!


She is following TR so the reduction point is 68 on the alphatrak meter and 50 on the human meter.





His numbers have not become unstable, you have just swapped to the human meter where they are lower…..this is normal.
Let’s see how he goes over the next few days. When do you work over the next few days?
Remember we will be recommending the dose be reduced for when you are on vacation. We call it a vacation dose.
You are doing an excellent job looking after your beautiful boy!:bighug:



Hi Bron
Kaz's numbers are dropping way more than I expected and its not because of the human meter the numbers are much lower on the AT2 meter as well.
The PMPS shot was around the same as the last 3 days but even with the AT2 the following two shots this evening have both been in the blues whereas on the other days they stayed in yellow.
My gut says that he is going to continue to drop as the insulin kicks in and I am assuming that I am going to have to get up throughout the night to check him and keep feeding him high carb food.
I can do this tonight as I don't have work on Sunday.

Monday is a different story I have back to back meetings from 7am till 3pm (Monday and Tuesday are always my worst days) and I can not miss these meetings as three of them requires my input and they have to be in person.

My big question is if his numbers are now reducing should I be reducing the insulin from 2.75 to 2.5???? I nearly did this tonight but I wanted to wait till you told me if this was the correct thing to do.

Claire
 
I see you are giving 15% carbs Claire. I think it would be better to give some lower carb food instead so that we can see how the dose goes with that preshot. I know you are anxious but do you think you could do that?


I already gave him the 15% I was really worried that he was dropping so quickly and I did it before I saw your note. I am planning on checking him again at midnight (he doesn't usually eat after the meal I just gave him) so I can feed him some 2 or 3% carb food then. Sorry did not see your note first.
 
I already gave him the 15% I was really worried that he was dropping so quickly and I did it before I saw your note. I am planning on checking him again at midnight (he doesn't usually eat after the meal I just gave him) so I can feed him some 2 or 3% carb food then. Sorry did not see your note first.
That’s Ok. It is all a learning curve and you are doing great!
I’m just wanting to see how he goes with lower preshots with the food he’s going to be getting while you are away so we can find a dose he will be safe with while you are away.
 
That’s Ok. It is all a learning curve and you are doing great!
I’m just wanting to see how he goes with lower preshots with the food he’s going to be getting while you are away so we can find a dose he will be safe with while you are away.

So I had been thinking about this myself and obviously your the expert here but I know I want to keep his BG at as even a level as I can at the lower dose while keeping him safe. I know that Laurie will come twice a day otherwise he's on his own so I know we need to keep his BG up.
Again I'm no expert but this was the chart I had put together and was going to change it once you gave me direction and the dose.

Please keep in mind Kaz's usual food has been Tiki (last 9-10 years this has been one of his meals) its good healthy food which has 0% carbs but is high in protein. He's on this as I thought it was the best food for him at the time and it looked like real food.
After Kaz got diagnosed I realized from listening to all of you that he actually needed some carbs and a fellow member told me that they used to use Tiki and now used Wernuva. After researching this food I realized that it was another good option and had food ranging from 0% carbs to 20%.
I have the 0% and I have the 20% at the house in case of emergencies. I also have a whole bunch in between. This was when I started feeding him the 2%-3% carbs during the day and if I saw the numbers drop too low I'd give him 4-10% instead (not been often as he's been consistently high with his numbers).

Again I'm no expert (waiting for your final input here) but the below was my starting point. starting off low and gradually introducing more carbs as the day went and as the insulin kicked in. I could be totally wrong?


upload_2022-5-14_22-53-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-14_22-53-30.png
    upload_2022-5-14_22-53-30.png
    4.3 KB · Views: 157
upload_2022-5-15_13-7-18.png

Are these the times you feed Kaz with the auto feeder?
And is this what you are working out to try before you go away and is this what Laurie will give while you are away?

I think I would try feeding at +3 and +6 as that is normally when the insulin is strongest. Then if you wanted to put another small snack at +8 while you are away, that would be OK.
If you think Kaz would eat then, you could try that.
As far as the % of carbs you are feeding, I would try using carbs around 5-7% across all the feeds.
What do you think of that?
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-15_13-7-18.png
    upload_2022-5-15_13-7-18.png
    4.3 KB · Views: 283
View attachment 64258
Are these the times you feed Kaz with the auto feeder?
And is this what you are working out to try before you go away and is this what Laurie will give while you are away?

I think I would try feeding at +3 and +6 as that is normally when the insulin is strongest. Then if you wanted to put another small snack at +8 while you are away, that would be OK.
If you think Kaz would eat then, you could try that.
As far as the % of carbs you are feeding, I would try using carbs around 5-7% across all the feeds.
What do you think of that?

I think I want to stay with Tiki and Wernuva don’t really want to try introducing another food plus not really much else out there I like that I consider healthy. Kaz has other issues so I need to keep higher quality food.
He does not really like fish that much he prefers chicken, sometimes turkey and every now and then salmon.
These come with lower carbs. He particularly like three of the Wernuva but they range from 2%,3%and 4%

He had really bad diahrea last week on the fish which he reluctantly ate. I tried him on this again and same thing. His tummy could not tolerate the fish.
So I’d prefer to stay with the food we are on. Already changed from the Tiki to the Wernuva and this took 2-3 weeks of research before I would do it.
I need him to eat while I am gone and not have upset stomach every day or blockage. So I would be really against this as it would not work for this cat.
My other cat yes but not Kaz. He’s too delicate.
Hoping this is not a problem.
Coming up to midnight so going to do one more test give him bit more food (this would be a new meal as he does not usually eat this late we are both usually asleep by now)
Then I have my alarm set for 2.30 am to try and test again at that time.
 
think I want to stay with Tiki and Wernuva don’t really want to try introducing another food plus not really much else out there I like that I consider healthy. Kaz has other issues so I need to keep higher quality food.
I’d prefer to stay with the food we are on. Already changed from the Tiki to the Wernuva and this took 2-3 weeks of research before I would do it.
I need him to eat while I am gone and not have upset stomach every day or blockage. So I would be really against this as it would not work for this cat.
Ok. I understand completely. What about changing the times to +3 +6 and +8?
 
I'd have to buy another auto feeder I think I can get another small one into the box and still leave him room.
I only give him half a portion for these extra meals but he's beginning to get a little bit overweight and obesity isn't going to help him.
I've been a bit worried about this over the past week but I guess I can slim him back down when I get back from the UK. Assuming the extra feed is while I am gone and not now?
Got to try and get a little sleep I'm only averaging 5 hours as it is.
Test through the night more because I am so worried at the low numbers and I am already guessing I wont be able to give him the AM shot
 
I'd have to buy another auto feeder I think I can get another small one into the box and still leave him room.
I only give him half a portion for these extra meals but he's beginning to get a little bit overweight and obesity isn't going to help him.
I've been a bit worried about this over the past week but I guess I can slim him back down when I get back from the UK. Assuming the extra feed is while I am gone and not now?
Got to try and get a little sleep I'm only averaging 5 hours as it is.
Test through the night more because I am so worried at the low numbers and I am already guessing I wont be able to give him the AM shot
Don’t worry about the extra feed if it is hard to sort out. Don’t buy an extra feeder. Just put a little extra into the other 2 feeds.
I’m sure he will come up for the am shot. He’s doing brilliantly
Post and let us know what it is. Sleep well
 
Hi Claire

I have made the changes to the SS to reflect the switch from the AT2 to the human meter. Which meter are you using?
You want to change your Signature also - it still says Alphatrak. Thanks :-)
 
Don’t worry about the extra feed if it is hard to sort out. Don’t buy an extra feeder. Just put a little extra into the other 2 feeds.
I’m sure he will come up for the am shot. He’s doing brilliantly
Post and let us know what it is. Sleep well

It's now 2am and his numbers are not coming up they are staying around the same. Not sure if you wanted me to continue feeding him or not (lot food for him) going to give him spoon full. Be back at 4am.
 
PLEASE start a new thread. Asking people to read through 120 posts is a lot! We try to cap a thread at 50 posts on the Health forum.

You will get a great deal of help with Lantus on that forum. The posting conventions are different, though. You post one thread, per cat, per day. That way, the daily information is always in a new thread and you link the previous day's thread to the current thread.

The information that Darcy posted about options for what happens if you have a lower than expected pre-shot numbers are more applicable to SLGS than if you're following TR. This post on handling low pre-shot numbers is specific to TR.
 
PLEASE start a new thread. Asking people to read through 120 posts is a lot! We try to cap a thread at 50 posts on the Health forum.

You will get a great deal of help with Lantus on that forum. The posting conventions are different, though. You post one thread, per cat, per day. That way, the daily information is always in a new thread and you link the previous day's thread to the current thread.

The information that Darcy posted about options for what happens if you have a lower than expected pre-shot numbers are more applicable to SLGS than if you're following TR. This post on handling low pre-shot numbers is specific to TR.

Already did the link is above and pasted below

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-15-22-kaz-amps-277-numbers-continue-drop.263306/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top