The only thingSorry probably another stupid question but on the SS and I was going to ask this as soon as I switched to the human meter are those numbers at the top designed for a human vs a cat?
I thought these were cat readings and was going to ask for the equivalent of a human but if these are indeed human readings then Kaz's numbers have actually been a lot worse than I realized.
View attachment 64251
Take away the @ sign and just leave Claire and KazThere is no # before my name just the @ sign wondering if that's not supposed to be there as I see no @ sign in front of any other names let me try removing that?
The only thing
@Bandit's Mom will have to change for you on your spreadsheet when using a human meter for the color coding is the last 2
Instead of 68-99 dark green it would be 50-99
Instead of BG<68 lime green it would be BG<50
Everything else stays the same
Take away the @ sign and just leave Claire and Kaz
Maybe one of the administrators can take away the @ for you@Hendrick Cuddleclaw
I can't change it twice did not realize I now have to wait 89 days to change it again per the system sorry.
Hi Claire, the tag worked. Are you switching to a human meter temporarily and will you be switching back to the AT2 on your return? Or will you stay with the human meter? Will make changes to the SS accordingly.@Bandit's Mom (testing this works)
Hi Bron - yes I switched to the human meter this morning per your recommendation. I inserted a line on the SS showing this and then also recorded the Alpha number in the comment section.
Hi Claire, the tag worked. Are you switching to a human meter temporarily and will you be switching back to the AT2 on your return? Or will you stay with the human meter? Will make changes to the SS accordingly.
Hi Claire. I believe that Bron is suggesting that you adopt a “no shoot” number of 200 initially (where if Kaz’s pre-shot tests - morning or evening- are below 200 then you would not shoot) and that later you can gradually lower that “no shoot” number to 150.As Kaz has not had any preshot numbers under 225, I would start off with 200 then lower it down to 150 over a period of time
Sorry I don't understand this please. I know I am keeping the insulin at 2.75 per your answer above but not sure what this means. Written down in my book about the 68 vs 50 numbers for taking action.
Thanks Claire

Hi Claire. I believe that Bron is suggesting that you adopt a “no shoot” number of 200 initially (where if Kaz’s pre-shot tests - morning or evening- are below 200 then you would not shoot) and that later you can gradually lower that “no shoot” number to 150.
It will be good to have a relatively high no shoot number at this point- with your trip coming up and all. @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I'll tag @Suzanne & Darcy about thisOk thanks
So if I am now understanding this correctly the new no shoot number (NO INSULIN SHOT) is at 200 on a human meter which based on numbers so far will happen now?
Then I wait till the next shot (12 HOUR WAIT) and if then above 200 give the usual 2.75.
And this is safe for Kaz to go from insulin to no insulin as my gut says with human meter he's going to be closer to the 200 mark most of the time. Its now three hours before his next shot and the number is 202 on human meter.
Going to feed him some high carb food to get his numbers back up as I don't really understand this. I can see missing insulin every now and then but not on a regular basis if he needs it.
Can you please explain.

Here are some guidelines on how to handle lower than expected pre-shot numbers:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
Sorry, that's beyond my pay grade. I'll see if I can get in touch with the site admin. It's not such a bad thing to not have someone tag you all the time.Maybe one of the administrators can take away the @ for you
Yes that is how to post on the Lantus Board so if you need help with dosingNEW POST SHOULD BE ON OTHER BOARD TO GET QUICK RESPONSE (TODAYS DATE/KAZ/AMPS#/HELP)
And here’s what you really should read to help prepare you for the lower than expected pre-shot numbers. I could paraphrase it, but there’s no point. This just explains things so well.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
Yes that is how to post on the Lantus Board so if you need help with dosing
Date /Kaz/ AMPS # you can then put Help Stalling Do I Shoot
If you do decide to start posting on the Lantus Board Tomorrow morning you can say you have been posting on the Main Forum before
Don’t panic. Kaz is okay and he’s in safe numbers now.Tried reading this twice and find it a bit confusing. I'll try reading it again in a bit to see if a break and coming back helps but honestly now feeling a bit panicky again.
It is confusing because these are just guidelines and are helpful but each individual cat has to be taken into consideration. Also, you are following TR now and not SLGS. My advice to people with a lower than normal pre-shot number is almost always to stall for 30 minutes, do not feed any food and then retest after 30 minutes. You will then see if the number is rising on its own at the end of the cycle (with no influence from food) and will then be able to make a dosing decision on that number. So, at that point options are usually: skip, shoot a reduced dose, shoot full dose.1) Ok think I got this if below 150 NO INSULIN - post to board (NEW POST) asking for help (NEW POST SHOULD BE ON OTHER BOARD TO GET QUICK RESPONSE (TODAYS DATE/KAZ/AMPS#/HELP) I usually do the ear prick and feed 30 mins prior to shot so i have enough time to react to an issue.
2) Between 150-200 then reduce shot by up to 25% (so at 2.75 now basically give him 2.00 units).
The feed and wait a couple hours and then make decision ..........this is bit confusing as I was told that if I missed giving a dose not to give one 2 hours later but to wait till the next dose 12 hours later. This would break that rule?
It is confusing because these are just guidelines and are helpful but each individual cat has to be taken into consideration. Also, you are following TR now and not SLGS. My advice to people with a lower than normal pre-shot number is almost always to stall for 30 minutes, do not feed any food and then retest after 30 minutes. You will then see if the number is rising on its own at the end of the cycle (with no influence from food) and will then be able to make a dosing decision on that number. So, at that point options are usually: skip, shoot a reduced dose, shoot full dose.
The thing about waiting up to two hours is that your whole schedule is thrown off. It will take 4 days to get back to your usual shot times (since shot times should only be adjusted by 30 minutes each day).
I probably just didn’t understand Bron correctly perhaps?This would not work with my work schedule so this is extremely scary.
I could never do this as it would put Kaz in danger.
Half hour and I will know if I have an issue
Still don't agree/understand about the 200 number on the human meter to stop a shot as this is 300 on the AT and that's an acceptable shoot number.
Maybe she was talking about a 200 on the AT? It seems likely since all you have tested with in the past was AT. I hope I haven’t just come along and confused everything even worse. I didn’t even know until this morning that you had switched to doing a human meter.This would not work with my work schedule so this is extremely scary.
I could never do this as it would put Kaz in danger.
Half hour and I will know if I have an issue
Still don't agree/understand about the 200 number on the human meter to stop a shot as this is 300 on the AT and that's an acceptable shoot number.
Your pmps is 177 on human meter and 270 on the AT? If that’s the case, if it were my cat and I was able to monitor the cycle and feed and test and I had plenty of supplies for hypos —- I would shoot.
You shot a 225 once but that was at a lesser dose. Do you want to shoot the whole dose. If you had never gotten the human meter and got the 270, you would have shot the full dose, right? I would think of it like that.
Yes. Exactly right. Hold for approximately 8-10 cycles with blue nadirs is the general rule - depending on if they are lower blues or higher blues.It was at exactly the same dose it was yesterday. I have been on the 2.75 units for a number cycles as I was told to hold there due to the blue numbers.
No. I do not think you have put Kaz in any danger. You can see this by your spreadsheet. He has been in safe numbers.i 100% agree and I was going to shoot him as for the past 3 days it was acceptable to shoot at this number. I don't understand why its not acceptable anymore. Have I put Kaz in danger over the past three days for giving him a shot when he should not have had one. I simply don't understand and I don't want to kill my cat.
If you are uncomfortable and want to wait for further clarification, do you want to reduce his dose for tonight?
I understand. I am sorry you are so stressed like in the beginning. It’s important for you to understand.No I feel comfortable giving him his normal dose which he’s getting now.
I still need to understand what I am doing. I don’t want to be someone that does a task but doesn’t actually understand what they are doing. This is why I ask so many annoying questions. I want to understand exactly what it is I am doing and until the switch to the human meter I was getting a handle on everything but now I feel like I did when I first came to this site. Clueless and huge fear for Kazs safety which means more to me than anything.
I’m scared I’m doing something wrong which will ultimately hurt my precious cargo.
I understand. I am sorry you are so stressed like in the beginning. It’s important for you to understand.
I do not believe you will put Kaz in danger if you shoot the full dose. I am not saying that based on an opinion but I am basing this on his spreadsheet. I do, however, have a question about your reduction point. Had you and Bron established a reduction point? He had that 98 on the Alpha Trak yesterday and I am wondering if that was below his reduction point and if his dose should have been reduced by .25.
ETA:Bron said to hold the 2.75 with the green nadir.
Also, can you please put what you shot in your spreadsheet and the time that you shot?
The no shoot number is where you stall, don’t feed and test 20 minutes later to see if the BG is rising. And you post and ask for help on the forum. I know that might be hard when you have to go straight out to work so on those occasions a reduced dose may be best. We want to avoid skipping insulin altogether as he needs some insulin, especially after DKA.So if I am now understanding this correctly the new no shoot number (NO INSULIN SHOT) is at 200 on a human meter which based on numbers so far will happen now?
this is why I wanted you to swap to the human meter now and not get a fright when you put on the libre the day before you left for your trip.Still don't agree/understand about the 200 number on the human meter to stop a shot as this is 300 on the AT and that's an acceptable shoot number.
I completely understand your concerns. This is why I wanted you to swap to the human meter before you put on the libre to travel. ….getting used to the lower numbers of the human meter will just take a few days. The human meter BGs are showing as lower but Kaz still has the same numbers on the pet meter…..it’s just the human meter runs lower.100% agree and I was going to shoot him as for the past 3 days it was acceptable to shoot at this number. I don't understand why its not acceptable anymore. Have I put Kaz in danger over the past three days for giving him a shot when he should not have had one. I simply don't understand and I don't want to kill my cat
Absolutely you need to understand what you are doing….that is our aim here….to help you learn how to manage your Kaz and to understand why you are doing what you are doing. Keep asking questions!No I feel comfortable giving him his normal dose which he’s getting now.
I still need to understand what I am doing. I don’t want to be someone that does a task but doesn’t actually understand what they are doing. This is why I ask so many annoying questions. I want to understand exactly what it is I am doing and until the switch to the human meter I was getting a handle on everything but now I feel like I did when I first came to this site. Clueless and huge fear for Kazs safety which means more to me than anything.
I’m scared I’m doing something wrong which will ultimately hurt my precious cargo.
She is following TR so the reduction point is 68 on the alphatrak meter and 50 on the human meter.Had you and Bron established a reduction point? He
His numbers have not become unstable, you have just swapped to the human meter where they are lower…..this is normal.his insulin is adjusted down by .25 will this stabilize his numbers again?
