KAZ - AMPS 532 / Ketones 0.8 - HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
Starting new post.

Kaz's Ketones were 0.3 two days ago but now 0.8 if I had not done a test I would not known they were increased. Just had DKA don't want to go down that road again.

Been on 1 1/4 units for last 6 days due to the highs and lows few days ago. Giving insulin in 25 minutes.

Is Kaz in danger right now or do I stay the cause. Don't know what 0.8 means????

I think 0.3-0.7 is inn the acceptable range. Will also send vet email.

Feeding Kaz now and then hopefully someone has responded.
 
Is he eating and drinking okay? How is he looking?

You cannot monitor today, right? I think I would increase his dose to 1.5U.

If I had not taken the BG or Ketones I would not have known anything was wrong. For last two days he has started to sleep on the bed with me and he's been paying a little bit with his brother so this was a bit of a shock.

Sadly there is no chart that comes with the blood glucose meter for ketones so I don't know what the readings mean. I was able (or think I was able) to identify that 0.3-0.7 was in the acceptable range but now its slightly above this at 0.8, I don't know what the number is for me to be getting him to hospital.

Thanks will increase insulin to 1 1/2.

Can I get rid of the ketones by increasing the insulin?
 
Sadly there is no chart that comes with the blood glucose meter for ketones so I don't know what the readings mean. I was able (or think I was able) to identify that 0.3-0.7 was in the acceptable range but now its slightly above this at 0.8, I don't know what the number is for me to be getting him to hospital.
I don't know what the range for ketones with a blood ketone meter is either. Going to tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) for help.

I presume he is looking okay and eating and drinking well? How long after the shot do you have to leave?
Will he have someone to monitor him (for any symptoms) and feed him when you are at work?
 
I have to leave for work now and no he not monitored by anyone but me.

Just so you know my entire family lives in the UK I am in the USA I came for work. Just renewed a new contract over here for 2-3 years. This makes things hard as I have no family to help me and the friends I do have all work plus they do not live that close to me.

Have to go to work late leaving and I have a meeting.
 
We use a blood ketone meter on Hendrick so I am familiar.

Using a blood ketone meter the ranges are:

0 - .6 = trace amount, no concern
.6 - 1.5 = monitor closely for upward trend, could be warning sign of incoming DKA

above 1.5 is risk for DKA, and if kitty also has symptoms then call your vet

Hi Hendrick thanks for this as there is really nothing on line would be nice if the manufacturers would include a chart.
So Kaz is now in the monitor closely section. Is there anything I can do to bring this back down?
 
plenty of food, plenty of water and his insulin dose should do it.

.8 isn't really that much concern as long as it doesnt go up and there are no symptoms like lethargy, refusing to eat, etc

Hendrick would go from .3 to 1.2 to .5 to .8 from day to day
 
plenty of food, plenty of water and his insulin dose should do it.

.8 isn't really that much concern as long as it doesnt go up and there are no symptoms like lethargy, refusing to eat, etc

Hendrick would go from .3 to 1.2 to .5 to .8 from day to day
Thank you so much I have been freakin out.
He has plenty water which he is drinking and he had plenty food before I left.
Currently looking into one of those cat space boxes. Called yesterday and no one answered am going to try again today.
 
plenty of food, plenty of water and his insulin dose should do it.

.8 isn't really that much concern as long as it doesnt go up and there are no symptoms like lethargy, refusing to eat, etc

Hendrick would go from .3 to 1.2 to .5 to .8 from day to day

I am so thankful that you knew this as my vet just responded stating he was not familiar with the blood monitor.
 
Yes, like Kyle mentioned it is more the trend. Over time you'll find his baseline - for my cat it was always LO to 0.4. If he started to get 0.8-1.0 I started to keep a lookout, mostly because for him it meant something like an illness was brewing. He is not a ketone prone cat.

But for Kaz I'm not entirely surprised, given the recent DKA + his numbers + the fact that he is probably a bit prone to ketones like Hendrick is.

Is he eating on his own now? How's his appetite? Is he back on low carb food?
 
I have been slowly cutting down on the appetite stimulant I did not want to go cold turkey on him.
By the end of this week he should be totally off.

So I am now feeding him a small can Tiki in the morning prior to the insulin (0% Carb) then after his insulin shot I give him half can of the DM (10% Carb). The vet told me to feed him 130-150 calories per sitting.
Then when I get home I usually give him another small can of Tiki as he is so hungry then the rest of the DM prior to the next insulin shot.
He's probably getting about 200 calories right now but I can't not feed him.

He's also back up to 1 1/2 units of insulin.
 
I have been slowly cutting down on the appetite stimulant I did not want to go cold turkey on him.
By the end of this week he should be totally off.

So I am now feeding him a small can Tiki in the morning prior to the insulin (0% Carb) then after his insulin shot I give him half can of the DM (10% Carb). The vet told me to feed him 130-150 calories per sitting.
Then when I get home I usually give him another small can of Tiki as he is so hungry then the rest of the DM prior to the next insulin shot.
He's probably getting about 200 calories right now but I can't not feed him.

He's also back up to 1 1/2 units of insulin.
Gotcha

As for ketones - it's possible. He may not eat or drink as much at night, then during the day when he doesn't flushes them a bit
 
I would suggest moving over the the Lantus forum tomorrow and starting a daily thread over there. Lot more experienced eyes over there to help you out
 
I would suggest moving over the the Lantus forum tomorrow and starting a daily thread over there. Lot more experienced eyes over there to help you out
I appreciate that but this forum is enough for me. I get enough advice here and I prefer to get advice from a pet forum versus a people forum.
My sister in law is diabetic and she has no clue on how to help me she said it would all be a guess and that this was the best bet. Sorry if I have been a pain to you asking too many questions I will try and figure out more of it on my own.
Just thought you all had more experience than me. Appreciate the help you have given me.
 
Oh! No, the Lantus board is a subsection of this website - we have subsections for most of the main insulins used in cats. The Main Forum (where you're at now) is where we try to get people up and running with testing, spreadsheets, safe doses, and general health issues.

The Lantus forum is specific to cats on Lantus. There's a lot more people over in that forum that can help you, and a few more experts that don't always get a chance to make it out to the Main Forum.

Here's a link to it:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

It's never a problem to help, ask away. Just like I said usually a lot more people over on the Lantus part of the forum.
 
I am really pressed for time today so I will just say not to worry about a reading of .8. Just keep monitoring them. My boy lived with high ketones for a long time (much higher than .8) and he was fine. Yes, he had previously been in DKA so I watched those ketones like a hawk on the Nova Max Plus ketone meter. After the DKA and a week in the ER, it took a long time for his ketones to gradually go down. As he started getting the amount of insulin he needed, the ketones came down. The reason he went into DKA was because of an infection. When I took him to the ER, his temperature was over 105. He was actually eating (at home) but vomiting up everything he ate. So, make sure kitty keeps eating. Put as much water into his food as you can get away with. Let him eat as much as he wants. Keep on monitoring the ketones and watch for any signs of sickness or extreme lethargy. By the way, ketones fluctuate throughout the day. I frequently got a different reading on my boy Darcy from morning to afternoon to evening. I was just obsessive and curious to see how the ketones changed over the course of the day — I am not suggesting that you test him multiple times per day. Remember, having ketones in the blood is different than being in ketoacidosis. Just follow the dosing recommendations that you receive here, which will keep your sweetheart safe.
 
I am really pressed for time today so I will just say not to worry about a reading of .8. Just keep monitoring them. My boy lived with high ketones for a long time (much higher than .8) and he was fine. Yes, he had previously been in DKA so I watched those ketones like a hawk on the Nova Max Plus ketone meter. After the DKA and a week in the ER, it took a long time for his ketones to gradually go down. As he started getting the amount of insulin he needed, the ketones came down. The reason he went into DKA was because of an infection. When I took him to the ER, his temperature was over 105. He was actually eating (at home) but vomiting up everything he ate. So, make sure kitty keeps eating. Put as much water into his food as you can get away with. Let him eat as much as he wants. Keep on monitoring the ketones and watch for any signs of sickness or extreme lethargy. By the way, ketones fluctuate throughout the day. I frequently got a different reading on my boy Darcy from morning to afternoon to evening. I was just obsessive and curious to see how the ketones changed over the course of the day — I am not suggesting that you test him multiple times per day. Remember, having ketones in the blood is different than being in ketoacidosis. Just follow the dosing recommendations that you receive here, which will keep your sweetheart safe.
Thanks Darcy appreciate the response.
Feel like a bother.
My cats been in black every day for 5 days now but I will figure it out.
Thanks for the note on the ketones. I had guessed they were higher in the morning as cat sleeps more at night and pees less.
 
Oh! No, the Lantus board is a subsection of this website - we have subsections for most of the main insulins used in cats. The Main Forum (where you're at now) is where we try to get people up and running with testing, spreadsheets, safe doses, and general health issues.

The Lantus forum is specific to cats on Lantus. There's a lot more people over in that forum that can help you, and a few more experts that don't always get a chance to make it out to the Main Forum.

Here's a link to it:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

It's never a problem to help, ask away. Just like I said usually a lot more people over on the Lantus part of the forum.
Just so you know I did try to go to the board you wanted me to go to but it does not allow me to post. This is the only place that I can post from so I am hoping its ok to continue here which I will only do if really necessary as I understand I am taking away from those newer than me to the disease.
 
Thanks Darcy appreciate the response.
Feel like a bother.
My cats been in black every day for 5 days now but I will figure it out.
Thanks for the note on the ketones. I had guessed they were higher in the morning as cat sleeps more at night and pees less.
Absolutely NO BOTHER! We like to help kitties and their people! Blacks are scary! I agree. You will be able to get that down. You are in the best place to get help, I assure you.
 
And I can’t understand why you were not able to post on the other forum. It’s the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars forum. We need to get that fixed for you if it continues.
 
I know you're balancing him being able to eat, but if you can get that high carb food out you'll be able to increase a little faster if needed
 
And I can’t understand why you were not able to post on the other forum. It’s the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars forum. We need to get that fixed for you if it continues.
I think because she clicked a link it probably opened a new tab, when I do that I'm not logged in on the new tab so I don't have permissions for anything

Claire - if you click that link again I think you just have to log in again
 
I know you're balancing him being able to eat, but if you can get that high carb food out you'll be able to increase a little faster if needed

Sorry confused. My cat would eat Tiki all day long if I allowed him to but someone had posted that the cat needed a certain amount of carbs each day and Tiki is zero carb.
I was sticking with the Purina DM Select as this is specifically for diabetic cats and was 10% carb.

I have also noticed that he is eating twice as much but still is either holding his weight or still slightly losing and he's already down a 1 1/2lbs from the hospital stay?

Can't imagine its healthy to be giving him more than 4 cans a day.
 
Sorry confused. My cat would eat Tiki all day long if I allowed him to but someone had posted that the cat needed a certain amount of carbs each day and Tiki is zero carb.
I was sticking with the Purina DM Select as this is specifically for diabetic cats and was 10% carb.

I have also noticed that he is eating twice as much but still is either holding his weight or still slightly losing and he's already down a 1 1/2lbs from the hospital stay?

Can't imagine its healthy to be giving him more than 4 cans a day.
The regular DM pate is 10%, the savory selects are much higher (around 16% if I recall?). But I think you said he won't touch pate.

Will he eat the two mixed together? If you mixed like 3 parts tiki to 1 part savory selects that could work as a low carb.

Unregulated diabetics do not process food fully, so yes they often need much more food than a regulated cat or even a non diabetic. When my cat was unregulated, he ate about twice as much as he does now - he was eating about four 5.5oz cans a day and he maintained his weight. If he needs to gain some weight please do feed him more.
 
He won’t eat the two mixed together and definitely no pate he hates it. What I have been doing is giving him a small can of Tiki before his shot then after his shot I give him half a large can of the DM. Then when I get home I give him another small can Tiki then 3 hours later another small can followed by insulin followed by rest of the DM. Then three hours after this he gets another small can then if he is really hungry another small can right before bed.

4-5 small cans all Tiki 0 carbs
1 large can 2 sittings of DM selects thought was 10% but actually 16%

My vet wants him to have at least one can of this a day if I could afford it. I don’t like him having carbs but I have come to realize that zero carbs for a diabetic is not necessarily good for him.

My other cat get only Tiki and he does great.
 
Hi Claire, sorry I haven’t been around for a couple of days.
I would keep feeding the tiki and some of the higher carb food, especially when you are not there, so that Kaz keeps safe.
I can see you are not able to test during the day at the moment, but he is likely dropping down into the pinks and yellows during the day, like he is at night so may not be just staying up in the black numbers.
With the blood ketones meter…..I would not worry unless the numbers are trending up over 2 and above, and he is not eating well or drinking and seems lethargic.
From the Information on Ketones and DKA on this site.
When do ketones show up on a blood ketone meter such as the Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters?
The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:

The best way you can combat ketones is to feed lots of food, keep giving the insulin, add water to the food if he will allow it and test daily for ketones. The reason I suggested the higher carb food was so that we could give a higher dose of the insulin safely. Treating cats post DKA is a little bit different to treating cats who just have diabetes but no ketones.
If he becomes lethargic at all, or goes off his food then they are red flags which we need to know about. You are doing a really good job with him. I know you are busy with work as well and I’m sure that is stressful having to leave him each day.
 
Hi Claire, sorry I haven’t been around for a couple of days.
I would keep feeding the tiki and some of the higher carb food, especially when you are not there, so that Kaz keeps safe.
I can see you are not able to test during the day at the moment, but he is likely dropping down into the pinks and yellows during the day, like he is at night so may not be just staying up in the black numbers.
With the blood ketones meter…..I would not worry unless the numbers are trending up over 2 and above, and he is not eating well or drinking and seems lethargic.
From the Information on Ketones and DKA on this site.
When do ketones show up on a blood ketone meter such as the Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters?
The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter
:

The best way you can combat ketones is to feed lots of food, keep giving the insulin, add water to the food if he will allow it and test daily for ketones. The reason I suggested the higher carb food was so that we could give a higher dose of the insulin safely. Treating cats post DKA is a little bit different to treating cats who just have diabetes but no ketones.
If he becomes lethargic at all, or goes off his food then they are red flags which we need to know about. You are doing a really good job with him. I know you are busy with work as well and I’m sure that is stressful having to leave him each day.

Hope everything is ok with you. I appreciate any help I can get.

I purchased one of the Meowspaces today it should be here by next Thursday. Once I get this I will be able to put a cat feeder into the device and leave two smaller meals for him to have while I am at work. (once he understands how to use it)
I am happy to give him higher carb food if you let me know what kind (no pate) he prefers things in gravies. I went to Tiki about 8 years ago as I am really conscious about what I feed them. I grew up with German Shepherds not cats so my first cat lived 12 years but I did not understand about food and ash and bone meal. I found this out closer to the end of Zaks life and I swore that any other animal I had would get the right care from day one. Tiki seemed like the best option but if diabetic cats need carbs then I will need to switch up some of his meals.

I did my best with the list of foods I have I tried to identify the carbs the best I could if you want me to try some of that food I can. The Weruva food doesn't look that unhealthy and I think if I wasn't feeding them Tiki I probably would have tried that brand. Definitely higher carb though.

I know that diabetic cats life expectancy is only 6 months to three years which has been upsetting but I would like to at least shoot for the 3 years if there is a chance.

Claire
 
know that diabetic cats life expectancy is only 6 months to three years which has been upsetting but I would like to at least shoot for the 3 years if there is a chance.
I don’t know where you heard this, but it is not true. Plenty of diabetic cats live normal lives. I recently heard of a cat that had been in remission for 10 years. My cat Sheba became a diabetic and went into remission after 3 months but fell out of remission after 2 1/2 years. She went back onto insulin and when she died 4 years later it was not from diabetes bit cancer. So don’t think diabetic cats have a death sentence ….they don’t.

Diabetic cats don’t necessary need no carbs in their diet. They often do better with around 5 to 7% carbs. As long as it is under 10% for normal diabetic cats. With Kaz at the moment, the most important thing is the ketones become a distant memory and are well in the rear vision mirror….and to do that we have to make sure he gets enough food, enough insulin and enough fluids and you keep testing for ketones. I don’t mean to bang on about this all the time but it is the road to full recovery.

purchased one of the Meowspaces today it should be here by next Thursday. Once I get this I will be able to put a cat feeder into the device and leave two smaller meals for him to have while I am at work. (once he understands how to use it)
Fantastic! When I first bought a timed feeder for Sheba, I fed her all the meals in there so she got the idea that the feeder meant food. In the end she would come racing from wherever she was in the house when she heard the feeder rotate to the next compartment. Slightly different to what you have but they are quick learners when it comes to food…especially if they are food motivated.

did my best with the list of foods I have I tried to identify the carbs the best I could if you want me to try some of that food I can. The Weruva food doesn't look that unhealthy and I think if I wasn't feeding them Tiki I probably would have tried that brand. Definitely higher carb though.
Make sure you write on the top of all the cans how many carbs are in the food.
I used to feed the Weruva brand. I thought their food was good. Their website lists all the foods and the number of carbs so you won’t have any trouble finding out the carb amounts of that brand. I found plenty of their cans that were in the 4 to 8 carbs range.
 
Last edited:
Weruva has some recent bad reviews and issues, I think it might be to a COVID issue. I was looking at their for low carb low phos for Mr Kitty and stumbled across it

I suspect the life expectancy thing you heard was cats that are managed only be veterinarians, no home testing, etc - because like you've seen, those cats often end up DKA, or a fatal hypo, or even just the wear and tear on their body from being largely unregulated. Also, it is older cats that tend to be diagnosed with it anyway. You are absolutely in the right place and doing the right thing. My cat was unregulated for about a year, has been diabetic for 2 years now including some fairly serious underlying issues and he's still kicking. Realistically, I think his thyroid and kidneys are going to be the issue. I've seen many cats here make it a long time! Like Bron said it is usually other issues.
 
Melissa. I feed Weruva BFF PLAY foods. What have you found that is wrong with them?
Let me look I think I recall some lady going off about carrageenan and some other stuff, hold on...

(I'll be brutally honest I am not a food snob, I just read a few bad reviews and tabled looking for low carb low phos foods for a bit)
 
Oh now I remember. I was looking at Cats in the Kitchen line because I need low carb, low phos, novel protein. But their Lamburgini first ingredient is actually fish, and they use lamb lung which I guess isn't great, but also the extra iodide matters with the hyperT. I guess the thickeners they use for that line aren't the greatest either.

And a fair amount of recent reviews saying cats just aren't interested in it.

It looks like Google compiles all the reviews from major sites like Chewy, Petco, etc so if you look at the Google results it's all in one place.

It probably doesn't make a difference for .."normal"...cats, but I got frustrated with all the restrictions I'm trying to work with now. Don't call it lamb if it's mostly tuna!

(Side note, not to detail thread, I suspect the thyroid was causing the stool issues...day 3 of methimazole and he's good now, but we'll see)
 
Actually lamb lung is perfectly ok to feed cats and they love it. It is high protein. There is actually dried lamb lung sold as treats.
Good to know! That sounds maybe like an Australian thing, with your kangaroo too lol

Doing some more digging I guess it's like everything else - in moderation. High in iron so can be constipating or a bit toxic.

At this rate I'm just going to let him outside and forage on his own, it would be much easier! But I digress
 
I don’t know where you heard this, but it is not true. Plenty of diabetic cats live normal lives. I recently heard of a cat that had been in remission for 10 years. My cat Sheba became a diabetic and went into remission after 3 months but fell out of remission after 2 1/2 years. She went back onto insulin and when she died 4 years later it was not from diabetes bit cancer. So don’t think diabetic cats have a death sentence ….they don’t.

Diabetic cats don’t necessary need no carbs in their diet. They often do better with around 5 to 7% carbs. As long as it is under 10% for normal diabetic cats. With Kaz at the moment, the most important thing is the ketones become a distant memory and are well in the rear vision mirror….and to do that we have to make sure he gets enough food, enough insulin and enough fluids and you keep testing for ketones. I don’t mean to bang on about this all the time but it is the road to full recovery.


Fantastic! When I first bought a timed feeder for Sheba, I fed her all the meals in there so she got the idea that the feeder meant food. In the end she would come racing from wherever she was in the house when she heard the feeder rotate to the next compartment. Slightly different to what you have but they are quick learners when it comes to food…especially if they are food motivated.


Make sure you write on the top of all the cans how many carbs are in the food.
I used to feed the Weruva brand. I thought their food was good. Their website lists all the foods and the number of carbs so you won’t have any trouble finding out the carb amounts of that brand. I found plenty of their cans that were in the 4 to 8 carbs range.


I will test the ketones again today I have been doing it every couple days.
So I will go through the food I have and keep the ones in the 4-8 range and return the rest? I wasn't able to get all the carbs for all the food so the ones I did not get I will also return.
 
As far as the life expectancy I read it but I have also been looking at members spreadsheets and most don't seem to last that long so I guessed this was because the cats had passed but maybe once people get a handle they stop using the spreadsheets.

Still in the black and he has upset tummy this morning although I think this is partly from all the additional food/treats and DM vs Tiki.

Most of the Tiki Kaz eats right now is fish he used to eat mainly chicken but seems to have gone off this a bit since he was diagnosed. I did some research early on (before I joined this site) and it was actually the Tiki fish line that came number one on many reviews related to diabetes so I bough most to try and hes strictly fish (doesn't like shrimp/crab/etc mixed in).
I always stayed away from fish prior to this but now not so much.
 
I will test the ketones again today I have been doing it every couple days.
So I will go through the food I have and keep the ones in the 4-8 range and return the rest? I wasn't able to get all the carbs for all the food so the ones I did not get I will also return.
I would keep some of the higher carbs ones as well as you might need them if the BG drops very low.
Also you might need them if we need to raise the insulin dose and the BG isn’t quite high enough.(this is because of the DKA in case someone reading this is wondering why).
So I’d keep some in the 10-14 carb range and some in the 15-20 carb range. Not a lot but a few.

I would not feed fish all the time. Try and vary it if you can.

Not everyone who comes here stays and posts every day once they are comfortable and can manage the dosing themselves.
We rarely find cats die from diabetes, it is almost always from something else such as kidney failure or cancer.

I hope his tummy settles…is it diarrhoea?
 
Last edited:
I am looking at a can of Weruva BFF PLAY: "Chicken and Lamb Laugh Out Loud" It is one of the lower phosphorus food they make. My cats like it. It's very soupy, which I figure is okay because it has a lot of moisture in it. There's no carageenan in there (another reason I switched to it.) There are three other types of "gums" in there though. I like the fairly simple list of ingredients. It's expensive for me though. I give it to my older cats. The younger ones get a different moderate phosphorus food that comes in the 12.5 oz. size cans (also not cheap, but larger cans are more economical.)

Ingredients are:

Chicken, Chicken Broth, Lamb, Dried Egg, natural flavor, guar gum, locust bean gum, xantham gum, potassium chloride, taurine, calcium sulfate, vitamin E, choline chloride, zinc oxide, thiamine mononitrate B1, reduced iron, niacin B3, Vitamin A supplement, sodium selenite, manganese sulfate, copper amino acid complex, pyroxidine hydrochloride, calcium, calcium penthonate, riboflavin, folic acid, B12, D3, potassium Iodide, biotin.
 
Yes diarrhea hes had it on and off since last September but I believe it the food.
I don’t know where you heard this, but it is not true. Plenty of diabetic cats live normal lives. I recently heard of a cat that had been in remission for 10 years. My cat Sheba became a diabetic and went into remission after 3 months but fell out of remission after 2 1/2 years. She went back onto insulin and when she died 4 years later it was not from diabetes bit cancer. So don’t think diabetic cats have a death sentence ….they don’t.

Diabetic cats don’t necessary need no carbs in their diet. They often do better with around 5 to 7% carbs. As long as it is under 10% for normal diabetic cats. With Kaz at the moment, the most important thing is the ketones become a distant memory and are well in the rear vision mirror….and to do that we have to make sure he gets enough food, enough insulin and enough fluids and you keep testing for ketones. I don’t mean to bang on about this all the time but it is the road to full recovery.


Fantastic! When I first bought a timed feeder for Sheba, I fed her all the meals in there so she got the idea that the feeder meant food. In the end she would come racing from wherever she was in the house when she heard the feeder rotate to the next compartment. Slightly different to what you have but they are quick learners when it comes to food…especially if they are food motivated.


Make sure you write on the top of all the cans how many carbs are in the food.
I used to feed the Weruva brand. I thought their food was good. Their website lists all the foods and the number of carbs so you won’t have any trouble finding out the carb amounts of that brand. I found plenty of their cans that were in the 4 to 8 carbs range.


So you had said to stay in the 5-7% range but none of the Weruva food seems to fall here its wither around 2-3% or over 14%.
Some I could not identify the carbs. I don't actually know if he will even eat this (probably upset his tummy too) but I will try one of the lower ones now to see.



Weruva BBF - Duck and Salmon in Gravy (54 calories)
Weruva BBF - Chicken & Salmon in gravy (104 calories) lot of ash in this one
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - The Breakfast Cat Chicken & Pumpkin puree (58 calories)
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - Cat of the Future - Chicken & Salmon puree(64 calories)
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - Pumpkin Jack Splash - Tuna & Pumpkin soup (60 calories) 14% Carbs
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - Pumpkin Likin Chicken - Chicken & Pumpkin soup (59 calories) 12% Carbs
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - Meowiss Bueller - Chicken & Lamb puree (69 calories)
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - Chick Magnet - Chicken & Mackerel in gravy (68 calories) 16% Carbs
Weruva - Cats in the Kitchen - Love Me Tender - Chicken & Duck in gravy (65 calories) 17% Carbs
Weruva - Stew -Stick a Stork in It - Duck and Salmon in gravy (93 calories)lot of ash in this one
Weruva - Stew -Stick a Stork in It - Lamb and chicken in gravy (86 calories)lot of ash in this one
Weruva - Paw Lickin Chicken - Chicken in Gravy (57 calories) - 3% Carbs
Weruva - Meow Luau - Mackerel and Pumpkin in Gravy (62 calories) 3% Carbs
Weruva - Nine Liver - Chicken & Chicken Liver in Gravy (59 calories) 9% Carbs
Weruva - Chicken Frick A Zee - Chicken Au Jus (75 calories) 2% Carbs
 
Just happened to see this.
Weruva Truluxe has a chicken and beef (shredded meat) with pumpkin that is 4.9% carbs on a dry matter basis - On The Cat Wok. Tina loved it. Steak Frites is 7.5 (DMB) and has the lowest phosphorus, if that matters to you! You can pick the potatoes out of the Steak Frites.
Paw Lickin' Chicken was a big hit. Smells like people eatin' chicken and I tested it.

Of course it is important for Kaz to approve the food you choose!
 
Last edited:
I had a really hard time with the blood ketone monitor. Didn't like the swings and sometimes it would read very high like 3.8 and I would retest and it would be 0.8. I just decided to use the ketone urine strips after that.
She was a ketone kitty when diagnosed and then went into DKA, so I needed my sanity to not be tried by that machine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top