Kathy's Cleo - 2nd Ever Lantus Cycle - Need Eyes Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning Kathy!

Considering Cleo's dramatic start on Lantus, this really was a perfectly fine cycle. Well done on shooting and staying so calm :-)

Speaking of which: You mentioned seeing that newbies are encouraged to post on Health first, until they get "situated", set up with their SS, and familiar with the jargon and theory behind using whatever insulin they give their cat. The reason I suggested you come and look at the Lantus group(s) is that you've adjusted incredibly well and very quickly indeed. SS - check. Better vet - check. Better dose - check. Fantastic!

The TR (tight regulation) group bases its workings, as its name suggests, on regulating the cat's BG and dosing quite strictly. (You'll be able to pick up the difference in style to the "Relaxed Lantus" group once you've browed around and compared a bit.) On TR, it's not as much to do with how definite your feel is of how Cleo deals with Lantus, but more about how closely you'll be watching as she develops, and how you're going to make your dosing decisions. Our suggestion to reduce to 1.0u, for instance, was based on a specific set of guideline for dosing (called the Roomp/Rand-Protocol - here is one of the links posted earlier explaining a bit about that: Tilly's Diabetes Homepage). You remember - 0.25u per kilo of ideal weight. We'll watch how Cleo does progress, of course. But to me, it sounds like the TR Lantus forum might suit you quite well, given how your own progress has been and what your style in regulating Cleo seems to be showing so far.

Browse them both, if you like. You might find you feel comfortable in one of them right away. Or, of course, you start in one and change to the other if you like. Karre and I (and Jack, my husband) are based in the TR forum, but if you did decide after all that you would like to post in the other Lantus group, I'll still check in on you there too of course :-) As will others.

I'll look around for your morning condo now!
Jane
 
At +4 on the evening cycle she's at 174 - nice and stable. I can go to bed unworried tonight :)

Planning to do another 1U of insulin at around 7:45 AM PST tomorrow assuming numbers are looking good and she eats!
 
Kathy-and-Cleo said:
At +4 on the evening cycle she's at 174 - nice and stable. I can go to bed unworried tonight :)
Planning to do another 1U of insulin at around 7:45 AM PST tomorrow assuming numbers are looking good and she eats!


Looking great! Enjoy your unworried sleepus, Kathy :-)

Sticking to the dose sounds like the right plan, I agree. I remember you mentioning that you knew not to move shot time by more than about 15 minutes, which is great - best to stay as safe as possible. I'm sure you'll soon be at your desired shot time.

Looking forward to your next condo!
Jane
 
I think we're looking good again this morning!

The +10 from last night's PM was 199, and then after eating breakfast our AMPS is 219... went ahead and gave 1U of Lantus. I waited as long as possible to give the insulin, so we have an adjustment back of about 20 min. Best I can do.

Should I start a new thread for each day, and here or in the Lantus area? Just not sure how you guys prefer it... SS is updated! Unfortunately, today is a work day, so I can't do as many checks on her today.
 
Hi Kathy! Lovely AMPS :-) Cleo's looking great.

It's less confusing when there's a daily condo, so I'd open a new one for today. Remember to link to yesterday's. I'd love to see you posting in Lantus already! A few folks are aware of you and Cleo already, and I'm sure they'd all be pleased to welcome you too. It's up to you, but I personally think you're ready for Lantus-specific condos :-)

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top