Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Internet Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.


At last, I've managed to squirrel away a precious few hours from our usual daily routine to post a new KCC (though technically this time it's KWC). Occasionally, as I'm putting this condo together, I look outside into the garden to watch the curious ibis who is meandering this way and that across the lawn, looking for beetles. It's oddly mesmerizing, this seemingly aimless wandering - though not as enthralling as watching King Henry nap in his puddle of sunlight, which is making him glow as though he were made of soft, silky gold. The house is quiet and peaceful this morning - His Majesty Karre the Emperor is napping next door, and Magpie and Luca are still out enjoying their usual morning antics. I expect the three of them will come in not too long from now, demanding treats, at which point, if I am not yet finished here, I shall have to interrupt myself and do my job as Lowly Minion to the African Pride. What is it about cats that persuades even the least servile of beans to try as hard as they can to fulfil their felines' every whim... I remain convinced that they all practise some form of BMC (bean mind control) :mrgreen: Nothing wrong with whims as such, of course. One that found me this morning had me add a dash of cocoa and cinnamon to my coffee - inspired by Chef Mannie's coffee concoctions, no doubt. Delicous. As I sit sipping (or sip sitting...say both those, five times fast...), I'm going over last week's 14th October KCC and, as I am wont to now and then, I'll start this week's LL Highlights with a reminder of one of last week's, since I find it bears repeating.

Lisa/Leo's Carb Math Condo is well worth re-reading. In it, apart from the interesting carb math discussion itself, Carl/Bob was also kind enough to cite a thread by Dr. Lisa Pierson, in which she reminds us that a can that is listed on the food charts at 5% (calories from) carbohydrates may be anything from 1% to 10% - the variations are considerable and bear keeping in mind. Fretting and focusing too much when it comes to carbs percentages doesn't do all that much good, even if and when the BG-response to given food seems to be out of proportion to the carbs % ostensibly fed. Meter variance has an equally elusive, comparably maddening cousin - Food Variance. Breathe. Big picture. :mrgreen:

Kathie/Zeus had some good questions on bounce theory answered in their 7th October Condo.

Lori/Atticus had a good example of meter variance, and how it can be useful (due to that variance) to re-test a BG that seems odd or a little worrisome, in their 8th October Condo. They came through those lows with flying colours, steering well with food and hanging in there with all the testing. Great job!

Alexa/Reuben, still struggling with Reuben's appy issues, had the recap of tips on how to get a cat to eat, along with a number of other great tips not in that list, posted in their 6th October Condo. If you haven't got a thread with this list bookmaked yet (it does get posted fairly often), it's well worth doing so.

Jill/Charlie went through a very scary situation in their 14th October Condo. Not only did that situation make it crystal clear how important it is to KNOW THY CAT, but it also reminded me personally never to stop trying to learn more and more and still more about interpreting and reading spreadsheets. Even when numbers aren't actually listed on a cat's SS, one has to try and see what they might have been from the context of the numbers (and notes, and previous condos) that *are* there. (Another example of what this amounts to when it's done right is Libby/Lucy's input in Sheri/Dante's 17th October Condo.) Giving dosing advice comes with great responsibility, which I never, ever take lightly, and this condo made me resolve once again to keep being committed to learning how to give the best possible advice. An extra Thank-You to Jill/Alex and Libby/Lucy for their fantastic guidance. (The subsequent 15th October Condo is equally well worth the read for a reminder of the distinction between bounces clearing and carbs clearing, and also of yet another example of great follow-up notes by Libby and Jill - FOLLOW-UP helps lessons learned to sink in!) Also, a big Hats Off to Jill/Charlie for making it through everything with such poise, good humour and BOS - and congrats on the recent reduction to 0.75u, too :smile:

On the topic of low preshots and skipping shots, there were some great perspectives and thoughts posted in Jill/Charlie's 21st October Condo. It can be great to be reminded that even when a number is technically shootable, sometimes the bean's rather than the cat's situation absolutely warrants a skipped shot. Thanks especially to Marje/Gracie and Sienne/Gabby for your input.

Misty/Bast's 23rd October Condo is also well worth the careful read. The credo "DO NO HARM" remains paramount when giving *any* input on FDMB, and in order not to do any harm, one must understand the complicated puzzle of influencing factors that make up any individual cat's (and bean's) situation. In terms of topic, this condo is an important reminder of DKA and the potentially lethal dangers it poses. Once again, Carl/Bob did a fantastic job of finding a pertinent previous thread (on Think Tank this time), quoting as follows: Lack of insulin is the primary cause of DKA. And what are the secondary causes? Fasting, dehydration, and infection. So no food + no insulin = asking for DKA. Please all you happy advice givers, don't suggest waiting on the insulin just because kitty is reluctant to eat. On the contrary, that is likely to kill kitty. Suggest a slightly reduced dose. Biology doesn't work well on all-or-nothing solutions." Remember, everyone: Do no harm. When in doubt, simply post support rather than advice. Thank you to Sienne/Gabby and Carl/Bob for their excellent input in this thread. And welcome to LL, Misty and Bast!

Pauline/Teronto have begun a *very* exciting speriment (Old School Lantusian for "experiment" :lol:) on suspending the insulin shots and using food instead to control Teronto's BG on the 21st of October. So far, he's doing beautifully! A great example of how cats will be cats, and will every so often go off-book when it comes to their FD management :mrgreen: Way to go, you guys! And of course, excellent tailored-to-Teronto guidance on this one, too!

Another useful link that was posted (by Sienne, I believe) is Pam Johnson-Bennett's thoughts on Introducing a Second Cat to a Household - well worth the bookmark.

As is Sienne's reminder of the impending end to daylight savings time on the 4th of November - Thank you, Sienne!

And finally, for those who may not have seen it, the tribute to Claudia's Rocket, an LL Legend, can be found in Claudia's 21st October Condo. Claudia, our hearts are broken along with yours. You remain in our thoughts prayers. Fly free, darling Rocket - Safe journey.

There is always so much going on here in LL, and all over FDMB. The heartbreak that comes with loving these beautiful creatures can be so overwhelming. I hope that in some small way, the outpouring of love and support when one of our own, kitty or bean, goes through dark times can help them hold on, and can comfort them a little. And I'm grateful that it isn't only heartache. It's also joy, perseverance, triumph even, that makes the FD world go round. This week's LL Overview certainly has many examples of those. Some lucky kitties have proved yet again why the TR Protocol is as fantastic (and fantastically successful) as it is, and have moved to the Falls as newly graduated Diet-Controlled Diabetics: Congratulations to all of you, and Good Luck to those kitties busy making their way there at present! On the Perseverance-Side, too, there are plenty of gold stars and cheers to go around, of course! Dyana/J.D. have had some very lovely BGs of late: Well done, and maybe keep on serving those breffis on deck; who knows, maybe they helped with the pretty blues and greens! :-D Alexa/Reuben continue to persevere despite our dear Drama Meezer's tummy troubles, and despite vet care being scarce and somewhat problematic down there in Mexico - great job, you guys; keep on keeping on! Mike/BJ are keeping it slow and steady - nice work, lads! Amy/Trixie have some lovely splashes into the lagoon, as have Lyresa/KT (depsite sneaking in some contraband kibble on the weekend) - Hooray! Roni/Moonie are doing great with the tricky Adequan shots, and Moonie has seen some very pretty BGs, as has Melissa/Tarragon (despite being back on prednisone) - wonderful stuff, you guys! Carla/Furball seem to have come through the appy issues Furball was having - we're all breathing sighs of relief with you guys :smile: Cindy/Tip are hanging in there, too, on the tricky trip back down the dosing ladder - keep it up, you guys! Helen/Rosy are also keeping on keeping on with Miss Rosy's ups and downs - great job, Helen! Anne/Liz/Zener have had some great green cycles with blue bookends - we love to see that. Ann/Tess provided some great Word-Versions of the food charts - thanks very much, Ann! Wendy/Neko started a new cartridge about a week ago and are doing well with repeated visits to the green lagoon - keep it up, you guys, and thanks for those cute stories about Neko's belly fur and the assorted things she keeps in there, like pine needles :lol: Melanie/Racci celebrated Racci's Sweet Sixteen - Happy Birthday, Miss Racci! Deborah/Shasta have been doing a wonderful job of steering with food, especially since Shasta has been practising her diving :mrgreen: Pip/Rupert are considering a switch to Levemir after this batch of Lantus is done - good luck with whatever you decide to do, you guys. Barb/Checkers caught a surprise dip into the 30s the last week - great catch, you guys, and let's hear it for never being complacent about testing and spot-checking! Adrienne/Eli, Mary/Oliver Twist and Pam/Hoot have also newly joined LL - welcome, and keep on posting, asking, reading, learning, posting, asking, reading, learning... :smile: Marje/Gracie are still seeing numbers not quite worthy of Miss Gracie - fingers crossed that she'll soon be back in better ranges, and good luck to Marje with the colonoscopy! Vines and good thoughts go out to one and all, with apologies once again for not being able to mention each of you by name. As always, post here anytime you like with your own WCRs and WBRs :mrgreen:

Life in the African Pride is ticking along nicely. Karre continues to respond to the occasional above-120 BG with stoic patience, which we're trying to emulate :smile: Magpie and Luca are very busy stalking the moles that are yet again undermining the lawn, literally :lol: King Henry has decided he will eat nothing but our home-made raw cat food from now on - we couldn't be more thrilled to watch our four little carnivores eat exactly what the should be eating! The beans (read: lowly minions) are busy but happy even when a week like the last one comes along and kicks their teeth in - all in a day, as it were :mrgreen: Right about now, it's lunch time again - time flies when you're posting in LL! So for now, a few photos before I must go and make some food :smile:

Hugs,
Jane.

14319_10100351809049253_2058667130_n.jpg

All Three Boys on the new Favourite Carpet Hangout.

76235_10100351809099153_1345753571_n.jpg
270551_10100351809064223_1180680460_n.jpg

Karre and Henry napping, and Maggie and Luca playing.

420776_10100351809084183_981963367_n.jpg

A trophy brought by Magpie (and promptly rescued and returned to his pond, of course).

29413_10100351809129093_153467204_n.jpg
550306_10100351809159033_1338999160_n.jpg

After the rain.

270545_10100351809198953_1751896623_n.jpg

My view while posting the KCC :smile:

P.S. Here's the original first post of this KCC:
Greetings, Lantus Land! I have been remiss! Last week and weekend completely kicked my teeth in, and I spent the past few days just getting my bearings again. Apologies for not having posted the regular KCC, and for not quite managing to make up for that today. I promise I will do the regular KCC sections tomorrow morning (so by the time it's tomorrow morning for most of you, it'll all be there, Highlight, Overview, Links and all), and post photos as well, of course. Sheesh, what a week and half. Still, I think I'm mostly back on track, and DH and I will work hard this evening ticking a few work-related items of our to-do-list, so that tomorrow, over my morning coffee, I can finally have my LL-fix :mrgreen: More tomorrow, I promise! And: even on the days I've barely posted, you were all on my mind. For now, thoughts, prayers, vines to all cats and beans in need of them, and especially to our dear Claudia, whose LL Legend, Rocket, earned his wings last weekend. He will never be forgotten and you, Claudia, will forever have a home here in LL. Hugs to you all, and see you tomorrow, Jane.
 
Re: Karre's Not-So-Much-Caturday Condo 23/10/12

Hi Jane,
I love the name Karre The Emperor. I'm sure he lives up to his name. i was looking at your profile and wanted to tell you your family is quite handsome. hope you catch up on your relaxing after a busy busy time.
mary,mark,ollie,greg and marby
 
Re: Karre's Not-So-Much-Caturday Condo 23/10/12

I hope all is going well with the African Pride and you and Jack. I hope you can relax some after what sounds like a crazy week. Looking forward to your update.
 
Re: Karre's Not-So-Much-Caturday Condo 23/10/12

Jane, Hope all is well and your days are calming down. I look forward to your next KCC whenever you have a chance post it, all at once or one section at a time.
 
Re: Karre's Not-So-Much-Caturday Condo 23/10/12

--- Mary, thanks for your visit and your kind words and compliments to our furry family :smile: Welcome to Lantus Land!

--- Carla, yes, we're doing well, thanks! Great to see you here as always!

--- Leslie, thank you, and yes, at last things seem to be a little less hectic! Wonder how long that will last :lol:

Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: Karre's Not-So-Much-Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Updated

After some more pondering and discussing, I'd like to add the thread on Making the most of your Lantus TR Group Experience to the list of condos for everyone's consideration. There are some points that bear repeating over and over again, especially when it comes to giving advice, and especially when it comes to giving *dosing* advice, I find. A little quote from the thread:

Making the Most of Your Lantus TR Group Experience said:
The FDMB is an open and peer reviewed message board. Sometimes you’ll receive advice offered with the best intentions, but the member may not yet have enough experience or is too new to fully understand the principles and/or the exceptions. Check the profiles and spreadsheets of those offering advice/suggestions. Be aware that number of posts or kitty headed towards going OTJ quickly are not always the best indicators of experience. Some people post a lot. Some kitties are lucky to go off the juice quickly and almost effortlessly. Click on the advice givers name and search their posts to get a feel for their experience level. Do your homework so you’re able to make informed and educated decisions because ultimately, all decisions are yours to make.

Enjoy this week's KCC :smile:
Hugs all around,
Jane.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Jane, once again there is a lot of great information in KCC. Thanks for taking the time to put it all together. I'm glad everyone is doing well.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Incredible as always, JJ!!!
I know I haven't been on much lately, and I hope to be able to spend a bit more time in LL soon. Lots of "junk" going on here, and it's kept me away trying to get things closer to "normal". I just had a terrific four-day visit with my 2 sisters who visited this week. I hadn't seen them for nearly four years, and it was just the shot in the arm I needed. :smile:

Thanks for the mentions in this week's KCC. I'm happy that anything I had to say was helpful ;-)

Big thanks for reemphasizing the "do no harm" credo. Advising isn't the easiest thing in the world for anyone to do. Even more so when you happen to be in the "right place" to help at the "right time", but aren't quite sure what to say, and nobody else is available to peer-review the advice for whatever reason. It doesn't happen often in LL, but once in a great while, the room is almost empty :o
Those rare occasions must be really scary for the CG's who are in desperate need of immediate answers! They can also be scary to the one or two people who notice the "situation" first, and scramble to find the right answers. I am eternally grateful for all the help and advice I have gotten from so many here. I have no first-hand knowledge of Lantus, and anything I've learned, I've learned from all of you.

Since you enjoyed the last "crab" picture I posted, I took this one a couple of days ago just so I could share it in the new KCC!
ghostcrab.jpg


That's a "ghost crab", and it's only about 3 inches across (including the legs), but seems to know no fear. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- Dale, great to see you! How are DH and Emma, and you and Max?

--- Carla, you're welcome, it's my pleasure! I'm so happy you enjoy the KCCs! :smile: Loved the Purry-Furball post you did in your condo this morning!

--- Carl, thanks for that awesome photo, I love it! Great to see you. I'm glad you and your sisters enjoyed your visit! Thanks for the visit and the feedback on this week's KCC, too, it's much appreciated!

Some interesting condos today - Teresa/Poopy's surprise dip into the 20s sure got my heart rate up :lol: Great job to all our newbies, too! Well done all round!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Thanks for the wonderful Caturday catchup!! And those pix!!! Love nature-it's the purest thing in the universe....Just wrote in my condo the other day how Moonie can read my mind & control me!!
It's just a cat thing, the higher mind @-) @-) @-) confused_cat --Hope you have a beautiful week..Many Hugs & love from us! :smile:
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- Roni, I think you're right, they do have a higher-mind thing going on :lol: Glad you're enjoying the photos!

QUESTION:

Does anyone know why Alexa hasn't posted since Monaday? I'm getting a bit worried. I know she had some computer issues - maybe that's all it is. Sending her and Reuben vines, just in case.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

thanks for the wonderful recap. Its amazing how many posts I have missed and its great having you provide an update of the week. Thanks for all your work!!! And the pictures are fun.

I also was wondering what happened to Reuben and hope they are OK.

Have a great weekend :YMHUG:
Karen
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Carl & Bob said:
I know I haven't been on much lately, and I hope to be able to spend a bit more time in LL soon. Lots of "junk" going on here, and it's kept me away trying to get things closer to "normal".
Carl
Heh, I feel you. I got more drama than Days of Our Lives. And junk. Just wanted to say HI Carl!

Jane said:
--- Roni, I think you're right, they do have a higher-mind thing going on :lol: Glad you're enjoying the photos!

QUESTION:

Does anyone know why Alexa hasn't posted since Monaday? I'm getting a bit worried. I know she had some computer issues - maybe that's all it is. Sending her and Reuben vines, just in case.

Hugs
Jane

Alexa is back online. She gave me a shout out.

And Hi, Jane! Where's the cake?? :lol:
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- Mike, thanks for visiting! Yes, Alexa dropped me a line also, she was hac=ving computer trouble, that's why she was out of touch, thank goodness nothing more serious was wrong. I'm sorry you've been having a rough go of it - I'm sending you all-purpose vines. (((Mike))) No cake yet today, some muffine later though - DH requested muffins rather than cake today :lol:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Morning Jane, African Pride, and all of Lantus Land! ~O) ~O) ~O)
I’ve been on the road for work so my posts have been sparse. I do miss you all and hope everyone out there is doing well.
We raised to 4.25 units this morning. Momma is sick of high 200s and hitting 300s way to often.
The east coast is bracing for this coming storm, Sandy, so I hope it is not all it is cracked up to be. This morning it just went back to hurricane status. I guess we will add taking in porch furnitue and taking down the shade canopy out back to our long list of chores this weekend :roll:

Best to you all! :YMHUG:
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Good morning Jane. Your KCC was full of very interesting and informative items. I've bookmarked it for furture reference. Your view is beautiful. How do you look at that and still keep your mind on what you're doing? Thank you for the KCC and have a great day.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Hello Jane, Karre & family!

Love the pictures and the recap! Haven't been around much this week due to craziness with my students' fundraiser so I feel like I've missed so much. But now...I have the best recap ever! Thank you and have a blessed Caturday!!!!
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

I love this! Our very own Lantus Land News & Report. Great way for the condo-less among us to catch up. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- Donna, thanks for checking in even though you're on the go so much! Good luck with the 4.25u - fingers and paws are crossed :smile:

--- John, how lovely to see you here, thanks for visiting and posting! I'm glad you're finding the KCC useful :-D You can follow the sequence of previous KCCs via the links always posted to the previous one, too. You have a great day also!

--- Deborah, always good to see you here :mrgreen: It's my pleasure - I'm glad you're liking the recaps!

--- Kathy, Hello!! Thanks for the PM, an answer will be forthcoming :smile: And feel free to visit KCC anytime to update us all on how you're doing - I love that you posted here :smile:

And now, some Sunday Catnip Patch photos :lol: I'm going to wait until the next actual Caturday to put up the new KCC, so until then, I'll just keep this one open.
Hugs, and Happy Sunday,
Jane.

579041_10100353995033523_1024077179_n.jpg
247650_10100353994784023_1602753790_n.jpg

65445_10100353994813963_915227610_n.jpg
60590_10100353994898793_1598781294_n.jpg

550529_10100353994953683_23501233_n.jpg

229857_10100353994968653_1211796411_n.jpg
297153_10100353995063463_524260514_n.jpg

643966_10100353994983623_38932238_n.jpg
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

It looks like your kitties are really enjoying themselves. Have a good week Jane.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Nice pictures, as always, Jane :-D Doesn't your catnip patch get smooshed? Everytime I try to plant it within reach of a cat they lay on it and break it and smoosh it into the ground with a day and a half.

I was hoping to get a picture for you this morning, it almost looked like we were going to have a nice sunrise here, for once, but then it petered out. Maybe I can get a nice picture of the hurricane winds later.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

The photos are fantastic! And thanks for such a thorough summary in LL. I always find some great condo threads I missed to bookmark after reading your summary!
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

If one must rise before the sun, there must be a good reason...


The cool thing about living on a island...just a short walk from west to east and you get to see this a few minutes later...


Y'all have a great day!

Carl
 

Attachments

  • 1351509152836.jpg
    1351509152836.jpg
    9.8 KB · Views: 1,807
  • 1351510917105.jpg
    1351510917105.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 1,805
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Thank all of you for posting. I will reply tomorrow.

My father died three years ago today. I was twenty-seven, and he was sixty-five. I was with him all day, that day, and the days before.

I shall never recover.

I did not think this would hit me today... I do not put much stock in something as profound as immovable as grief being tied to mundane minutiae, like dates. But it did.

If you have your loved ones in your life, please take a moment to be grateful for that. Use every chance you get to tell them what they mean to you.

I will be back tomorrow.
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

((((Janie Jane))))
file.php

I'm sorry you're sad :(
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- Carla, thanks for the good wishes on the week :smile: Same to you of course!

--- Dyana, I'm happy you're enjoying the photos! No, the catnip is fine, for the most part. Our cats do like to cuddle with the plants, but they seem to be coping well with all that kitty affection :lol: Luca is like a little cow, he's literally sitt right in front of a catnip bushel and graze on it for twenty minutes! Be safe in the storm! And tank you for your kind second post also.

--- Anne, thank you so much for the compliment! And you're welcome, on the sumnmaries - it's my pleasure :smile: I'm thrilled that so many are finding the KCCs so helpful!

--- Carl, BEAUTIFUL photos, thank you so much for those!

--- Kathie, thank you so much for you hugs and support.

Everyone, it's LUNCH TIME. I'm thinking, a rice, rocket and palm heart salad with a lemon and thyme vinaigrette and some pan-fried ostrich strips :smile:

I'll keep one eye on LL too though :mrgreen:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Jane,

Hope your Monday got better with pleasant memories of your father. It is hard when our hearts or heavy with thoughts of loved-one's gone ahead. I'm glad to hear the African Pride is doing well.
hugs-4.jpg
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- ((Shannan)) Thank you for your kind post and good wishes. Yes, there were a lot of happy memories among the other kind, and I'm grateful for every one of them.

My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone having reason to worry about Hurricane Sandy - I hope you all stay safe!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Jane sending you hugs for yesterday. I hope you can focus on the good memories.

Thanks for the stay safe wishes and the sunshine in Furball's condo.
 

Attachments

  • cat-hug-5.jpg
    cat-hug-5.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 1,756
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

I'm sorry about your father, Jane, and that you were so young. It does hit you unexpectedly when you feel the same temperature, smell the same smells in the air, and see the same angle of the sunlight. You don't even realize that your senses are picking up these things, but you feel the totality of it all, and you are sad. Hugs, Jane.

Mine died a year ago July 29, and I was with him, too. He was really my grandfather, but he was 99 and had been with me for 42 years. My baby girl was two months old. My husband's father died 6 weeks before she was born. It was a very hard year, and I'm afraid we are in for another awful loss. I hope not.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

((((Jane)))))
You are right. You won't recover. But it's a blessing and a curse.

I'm sorry you lost him so early. Dates are hard, things that remind you most will continue to remind you.
You will still tear up but smiles will also come with the tears.
And while you feel the time you had together is short, you will start feeling more and more that's it's all so very short with every passing
year. And those yesterdays may feel like 40 years ago and yet they feel like yesterday at the same time.
And when you get to hold his hand again, it will all be as it should.

Wishing for all your good memories to flood your heart.
Rhiannon
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

((((Janie Jane))))

I'm so sorry about your dad. Thinking of you ...I know we can never recover from the loss of our daddys.
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

--- Carla, thanks for the hugs and the adorable photo! Hugs back to you!

--- Dale, I'm so sorry for your loss. Thank you for your kind words - hugs to you, also!

--- Rhiannon, thanks for your thoughts. I like the image of a wave of happy memories.

--- Marje, thank you for thinking of me. This is what made me quiet. But I'm alright, and I should be back to my chipry self soon enough, I think.

Happy Fursday!
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Beautiful shot!
One cat's love is another cat's" um, is that your foot in my ear?"

Carl
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Everyone - I've had massive connectivity issues and haven't been able to get and/or stay online for days. It's driving me mad! Seems a tad better thos morning - hopefully, I'm back, if that holds up! I've missed you guys! (New KCC will go up this coming Saturday - the Internet Gods thwarted my attempts last weekend, blast them!)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

Hi Jane,

Glad to see you around again. I love your photos. I can't get mine to work. I keep getting messages that it can't determine the size. No idea what it means since I made them small. They're in the photo album without a problem, small on purpose for this program. Oh well, no time to play with it now.

TTYL, Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Karre's (Faux-)Caturday Condo 23/10/12 - Now With Photos

HI Jane

I just LOVE the pictures of the pride in the green grass! Great pics! And your view as you wrote the condo ... spectacular. Wow, what a sight! I wish I could let mine out, but we're simply too close to roads. Sorry I am late to get around - I actually "save" your condos for when I have a chance to really read through and follow the links. Sometimes that makes me rather late, oh well, the information isn't going anywhere, right? :-D Great information again this week. I really like that you include condos with learning elements - there's always more to learn!

Our love to the pride!
 
Internet problems persisting. I'm about ready to dropkick someone. Sorry everyone! I REALLY am trying to get back online. DH has no idea what's wrong, neither do any "professional" guys. %##@*!!!

Back when I can. Cross your fingers for me, k?
Hugs
Jane
 
Jane I hope you can get your internet problems fixed soon. It's good to know that's why you haven't been around and that everyone is okay.
 
You are missed, Jane. I hope a miracle happens and you get your internet working just fine, like you find some old loose wire and Poof it works again :razz: .
 
Sending a message to the Internet gods: Jane needs to get back online! We need Jane back online!! Pronto! Thanks!

Hi Jane and The Pride,

Glad you are OK and hope that your Internet issues get resolved soon. Hugs to you and scritches to The Emperor and his Court.

Ella & Rusty
 
Still working on it, everybody! (Also in a new work phase now with DH's new company so we're on insane work hours on top of eveything.)

I'm really trying to make it back. Hopefully I will be, soon! Miss you all and think of you so very much!
Hugs and more hugs
Jane
 
Hi Jane,
How frustrating!!
We are doing so well thanks to you and the fantastic team of advice givers and supporters on LL.
Although we thankfully don't need your advice at the moment, we are always looking if you are online and miss your 'hugs. '
Hope you are up and running soon.
Kath & red
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top