Kaia bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
I still feel like Kaia numbers are all over the place. But she seems to drop from HI to low in a matter of 2-3 hours, then rises again. How do I prevent this. I've done some feeding at +1-+2 and +3. Help!
 
Those big drops will cause bounces.
Are you feeding during the cycles? What I would do is test at +1 if you can and give a good snack then. If the BG is dropping at +2, feed again to see if you can slow the drop and stop or reduce the bounces.
How is her appetite? Is she eating well still?
I am going to tag @FrostD and @JanetNJ about the dose as I am not a Prozinc user.
 
Those big drops will cause bounces.
Are you feeding during the cycles? What I would do is test at +1 if you can and give a good snack then. If the BG is dropping at +2, feed again to see if you can slow the drop and stop or reduce the bounces.
How is her appetite? Is she eating well still?
I am going to tag @FrostD and @JanetNJ about the dose as I am not a Prozinc user.
She has a really good appetite. I have been feeding at +1- +2 and +3 to try to avoid dropping
 
Sorry I haven't been ignoring you or your PM, just swamped over here.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) I opened Shebas spreadsheet and I was like whoa Kaia where did these numbers come from?? :banghead:

I would go up to 3U, and that can work as vacation dose as well. That should be a nice balance where you don't have to worry about going too low, but also should help keep ketones at bay.

It looks like you're going to need to start increasing the carb % at those early feedings. What carb % do you currently give at those +1/+2/+3 feedings?

I would have your sister also add a bit of water to each meal if Kaia will eat it that way, just keep her extra hydrated while you're gone
 
Sorry I haven't been ignoring you or your PM, just swamped over here.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) I opened Shebas spreadsheet and I was like whoa Kaia where did these numbers come from?? :banghead:

I would go up to 3U, and that can work as vacation dose as well. That should be a nice balance where you don't have to worry about going too low, but also should help keep ketones at bay.

It looks like you're going to need to start increasing the carb % at those early feedings. What carb % do you currently give at those +1/+2/+3 feedings?

I would have your sister also add a bit of water to each meal if Kaia will eat it that way, just keep her extra hydrated while you're gone
I just measure out the Dr. Elseys to 1/4 cup and 1/2 can of fancy feast for preshot food. Then at +1, +2 and +3 I give her a bit of crunchy food. I wish Kaia had Shebas numbers
 
Last edited:
She had a fur shot tonight. 2 hours later she's still over 600. I guess I didn't get any in her... now im worried!!!
 
Good evening! It's me again (I'm so sorry)
I still can't find Dr. Elseys chicken food anywhere! I looked on the website and Chicken flavor is 4.32% carbs and the Turkey is 8.7%.
I bought an auto feeder for when I'm away... will this work? Or too high carbs?
 
Good evening! It's me again (I'm so sorry)
I still can't find Dr. Elseys chicken food anywhere! I looked on the website and Chicken flavor is 4.32% carbs and the Turkey is 8.7%.
I bought an auto feeder for when I'm away... will this work? Or too high carbs?
It’s fine to ask as many questions as you like.
Those two flavours are under 10% carbs so should be fine. I would try them before you go away in case they upset the tummy. Not saying they will but I would not change over to a new food as I was going away. Better to be at home to iron out any issues.
 
It’s fine to ask as many questions as you like.
Those two flavours are under 10% carbs so should be fine. I would try them before you go away in case they upset the tummy. Not saying they will but I would not change over to a new food as I was going away. Better to be at home to iron out any issues.
Yes, changing to Dr. Elseys from WD caused diarrhea. But what so I do now? I won't have any food for the auto feeder if I don't get the turkey flavor. Go back to WD... would that cause diarrhea again?
 
Kaia went from 478 at 9pm to 486 an hour later. Why is it going up instead of down? Insulin was given at 7:30 pm...

I'm going to have a heart attack worrying about her!!
 
Last edited:
She just is not getting the duration she needs from ProZinc. I'm sorry I've probably asked a million times but are you feeding after +4?

As for the wet food, I've honestly never kept it cool but I know some people do. Only exception would be if raw/homemade. If it's just +1 to +3 snacks I really wouldn't be worried about it
 
Oh as for the 486, it's flat. Any chance of a fur shot or contraband food? Could just be a nasty bounce that the ProZinc can't cut through (well, it is cutting through, just the best it can do is keep her in 400s)
 
I'm not feeding at +4. I don't believe it was a fur shot. I always rub her after and no wetness or smell. I'm so worried about her falling into dka again. I wasn't able to get Ketone test today.

Do I need a different insulin already?
 
Relax, you are doing everything you can. You have to remember that a very large part of this is outside our control!

I would see if the vet would he willing to prescribe Lantus or biosimilar semglee. She just isn't getting the duration she needs from ProZinc, and I don't see that changing no matter what we do. By the time the vet gets the script, and you place the order, it would hopefully be here by the time you get back.
 
Relax, you are doing everything you can. You have to remember that a very large part of this is outside our control!

I would see if the vet would he willing to prescribe Lantus or biosimilar semglee. She just isn't getting the duration she needs from ProZinc, and I don't see that changing no matter what we do. By the time the vet gets the script, and you place the order, it would hopefully be here by the time you get back.
I just did her preshot scan and her number is 262, first time it hasn't been high... I don't know if I should be happy or confused
 
Geez all the cats on the board making me eat my words today!

Happy. Be happy! She had a nice long slow drop last night, that's actually what we *want* to see with ProZinc, nadirs around +6. She probably nadired closer to +8 maybe +9, it's great
 
When her numbers are as high as they were last night you don't need to test hourly by the way, get some sleep. But it worked out pretty well because now we know she had a long slide.
 
I'm so happy! I hope it sticks! I used the Relion because I was worried maybe the libre wasn't working. It wasn't easy to get blood this morning, she's Fiesty and in a good mood!! Relion had her at 251
 
Ok.. this is new for me. Kaia is now reading 80. Shes eaten a lot this morning. Pretty much non stop for 3 hours post shot. She's still dropping. Do I worry??
 
This is awesome actually hopefully no bounce.

Give her some medium carb food, just 1-2 tsp. Something around 10%
 
And then test again in about 30-45 mins

We'll reduce dose tonight but let's see how cycle goes
 
Booounnceeee noooo haha this is good though! Progress. The MC food was perfect because you see she "surfed" in the 80s...but then shot up
 
I actually just gave her low carb food. Is that still good?
Shes doing good today!! YAY!!!! MY GIRL
 
I actually just gave her low carb food. Is that still good?
Shes doing good today!! YAY!!!! MY GIRL
Yes that was fine. She was close to nadir so it was a gamble of was she still dropping or flattening out. In lower numbers (like 60s) I'd have for sure done medium carb
 
Yes that was fine. She was close to nadir so it was a gamble of was she still dropping or flattening out. In lower numbers (like 60s) I'd have for sure done medium carb
Glad I didn't. Just scanned her.... 498 and it's only +8
 
Let's see how she does over the next week. But I'd still be thinking about Lantus. Shes bouncing for sure, but the lack of duration isn't helping
 
Let's see how she does over the next week. But I'd still be thinking about Lantus. Shes bouncing for sure, but the lack of duration isn't helping
Sounds good. I just received her new bottle of ProZinc today and didn't want to chance changing insulin while I'm gone . I'll keep putting her numbers in spreadsheet
 
It's the last night of Kaia Libre, so I can't check her as often. She still hasn't leveled out. I feed and medicate at 8. Then give her food +1 and +2. Should I cut back on food? I give her a bit of fancy feast for a snack during the day (about size of quarter) I'm just worried about her as I'm leaving soon
 
Nope I would keep everything the same. She could benefit from the +1 being a little higher carb than whatever you're giving, but that can always wait.

I suspect she's going to break the bounce tonight or tomorrow, always the worst timing.

I'm a little torn on dose given those greens the other day. I think for safety, while you're gone:
  • Preshot above 300: full dose (currently 2.75U)
  • Preshot 250-299: 0.75U less than full dose
  • Preshot 200-249: 1.5U less than full dose
  • Preshot 150-199: 0.25U total (so barely any insulin)
Of course, do what you're comfortable with. I'm just trying to walk the tightrope of keeping her safe but also trying to keep ketones away
 
Nope I would keep everything the same. She could benefit from the +1 being a little higher carb than whatever you're giving, but that can always wait.

I suspect she's going to break the bounce tonight or tomorrow, always the worst timing.

I'm a little torn on dose given those greens the other day. I think for safety, while you're gone:
  • Preshot above 300: full dose (currently 2.75U)
  • Preshot 250-299: 0.75U less than full dose
  • Preshot 200-249: 1.5U less than full dose
  • Preshot 150-199: 0.25U total (so barely any insulin)
Of course, do what you're comfortable with. I'm just trying to walk the tightrope of keeping her safe but also trying to keep ketones away
Thank you so much!! I'm just scared to death. I've almost lost her twice. I have PTSD from it...
 
I'm believing Kaia will never be in normal range! I've been dealing with her high numbers for 4 years!! I'm really scared to leave in vacation, I'm starting to make my husband paranoid.
 
She'll get there, changing insulin should help. It's much harder to enjoy things like vacation, or even a night out, I know!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top