She has a really good appetite. I have been feeding at +1- +2 and +3 to try to avoid droppingThose big drops will cause bounces.
Are you feeding during the cycles? What I would do is test at +1 if you can and give a good snack then. If the BG is dropping at +2, feed again to see if you can slow the drop and stop or reduce the bounces.
How is her appetite? Is she eating well still?
I am going to tag @FrostD and @JanetNJ about the dose as I am not a Prozinc user.
So sorry to be a pain! I'm going on vacation in a few weeks and I'm so afraid to leave her...Looking now
Who is going to be looking after her while you are gone?So sorry to be a pain! I'm going on vacation in a few weeks and I'm so afraid to leave her...
My sister. She just comes over, feeds, medicate and leavesWho is going to be looking after her while you are gone?
I checked today. Maybe just a trace.Are you still testing for ketones in the urine?
Let’s see what the others think about the dose.
Closer to the time, post and ask for help with a vacation dose. Would your sister check the BG? Will you have a timed feeder there for her snacks while you are away?My sister. She just comes over, feeds, medicate and leaves
Check again tomorrow.I checked today. Maybe just a trace.

Yes, I bought a feeder. She'll check her BG if I get a libre...Closer to the time, post and ask for help with a vacation dose. Would your sister check the BG? Will you have a timed feeder there for her snacks while you are away?
I just measure out the Dr. Elseys to 1/4 cup and 1/2 can of fancy feast for preshot food. Then at +1, +2 and +3 I give her a bit of crunchy food. I wish Kaia had Shebas numbersSorry I haven't been ignoring you or your PM, just swamped over here.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) I opened Shebas spreadsheet and I was like whoa Kaia where did these numbers come from??
I would go up to 3U, and that can work as vacation dose as well. That should be a nice balance where you don't have to worry about going too low, but also should help keep ketones at bay.
It looks like you're going to need to start increasing the carb % at those early feedings. What carb % do you currently give at those +1/+2/+3 feedings?
I would have your sister also add a bit of water to each meal if Kaia will eat it that way, just keep her extra hydrated while you're gone
Ok, thank you!!!!Ah it happens. Just continue to water down food, keep her fed, and then insulin at next scheduled shot time
It’s fine to ask as many questions as you like.Good evening! It's me again (I'm so sorry)
I still can't find Dr. Elseys chicken food anywhere! I looked on the website and Chicken flavor is 4.32% carbs and the Turkey is 8.7%.
I bought an auto feeder for when I'm away... will this work? Or too high carbs?
Yes, changing to Dr. Elseys from WD caused diarrhea. But what so I do now? I won't have any food for the auto feeder if I don't get the turkey flavor. Go back to WD... would that cause diarrhea again?It’s fine to ask as many questions as you like.
Those two flavours are under 10% carbs so should be fine. I would try them before you go away in case they upset the tummy. Not saying they will but I would not change over to a new food as I was going away. Better to be at home to iron out any issues.
Do they? Mine doesn't as the cat food needs refrigeration, right??You can put wet food in autofeeder....or am I misunderstanding something?
I just did her preshot scan and her number is 262, first time it hasn't been high... I don't know if I should be happy or confusedRelax, you are doing everything you can. You have to remember that a very large part of this is outside our control!
I would see if the vet would he willing to prescribe Lantus or biosimilar semglee. She just isn't getting the duration she needs from ProZinc, and I don't see that changing no matter what we do. By the time the vet gets the script, and you place the order, it would hopefully be here by the time you get back.
Ok, I'll do that nowThis is awesome actually hopefully no bounce.
Give her some medium carb food, just 1-2 tsp. Something around 10%
Ok!! Thank you!!And then test again in about 30-45 mins
We'll reduce dose tonight but let's see how cycle goes
Yes that was fine. She was close to nadir so it was a gamble of was she still dropping or flattening out. In lower numbers (like 60s) I'd have for sure done medium carbI actually just gave her low carb food. Is that still good?
Shes doing good today!! YAY!!!! MY GIRL
Glad I didn't. Just scanned her.... 498 and it's only +8Yes that was fine. She was close to nadir so it was a gamble of was she still dropping or flattening out. In lower numbers (like 60s) I'd have for sure done medium carb
Sounds good. I just received her new bottle of ProZinc today and didn't want to chance changing insulin while I'm gone . I'll keep putting her numbers in spreadsheetLet's see how she does over the next week. But I'd still be thinking about Lantus. Shes bouncing for sure, but the lack of duration isn't helping
Thank you so much!! I'm just scared to death. I've almost lost her twice. I have PTSD from it...Nope I would keep everything the same. She could benefit from the +1 being a little higher carb than whatever you're giving, but that can always wait.
I suspect she's going to break the bounce tonight or tomorrow, always the worst timing.
I'm a little torn on dose given those greens the other day. I think for safety, while you're gone:
Of course, do what you're comfortable with. I'm just trying to walk the tightrope of keeping her safe but also trying to keep ketones away
- Preshot above 300: full dose (currently 2.75U)
- Preshot 250-299: 0.75U less than full dose
- Preshot 200-249: 1.5U less than full dose
- Preshot 150-199: 0.25U total (so barely any insulin)