Just when things start to look regulated... UPDATE: 148 PMPS!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

FurBabiesMama

Very Active Member
Hi. Mia has been doing so good. After a lot of bouncing then a period of not much movement at all, we finally started seeing some good numbers. I have had to assume a little risk of lower numbers to make progress, but it has been worth it. I have gradually reduced her dose as she began to go lower on smaller doses. From our highest dose of 3 units, we have gotten back to a fat 2 units. I was thrilled to start seeing some some consistent 'yellow' pre-shots and 'green' nadirs.... it was starting to feel like she might possibly be what I could call 'well regulated'.

Then, she decided to mix things up and threw me a 'red' yesterday (first one since mid-December). :eek: Just as surprising, even with an AMPS in the 450s, she still managed to get down to 95 during the cycle. Her PMPS was 358, and by +6, she was only down to 254. This morning, her AMPS was 313 and at +4, she was still up there at 303. If she stays high through this cycle, I plan to up the dose to 2.25 this evening.

I am posting because I would like to hear any insights you have on this, please. I do not understand why her numbers decided to jump up all the sudden - other than because they can, because this diabetes thing is frustrating and never wants to let you think you are figuring it out. :banghead: There was no change in food/eating, nothing unusual going on in her environment, and at least thus far, I have seen no signs that anything is otherwise wrong with her.
 
Just as surprising, even with an AMPS in the 450s, she still managed to get down to 95 during the cycle.

While I've not used Prozinc, I've seen similar when using Caninsulin - and it has always made me wary of using sliding scales with the latter.

I wonder whether, after that huge drop from AMPS to nadir there might be some bouncing going on in the subsequent cycles to keep Mia's numbers up? If it should prove to be a general upward trend then the first thing I'd always wonder about is dental issues/low-grade UTIs/other infections or systemic stressors (with no obvious clinical signs).


Mogs
.
 
It is not uncommon for Mia to have a very significant drop from pre-shot to nadir. I just did not expect her to have such a huge drop yesterday from that unexpected high.

I wonder whether, after that huge drop from AMPS to nadir there might be some bouncing going on in the subsequent cycles to keep Mia's numbers up? If it should prove to be a general upward trend then the first thing I'd always wonder about is dental issues/low-grade UTIs/other infections or systemic stressors (with no obvious clinical signs).
Bouncing is always a possibility given her history. I guess I did not see it as that since she has gone low so often lately without bouncing. Maybe there has actually been a degree of bouncing, but it has been so very slight and has cleared so quickly that it was not recognizable to me when I was thinking in terms of what past bounces looked like. So, thanks for making me re-consider that option. (I wish I knew what cause the high AMPS in the first place though.)

She had a dental exam with x-rays, a cleaning and extractions done on November 21, so I doubt there are any dental issues. I have some litter than changes color if the urine is abnormal (such as with a UTI). If her numbers stay high, I will put it out and see what I get.

So, now, I am leaning toward staying with the fat 2 units this evening. If the 'red' was just a fluke and the higher numbers following the extreme drop are a bounce, I want to make sure things settle enough that I am sure before any increase.
 
Any chance she got into contraband? If not that or some sort of health issue it could just be “oh look a squirrel” followed by some bouncing. It looks a lot like bouncing today...so yeah I might stick with it tonight and see where we go tomorrow.
 
Any chance she got into contraband?
I really do not think there is any for her to get into. I joked with my husband that he must have been up feeding her ice cream all night (not that we even have any).

it could just be “oh look a squirrel”
I hope so. I hope it was just some weird fluke and not the indication of things to come.

I gave her a skinny 2 units tonight due to the low PMPS. I think that will be fine based on history and the fact that she is on the rise at this point. I will, as always, be monitoring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top