Just wanting some feedback/advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

HiTorq

Member Since 2014
As the title says. Pretty new to the board and our first post in the relaxed lantus forum. Think we've gotten most of the standard stuff down. Testing, curves, ketone testing, diet, etc...

The question is it really seems like Felix our sugar kitty is responding too well to lantus. Is that possible? So, just wanting others opinions on his numbers, and appreciate any and all input.
 
Hi and welcome to the group! :smile:

I'm really glad that you posted. You're right. Several of those numbers are way, way too low. I don't have enough experience to suggest what you should do. If it were my cat, I would seek advice about what to do about tonight's dose. Hopefully someone with enough experience will be along soon to help but in the meantime have you contacted your vet about the low numbers?

ETA:

How long is it until the next insulin dose is due?
 
Jumping in now and going to go look at the spreadsheet.

Just going to over the basics real quick...any test below 40 earns an automatic dose reduction of .25 units

BRB after looking at the spreadsheet.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
okay I'm back. Looks like you have a little guy that just might want off the juice. So let me ask a few questions. Besides changing insulins has anything else changed recently like a change in diet, either style, type or brand? Any medically problems other than just diabetes, that could account for the higher numbers and now the drop because it was resolved, like a dental recently or a round of antibiotics completed for an infection? And to second Aine's question when is his next dose due?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I need to run briefly to test and feed my crew here but will check back shortly.

Right now my best suggestion is to test this evening and post the number before giving a shot so we can discuss with you what would be the best course of action for here on out.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Since HiTorq is at work right now, I'll answer what I can.

I tested him 3 hours ago at +7, and he was at 52.
His next shot is due in just under 2 hours.
I never give him a shot without testing first.
We changed his diet when he was first diagnosed about 2 months ago. We were feeding him Fancy Feast grilled (with the gravy) but went back to the Fancy Feast pate because it's lower in carbs.
He does have to take Lysine, but that's been ongoing since we adopted him 7 years ago. No new issues that have been medicated.
Since he's been having lower numbers pretty consistently, we've been lowering the dose. At this point, we're giving him MAYBE a .1 and we're afraid to skip completely because his numbers tend to go higher when we do that.

Standing by. :-)

And Thank you!!
 
Okay trying to be as brief as possible, what I think I'm seeing here with his numbers is you have a little guy that very much wants to be OTJ. But when he goes low he goes too far low and that sends the self protect mode into drive throwing the numbers back up, then you respond to those high numbers with insulin, which now combines with what his pancreas is trying to do on it's own then he dives again and you get a vicious cycle going.

If he was mine, I would take him off insulin and try for at least two ketone tests daily if possible for 3 days. If after 3 days he can't fly solo without insulin then start him back at a drop. To get a drop, push the plunger in as hard as you can while putting the syringe in the insulin, then just let it relax back into place pulling up the tiniest dose possible.

Just kind of let him factory reset over the next few days unless on one of those ketone tests you see anything higher than a trace, if he shows a hint of ketones back on the juice he goes.

Sound like a plan?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Yes!! HiTorq and I have been discussing taking him off the juice to see how he does, but we've both been a little shy to pull that trigger and make the decision. This is why he posted here this morning, to see if we were crazy to try it, or if some of you more experienced sugar kitty owners could validate our thinking on the subject.

He's only been diagnosed for a short time (just over 2 months) and we really didn't think it was possible that he would respond this well this quickly. We've been pretty dedicated to checking him regularly, and dosing accordingly. You can see from his SS that it's been a while since he's seen any really high numbers, but low numbers are a regular occurrence. I left work early yesterday because he tested at 40 and HiTorq had to leave for work, and I didn't want him to be alone with numbers that low. So....we will try no shot tonight, test him every hour or so, and see how he does.

Thank you very much for your responses, we really appreciate it. Felix thanks you too. :-)
 
If it helps my guy that just celebrated 4 yrs OTJ went off insulin in 2 weeks so it is possible. :-D

Keep us posted we love OTJ parties

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
As always, thanks a ton for all the support, help and advise. We were kind of leaning towards this but wanted someone with a lil more experience to let us know we were on the right track.

His PMPS was 104 so we're going to start tonight. No shot and we'll check him a few times, and regularly over the next day or so. Keeping our fingers crossed he's had enough of getting poked with those needles.

Again thanks and we'll update as things progress...
 
For an OTJ trial, I think the recommended procedure is to test BG morning and evening for 14 days. (Please correct me if I'm not right about this.) I'm not sure about the target range for the OTJ trial, but it may be 50-120. Hopefully another member will confirm the times and ranges.

If numbers start trending up (and hopefully they won't!), post an update and get some advice.

For future reference, if you need to continue insulin treatment (and hopefully you won't!), if numbers start getting low mid-cycle - say the 60s or 50s - I'd recommend popping onto the board and asking someone experienced to give Felix's spreadsheet a once over. :smile:
 
Hi Welcome
and good luck with the OTJ.. That would be amazing.
keeping fingers and paws crossed for you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top