Mike had to go to the doctor but here is to what he is referring by "regulation" from the FDMB FAQs:
Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
The protocol for lantus and levemir is the same:
Roomp and Rand
I think I might see now what you are asking: tight regulation...must everyone who comes into LL strive to achieve it?
It is the protocol we use but we also understand that people have lives, jobs, etc etc. I think this group is caring enough that if people come in, need help, but have to give their baby a higher dose to keep them at a safer number, we aren't going to judge them. Everyone has to decide what they can do and I think we are all so thrilled that they chose to give insulin and not PTS the kitty that we are willing to help as much as we can.
If the question is does levemir enable the cat to avoid the dives? I think it depends on the cat. Tess has certainly stopped her dives...but she still bounces.
I think, overall, there isn't alot of difference between lev and lantus other than the nadir being later for lev and lev is supposed to sting less at higher doses. I don't know that lev holds an even less possibility of hypos....I've seen some lev cats go pretty low, too.
We've all been newbies; we've all been scared to death. We've all learned and we've come to know our kitties. I think those are the steps newbies have to take; they have to educate themselves on protocols, etc, ask questions, make their decisions....they hold the syringe. We are only here to listen, help, provide support.