NatesHuman
Member Since 2019
Nate has been testing higher and higher the past few days and he just tested at 509 for his PMPS shot! Should I increase his dosage for this shot??
I gave him his usual dose. I tested him again +3 after his PMPS. Down to 232. I feel silly now... Removed the 911 tag. Sorry. I had just never seen a number that high. Kind of panicked. Still, that was the highest it's been and his numbers seem to have steadily increased over the last few days.Without mid cycle tests it’s tough to determine dosing. Dosing needs to be based on his lowest numbers and not on PS alone. Can you get some mid cycle test in so we can see where he goes?
I work 6 days a week, so Mid-cycle tests Mon-Sat are basically impossible. Also, Nate struggles quite a bit during these tests and sometimes I have to poke him 5 times to get a reading. Doing it by myself is almost impossible. The last 2 mornings I gave up... I work a shorter shift tomorrow, so I will be able to do a +6 and I am going to do a Curve Sunday.One mid cycle test is really not enough to judge dosing. Best bet is to be active with PS tests and some mid cycles to establish a pattern. Don’t let 1 500 reading freak you out. Keep in mind Meter readings can vary 20%. If we see a pattern of steady 500s that’s one thing but it’s truly the mid cycles that will help determine dosing.
As I mentioned to Lisa, I work Mon-Sat, so mid cycle tests are very tough. I will be able to give him a +6 and a +8 tomorrow and we are doing a Curve Sunday.As Lisa said, those mid-cycle tests (and not just at +6) are essential right now. Once you give insulin, it usually takes about two hours to kick in, and then it brings the BG down for awhile until nadir, and then starts rising again until the next PS. If the number drops steeply or goes too low (or even just lower than the cat is used to), you can get what we call "bouncing" where the number jumps up really high. So it's possible that the 509 you saw is actually an indication that Nate is getting too much insulin. Increasing could put him in danger.
Or it could be that he's not getting enough insulin and he does need an increase. Because the 509 can mean two opposite things, the mid cycle tests are what help you know which one is the case. The other thing is that one cycle isn't sufficient to clear it up. A cat might go really low one cycle, then the liver dumps a bunch of glucose into their system to keep them safe from that hypo, and then the next cycle they stay high while the body clears out that glucose dump. So if you only test on that second, higher cycle, you might think the cat needs more insulin - when in reality they are just in recovery phase from a hypo that you didn't see.
This is why those other tests are so essential.
You can see that Nate dropped more than 50% from PS to +3. That is a huge drop - very steep and very fast. Even though 232 is still too high, it concerns me to see a drop like that so early in the cycle. Please please do some testing this weekend - both AM and PM cycles. I'm honestly a little concerned about his dose and would love to more numbers so we can know that he's safe.
Hi Rachel! He seems to be feeling better. He has been eating about 3 ounces of wet food twice a day with treats/snacks in between meals. He is still on Cerenia and Mirtazaphine and I just gave him his first SubQ at home today! 100ml.How is Nate feeling these days? Has he been eating? Sometimes increasing numbers can be a sign of a panc attack coming on. Is he on any meds or fluids right now?
Bupe is a great pain reliever for kitties. You can try reducing the dose - easy to do because it's a liquid. Many of us do that to find the amount that helps pain but reduces the negative side effects.Hi Rachel! He seems to be feeling better. He has been eating about 3 ounces of wet food twice a day with treats/snacks in between meals. He is still on Cerenia and Mirtazaphine and I just gave him his first SubQ at home today! 100ml.
I gave him the Bupe a couple nights ago and it made him ...high? He looked spaced out and actually got aggressive with me. I only gave it to him once. I know cats are good at hiding pain, but he really hasn't shown any symptoms of pain. Seems energetic, playful and loving. Should I just get over my worry about the Bupe and continue giving it to him?