Just started ProZinc at 7units every 12hrs

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Very Active Member
Satan weighs 9.3 pounds down from 13 on May 1st ish. Vet Dx him with bg of 550+. After diet change it was around 350 at home. Lost another pound in 3 weeks so it was time to start insulin. He started him at 7 units every 12 hours 30-45 minutes after his meal. He's on a low carb high protein wet food. I called today because he only ate half of his food this morning. I only gave him half of his insulin. Vet told me to give him full 7 units no matter how much he eats. Makes me nervous and honestly scares the heck out of me. So I did just that tonight. We are 2.5 hours post shot and he's sleeping sound. I'm going to test him at 4hrs post shot just in case.
Yesterday 2 hours post shot his bg went from 464 to 406.
I'm so scared I'm going to kill him with too much. He has had about a whole can total in the last two feedings. Anyone else think the full 7units no matter what sounds crazy?!
 
7units is an extremely large starting dose. Go ahead and get a test now. We need to see how he's responding to the full dose. What kind of meter are you using? What are you feeding?
 
7units is an extremely large starting dose. Go ahead and get a test now. We need to see how he's responding to the full dose. What kind of meter are you using? What are you feeding?
I'm using an accu-chek aviva. He's eating 9 lives tuna with egg bits. I'm going to test now.
 
No I didn't test him before eating. Vet said it isn't a sliding scale insulin like humans are so pre shot sugar doesn't matter. ALL of the info I've read online from reputable sources say otherwise. I'm so upset... I'm shaking. He could get hypo within the next few hours... I knew I should have followed my gut.
Yes I will start a sheet and I am going to give him a snack. How much? An oz or two?
 
Yes a small amount, you don't want him to get too full now in case he needs to eat more later. Do you have any food with gravy in it?
 
You didn't get a preshot right? Just keep testing every 20 mins to see what the numbers are and keep giving him food with a little bit of honey or syrup. Just a few drops. He is still safe right now but it is early in the cycle and you will need to stay with him and keep testing at least until the middle of the cycle which is somewhere around 6 t0 7 hours after injection.

Deep breath. We will talk you through this and no more of 7 units! Way to high. Most cats are started at 1 unit and we progress in increments of .25 of a unit.
 
We'll stay with you until we know that Satan is safe. We are so glad that you found us and not to slam your vet but they just don't know that much about Feline Diabetes because to tell you the truth, they only get about 8 hours of instruction on the subject and lots of owners euthanize their animal with this diagnosis. But as you will learn it is a manageable disease and remission is even possible.
 
Yes, I agree my Vet doesn't understand it!! He said ProZinc is 1unit per pound! He wanted to start on 9 units but I said I rather start lower because I read it should be started at 1 unit! "Can't believe everything you read on the internet" was his response. I informed him it was a VET who wrote the blog! He moved on quick. Sounds like I'm going to have to switch vets. I will be with Satan for the rest of the night. Watching and testing.
 
Post your next number
Yes, I agree my Vet doesn't understand it!! He said ProZinc is 1unit per pound! He wanted to start on 9 units but I said I rather start lower because I read it should be started at 1 unit! "Can't believe everything you read on the internet" was his response. I informed him it was a VET who wrote the blog! He moved on quick. Sounds like I'm going to have to switch vets. I will be with Satan for the rest of the night. Watching and testing.
Yes, sadly you need another vet. 9 units is absurd!!!!!
 
We will be here with you. Please post your next test. It's been 30 min since the last test.
 
He said ProZinc is 1unit per pound!


FIRE YOUR VET. It starts at 0.1 unit per pound. He should be reported!!

The initial recommended ProZinc dose is 0.1 – 0.3 IU insulin/pound of body weight (0.2 – 0.7 IU/kg) every 12 hours. The dose should be given concurrently with or right after a meal.

http://www.prozinc.us/content/dam/internet/ah/prozinc/us_EN/documents/ProZinc_Product_Info.pdf


Thank goodness you came here and you have some very experienced people here to help you.
 
Get another test in 20 minutes and hopefully he will start coming up. It's tricky because you don't want to fill them up on food when you are trying to steer them up from lower numbers. Post again in 20 minutes. I will be up for another hour. I am EST time. While we are waiting can you give us some information? Has Satan ever been DKA? Where are you located? After tonight we will get you set up with a signature with all this information on it which will help us and a Spread sheet but let's get through tonight. And tomorrow AM I wouldn't shoot anything over 1 unit and we can do a restart.
 
Yes about +3.5 post shot. Will test again in about 20-25 minutes or should it be sooner since it dropped so quick?
I'll be calling the vet first thing in the morning. I'm not happy. So he should be getting at max, 0.9 units?!
 
Get another test in 20 minutes and hopefully he will start coming up. It's tricky because you don't want to fill them up on food when you are trying to steer them up from lower numbers. Post again in 20 minutes. I will be up for another hour. I am EST time. While we are waiting can you give us some information? Has Satan ever been DKA? Where are you located? After tonight we will get you set up with a signature with all this information on it which will help us and a Spread sheet but let's get through tonight. And tomorrow AM I wouldn't shoot anything over 1 unit and we can do a restart.
I'm from Waverly, Ny. Est time. What is DKA? He has IBD, chronic ear infections. 3 ear hematomas. No other health issues.
 
DKA is diabetic ketoacidosis. It's a very serious condition. We usually test our kitties for ketones using a urine test strip that you can pick up at a pharmacy.
 
I'm from Waverly, Ny. Est time. What is DKA? He has IBD, chronic ear infections. 3 ear hematomas. No other health issues.
Diabetic Ketoacidosis, if you don't know what it is he hasn't had it an that's a good thing. Just trying to get some background history.
 
Yes about +3.5 post shot. Will test again in about 20-25 minutes or should it be sooner since it dropped so quick?
I'll be calling the vet first thing in the morning. I'm not happy. So he should be getting at max, 0.9 units?!
Test in 20 since he dropped more.
 
Diabetic Ketoacidosis, if you don't know what it is he hasn't had it an that's a good thing. Just trying to get some background history.
No DKA. Haven't tested for ketones but he has wasted a lot of muscle mass I think. He's got no fat on him anymore.
 
You are doing fine. You don't want him below 50 so keeping him higher than that with little bits of food, and honey if he gets closer to 50. Testing every 20 minutes is wise.

As others have said, he will need less insulin going forward. The good news is that you are testing and keeping him safe now. We will help you move forward and getting through tonight.
 
Yes, I can stay on for a few hours. Steph, when was your last test (in terms of time since the shot: +3 is 3 hours after the shot) and what was the number?
 
I am using U-40 ProZinc syringes. Is 7 on that syringe different or is it still too much.
 
Yes, I can stay on for a few hours. Steph, when was your last test (in terms of time since the shot: +3 is 3 hours after the shot) and what was the number?
Thanks Sue. Thank goodness for different time zones. Steph you are in the best hands that the ProZinc has right now. I check in on you tomorrow. So very glad you found this forum! It truly saved Bubba's life!
 
Up is better than down. We want to 3 rising tests before you can relax. You are doing great. If you hadn't been testing, he could have hypoed and you wouldn't have know until he had some scary side effects.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20160908_213925.jpg
    IMG_20160908_213925.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 123
  • IMG_20160908_213935.jpg
    IMG_20160908_213935.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 144
It is hard to see but it measures in full units - going from 1 to 2 etc? If so, filling up to 7 should mean 7 units.
Yes. That is how it is. Can't believe he was so wrong. I gave him 3 units this morning at 530-545 am because he only ate half of his food. I'm glad he survived that OD. I slept through it. He got 7 units last night at 545 and survived that but his bs was 464 right before he ate. We are lucky he survived both shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top