Re: Just started Lantus
Hey guys!
Thanks for the replies! I believe that I have fixed the spreadsheet, please let me know if there is still an issue.
Julie- Thanks for the advice and the information! I actually knew not to shake or roll Lantus, someone had told me that before (which is opposite of Humulin). I will watch the video you suggested...I definitely dont want to contaminate it! I have been posting in the main health board on FDMB up until now and Louie is on low carb canned food.

He eats on a schedule, twice a day and when I am home, I try to give him lunch as well.
Here is some background info on Louie: He is actually my brother's cat and was diagnosed with daibetes a few years back. My brother was able to keep him healthy and happy without testing bg levels. He had some method of figuring out when he needed increases or decreases. Whatever he did, it worked. Louie was healthy, happy and a good weight.
My brother moved to Boston and could not bring Louie with him. He asked my parents if they could take him (I live in separate apt in their house with my two children) and they agreed. My dad took over his insulin but had no method of figuring out what he needed and did not keep him on a schedule.
We have an overwhelming amount of animals in the house- I have 2 dogs, my mom has a dog and my parents have 2 other cats plus another 3 that really arent ours but we have ended up caring for. A friend of mine had asked my mom if they could stay here for a little while while she found homes for them. Long story short...they never found home (If anyone in the Long Island area is looking for a cat..let me know...lol). So total, including Louie, that is 6 cats. I have switched them all to low carb canned food twice a day so that Louie (hopefully) does not get a hold of any other food which.
Anyway, back to Louie. Under my father's care, he lost a bunch of weight. I had not even realized until a friend of mine was over and picked him up. She couldn't believe how much weight he had lost. I picked him up and was also shocked. I started bugging my dad about getting him on a better schedule, but he didn't take it seriously. So, about a month ago, I took over his care. I have no money an not much time, so the beginning was very stressful. I was incredibly lucky to find this board and meet so many wonderful people, including people who have helped me to afford Louie's care. It amazes me that such wonderful people exist! There really are good people in this world!
Within the month that ive been caring for Louie, he has gained some weight, his coat has begun to shine again and his peeing (he pees everywhere when he does not feel well) has decreased a bit. However, his bg levels have not regulated well on Humulin. It was suggested by many people on here that I switch him to Lantus....so when I finally got my mom to agree to help me pay for a vet visit (all basic vet care, {shots, etc} for all animals has been done by a friend on my mom's who is a vet. She however had not done anything with his diabetes...I finally brought him to his first outside vet apt (in a long time) last week.
So...thats Louie's story!
Anyone reading this, do you agree with 1 unit twice daily to start? Should I not raise it if bg over 360? At what bg level would I lower dose? What about the days when I can't test? I will try to talk my dad into checking his bg levels...but I doubt it will happen. I will do my absolute best to get good bg readings on him throughout the day- but it can be tough. I work monday and sometimes friday, plus I am going to school full time. He gets his shots at 10:30 am and 10:30 pm (give or take 20 mins)- I do my best to be as exact as possible. Tomorrow, I will hopefully be able to get home a bit earlier then usual, maybe around 4 and will test him right away. Sat, I should be able to test throughout a decent amount of the day. Sunday is my baby son's first birthday and we are taking him to the zoo. I will test in the am and when we get back. Monday I have work, so I will not be able to test until later in the day. Tues, wed, thurs, I should be able to test on some sort of schedule. What hours after dosing do you guys recommend?
Thanks for the help,
Laura and Louie