just opened a new cart - when can I safely increase the dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheila & Beau GA & Jeddie GA

Very Active Member
old cart was open for 9 mos - wasn't sure of potency, but I just got a +3 at it was barely any movement.

Melissa - if you are around - I can totally understand your frustration over having a cat that was OTJ go back on insulin and have things go bonkers and not be able to get them back under control. How did he go OTJ in the first place if I can't get him regulated ON insulin now?
 
It's not unusual to not see any movement at +3 on Lev, especially if there have been schedule changes, coupled with the new pen. Gandalf was 307 at AMPS and +7 he's only 255. This after 3/4ths dose yesterday because of fasting for ultrasound and stress of whole ordeal.

Patience, my dear. Wait the standard 3 days before increasing unless he's really high.
 
If this were me I would be thinking something else is going on. If the new vial doesn't move him, maybe time for a vet visit? What do you think Sheila? How is he acting otherwise? Is he eating well?
 
All indications are that he is fine. He is purring, playing, grooming, peeing, pooping and eating just fine.

I have seen action from him and Beau by +3 or +4. I think I shot .25u tonight instead of .2, which isn't much of a raise (yes, Vicky, I know it's 25%). The last box of syringes I got are a nightmare with bubbles and poor markings. I never had this trouble with bubbles before. Anyway, it sure makes the micro doses hard to be sure of - and no, I don't think a micrometer would help me. I can't really see the "roof" of the inside of the barrel so I have no more accurate way of measuring with an instrument because I would still be guessing. If the zero line were right on the roof of the barrel, then I could see it, but then I wouldn't need the micrometer....

What I wouldn't give for 1/10 cc syringes - or 50% lev solution.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I think I shot .25u tonight instead of .2, which isn't much of a raise (yes, Vicky, I know it's 25%).

Glad you also passed 5th grade math :lol:

It's a constant battle with syringes. Even with the micrometer I still feel like it's not exact enough sometimes. The micro doses have to be a nightmare.

BTW, how are you dealing with Jeddie's long hair?
 
BTW, how are you dealing with Jeddie's long hair?

You mean shooting? I just tent him and shoot. His fur is shortest on his upper back, so that helps. Do you have to part G's fur? I think Gandalf has longer fur all over than Jeddie does. But J has long fur on his outside ears! And that sometimes can be a problem with testing. Even my little Ariel, who is long fur all over like G, has regular short fur on the outside of her ears.

But Jeddie is still filling out, fur-wise, so maybe it will get to be a problem. I don't know. I am just happy to see his fur getting full and long like it is meant to be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top