Just looking for some general advice...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonya

Member Since 2012
Hello,

I've been holding Thomas at 3 units for a while now and am wondering if I should try increasing to 3.25. I've been holding because he's been irregular. He'll have a good number pre shot one time then over 400 the next. For example yesterday morning he was 159 amps, then 496 pmps. This morning 85. I am trying to do a curve today to watch him. This past week he's been high, but that was becuase I was feeding him the wrong food. He also spend last weekend boarding with the vet so that always ups his sugar. Part of the problem might be that I am not taking food away that he did not eat a meal time. I'm at work all day and he may be eating this late in 12 hours and increasing his numbers. I thought initially that he was sneaking food at a neighbors, but I am not so sure of that anymore.

Oh, I did decrease his food this week. Instead of two cans of FF, I'm giving him 1 and 1/2. He's up to 13.52 pounds and needs to stop gaining weight.

So, any thoughts?

Sonya and Thomas
 
Sonya:

It looks like you are gone during the day -- I'm presuming you're at work and you've got your shot times set up as best you can. If you can't get tests in during the AM cycle, it's critical that you test at night. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (lowest number in the cycle) and not on pre-shot numbers. You've noted that Thomas' numbers went from 159 at AMPS to almost 500 by PMPS. What that's telling me is that Thomas is seeing low numbers and you're not catching them. It's very likely that this is happening overnight, as well. Please start to get PM tests because Thomas is bouncing and you have no idea how low this dose is taking him. You've caught numbers in the 50s at this dose. Until you get more tests and have some idea when Lantus onset and nadir are and how much duration you're getting, I'd be very concerned about increasing the dose. My primary concern is Thomas' safety and for that reason, I'd be apprehensive about increasing his dose without more information.

Jill put together a post that addresses your question about whether to increase the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top