Just joined, here for KooKoo

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicemorrow

Member Since 2014
I was going to email my Vet, but I came across this message board while doing some research on carbs (the never-ending research) and after reading several posts and a lot of advice on here, decided that maybe I would see what you all recommend before I email the Dr. So, here is a short run-down.
My 15 yr old cat is newly diagnosed (beginning of October) with diabetes as well as pancreatitis and stage 4 kidney disease, so it has been a hard time for all of us. His diabetes is moderate and I am hoping that with proper feeding, I can get him off of his one unit of insulin soon. When the Dr got his blood work back, she had him at the clinic with her and called me with the results, telling me that basically it would cost about $3,000 just for the Hospital stay for the next few days to begin a full treatment, or we could do a minimal treatment at about $1,000 for the next few days. This didn't include other follow-ups or meds, just the Hospital stay and meds while there, to get him up to par. I also have three kids (one in college & two younger) and a dog who has a tumor on her hip that we found out is Cancerous this past summer, so I have spent a fortune on Vet Bills this year that I did not have to begin with...So my Vet said that in my situation, that the best thing to do, would be to put him down. I called and spoke with a friend who works at a Vet and she agreed. I called the Dr back and told asked if my girls and I could come pick him up for the weekend to say our goodbyes and if she could send me something home to manage his pain for the weekend, in which she agreed. When I got there that evening to pick him up, she had told me that when she hung up he phone, she decided to give him a steroid shot and see how he reacted. She had put him on fluids that day for free to manage his dehydration, and she send me home with insulin that was donated to the clinic, along with steroids and pain meds to get me through Monday telling me that she was hopeful and instead of setting up an appt to have him put down, she set up a time to call me to check in on him. He was back to his old self! I eventually had to raise his insulin to twice a day, once I bought my home testing kit (Acutrak 2). We have lowered his steroid to half a pill every other day now and he is back on his pain meds twice a day (I took him off for a while and found that he was hiding under the bed again, then read that they need those to help with the pancreatitis) and he is still getting his Vetsalin (1 unit) twice a day.

I have purchased Young Again dry food for him, but have not started him on it, as I was planning to Thursday, while on Thanksgiving break, since I will be home for four days so that I can monitor him closely. I was wondering if I should cut back his insulin to just once a day as I introduce the new food? Right now, I feed him wet foods twice a day (morning and night), giving him a tablespoon before I give him his insulin, then giving him the rest of the can actually while injecting him, then I leave it out for him to finish then or later, as I am usually headed to bed or downstairs to work. I also leave out his dry food (Purina One Urinary PH Health) all of the time for him since I am gone sometimes 12 hours at a time and do not want him to be without food, since he has always had this food available to him, which is why I bought him the Young Again and am anxious to make it available to him. The wet food that I buy for him is Fancy Feast Classics and I try to only give him the fish options once a week.

My next question is about insulin. He does the Vetsulin. I bought it on 10/13 from my Vet and I read on the instruction inside of it (I believe) that it is only good for 46 or 48 days. I am sure that I am close to that time, so is insulin like some of the other things that actually keep after the date, or do I need to get more? I've barely used any of it as we only use one unit. But, I am almost out of the Vetsulin U-40 syringes that I bought at the Vet as well, so I need to get more Syringes anyways.

My cats readings have been on the lower end lately. She had him on 2 units, twice a day until I got my alphaTrak, and the first night that I did a reading +2.5 it was 53, so we dropped him to 1 unit, twice a day. He has gone as high as 562 preshot, but for the most part, his numbers are in the 200's and 300's.....400's occasionally.

Thank you in advance...sorry, am so tired! I got on here 5 hours ago to email the Vet and got busy reading and now have to be up in 3 hours. :)
Alice
 
Hi and welcome aboard!! We are glad to have you here. You will find tons of experience and advise!!
I have had a kitty with diabetes for 3 years however I use Prozinc and don't know anything about the insulin you are using but I just wanted to let you know that you have found the right place for you and your kitty to be!!
 
Thank you Terriy! :)

I did also find a link to Linda's shopping list or something like that and wrote down those specific Fancy Feast labels since I am needing to pick up more food today. ;) Just thought I would drop by right quick while I was impatiently waiting for him to eat his tablespoon worth of food. His preshot level is 361 this morning. Well, time to go stir what's left of his tablespoon and add some juice to it before I spoon feed him! (anything to get it down so I can go back to bed) lol
 
First, don't be rash with the euthanasia. There is always hope.

One thing you need to do is to get KooKoo off dry food. There is a comprehensive list of foods at catinfo.org. Most of us here use Little Friskies Classic Pate or Fancy Feast Classic. The problem is that dry food contains too high a carb value. Carbs are not good for diabetes. You said that KooKoo is also Stage 4 renal disease (as is my cat Squeaker) so water depleted food is also not good for cats with renal problems. Being in renal failure your cat not only needs a wet food for the water content but you also need to be mindful of the phosphorus content of the food. I would advise you to read the information about renal disease at this website; they also have a comprehensive food list and you can cross reference between the lists.

http://www.felinecrf.org/index.htm

This link is for the Vetsulin group here at the board so they can answer your questions about the specific type of insulin you are using.
viewforum.php?f=19

As for the pancreatitis---would you know what the fPLI result was. My cat has had 3 bouts of pancreatitis and made it through them. The worst bout was the first one as it coincided with the onset of other health issues. The second was in May of this year when his level hit 36. Both of those times he was on insulin to help the pancreas heal and both of those times, with a diet change to all wet low carb food, he was only on insulin for 6 weeks then went into remission (we used Lantus insulin).

Given that KooKoo is on steroids and has pancreatitis his BG will be high. Steroids do increase glucose levels and given that the pancreas is not doing it's job right now by producing insulin that too will keep the glucose high. Once kitty comes off the steroids and there is a decrease in the severity of the pancreatitis, and making the switch to low carb wet food, the glucose levels should start to come under control. One thing however, you should be testing for ketones at this point. You can buy test strips at Walmart to test for ketones in the urine and they are inexpensive. You will find them in the diabetic supply section.

None of the health issues are an immediate death sentence. With management you can increase KooKoo's quality of life.

Again, let me urge you to utilize the forum for your type of insulin and extra emphasis on the link for the kidney disease. I also want to encourage you to join the yahoo group for Chronic Renal Failure in Cats. It is as important that you begin to deal with that as dealing with the diabetes.

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Fel ... pport/info

Don't hesitate to ask questions and voice any concerns you have. We are here to help you.

Anita and Squeaker
 
This link is for the Vetsulin group here at the board so they can answer your questions about the specific type of insulin you are using.
viewforum.php?f=19

The Vetsulin insulin is not active as very few people here use Vetsulin. It is better to continue to post here on Health. There is a protocol there for Vetsulin that is quite old but has some good info in it:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=302

You've been given some great advice about food. We support strongly a change to wet low carb food if at all possible. It is fantastic that you are testing at home. Especially with Vetsulin, which can cause harsh and fast onsets, keeping on top of the numbers is wise. If you have time this holiday or during the weekend, it would be a good idea to get some numbers so you have a good idea of how the insulin impacts him: A test before the shot, then a test 2-3 hours which may tell you if he drops fast after the shot or has a milder reaction, a test 5-7 hours after the shot so you can see if it lasts that long and when he starts back up. Some cats do okay with Vetsulin and have a cycle in the 10-12 hour range and not such big drops; maybe KooKoo will be one of the lucky ones.

With Vetsulin, it would be wise to leave him some food so if he drops low, he can eat and bring himself back up. Wet food can be left out for a cycle. Some people freeze the wet food and the cat can graze while it thaws. Other just leave it out; it may get a little crusty but won't go bad.

Continue to ask questions and read. There is great information available here.
 
Thank you both for the replies. I read this while getting shoes on to run out the door, so wanted to post right quick. I am going to try to pick up some test strips, never heard of testing his urine, but sounds like a place to start! As for the food that I have bought to change him over to, it's a dry food that I can leave out for him in case he is hungry throughout the day when nobody is home, but it is a zero carb food. It ranks up there with EVO and is recommended on catinfo.org to be used while transitioning over. According to the Young Again website, if you switch to only their food, you can get your cat off of insulin within 5 weeks, but I do not want to switch him only to that food, just to be able to take away his high carb Purina kibble and replace with this. I do already feed him the Fancy Feast Classics as his main meals, twice a day and leave the extra out for him to finish whenever he wants to, if he does not eat it all. My goal is to get him off of the insulin by the end of January, as I will be going out of town and my mom will be coming to watch the kids and has already said that my daughter will have to care for the cat while I am gone. We are in the process now, of weening him off of his steroids, as to the half a steroid every other day approach. I have noticed his numbers going down as we have started the every other day on that.

I have done 12 hour curves on him with the Vetsulin, but it has been a couple of weeks. If it is time for me to get new insulin, should I get a different kind or stick with this one?
 
With the Stage 4 renal disease, you want to keep the phosphorus down. The Friskies Special Diet Pates do that and are low carb.

See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for additional health assessments you can make.
 
Can you share your numbers from your most recent curve? Milder, longer lasting insulins certainly are usually easier to regulate with, but some cats respond okay to Vetsulin. I'd say, if he has a 10-12 hour cycle and has a decent nadir 5-7 hours after the shot, you may be able to work with Vetsulin. If he drops fast, reaches his lowest point early on and the insulin is gone about +8, you probably have two choices: switch insulin or consider giving him insulin three times a day.
 
Thank you BJM, I will look into those.

Sue and Oliver, I just got these out of an email that I had sent to my vet on a curve that I did back on 11/06 since I am in the car at my daughters school and do not have my book with me.

I do my curves at night because I work nights from home.
9:32pm 451 he ate good, gave him injection at 10:05pm
11:08pm 343
12:20am 152
2:35am 117
3:45am 142
6:40am 467
8:55am 539 he ate good, gave him injection at 9:19am
10:35am 352
 
Well, based on that one curve (which may or may not be representative and is something to explore more) he dropped pretty fast (more than 50% 2 hours after the shot), his lowest point was 4 hours after the shot and the insulin doesn't seem to be working any more 8-9 hours after the shot. In contrast, generally, the milder longer lasting insulins like Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc give a shallower curve, dropping down more slowly and then going back up slower.

The curve looks like most Vetsulin curves, dropping too fast and not lasting long enough. This makes it hard to work with because adding more insulin usually means a bigger, deeper drop and then a bounce back up to a higher number. It can be likened to a roller coaster, careening from high numbers to lower ones.

Do you know if your vet prescribes other insulins? Would you be open to trying another insulin? If you are testing, it is not that you can't keep him safe on Vetsulin. And there are things to try, like making sure he gets food in that first 2 hour window to slow the drop. But even an increase in dose is unlikely to make the cycle longer. That's why some Vetsulin users dose every 8 hours, but for most people, that time commitment is really tough.
 
alicemorrow said:
...
I do my curves at night because I work nights from home.
9:32pm 451 he ate good, gave him injection at 10:05pm
11:08pm 343
12:20am 152
2:35am 117
3:45am 142
6:40am 467
8:55am 539 he ate good, gave him injection at 9:19am
10:35am 352
and I

Caninsulin/Vetsulin frequently wears off by about +10 hours in cats ; if you can snag a test around + 9 or so, then again about +10, you may be able to show the jump and get the vet to prescribe something that is more likely to last 12 hours.
 
I do not know for sure if she does prescribe other insulins, but I am going to call and ask the girls that answer the phone right quick and see if they have an answer for me. I can not commit to more frequent do to kids activities, twice a day is the best I can do & if I can get him to do better and back to once a day like in the beginning, that would be best. I do not know what she had him on at the beginning when it was donated to him from a customer who had lost their cat, I will look when I get home and see if I have that info.

I called and was told that there are other insulins that can be used and that she is not sure exactly why the Dr has him on that particular one, but she could put in a note to her or I could email her since she knows that we email back and forth often. So I told her that I would just email her tonight.

I do not think personally that switching his insulin is out of the question. I want something that will work best for him and I both. What should I ask her for and do I have to buy her from her and the syringes? How does it all work? I am just about out of my U-40 syringes at home now.

Thank you for answering my questions.
 
When you can - maybe a weekend - getting those numbers will be helpful in determing if you want to switch. Because you've got a busy schedule with kids, you're likely to find that a non-depot insulin such as ProZinc or BCP PZI is more forgiving and over time, may let you develop a sliding scale so you can adjust the dose if needed to accommodate needing to shoot early or later. That flexibility is why I'm using Prozinc with Gracie.

Lantus and Levemir work best on a fairly strict 12 hour schedule, which may or may not work with everything else on your plate. There is a Start Low, Go Slow protocol that you can use with those.
Both are also rather pricey if you're in the USA.
 
I use the Young Again food when I have to use dry food. When I am at home I use Fancy Feast Classic turkey and Chicken. When I go on vacation I have to have dry food for the kitty sitter and thats when I pull out the Young Again. It is a great emergency dry food for a diabetic kitty. I also buy organic chicken when its on sale and use the chicken for treats and the chicken juice for adding to the Fancy Feast in order to get more water down her. It also works great for using when I have to mix medicine in with her food.

As far as insulin goes I use ProZinc. It also takes the U-40 syringes. I like it a lot and my kitty does very well on it. It is a very forgiving insulin and allows me to shoot a little late if need be. Others on this board can tell you much more about it and about the other insulin's that work well. If you need anymore syringes I suggest that you go to http://www.adwdiabetes.com website to purchase. I was paying my vet $35 a pop for a box of 100 and I can get the same thing from them for $18.00 total price!! Thats with shipping included!!

I hope that some of this information helps. It does seem like a lot a first but after you get set up, treating a kitty with diabetes is not hard at all. If you like to read and have time in your busy schedule I suggest that you read a book called SugarBabies. I downloaded it to my Kindle Fire for $6 and that was the best $6 investment I ever made. Not only did I learn a lot but I also can refer back to it whenever I need a refresher course!!

Have a great night!!
Terriy & Chicken Little
 
We got home late tonight, so he got his injection a little late, so I will plan to check him at 8am (+9) and again at 9am (+10), which will be when I begin feeding him for his morning injection and then report back.

I have exactly enough syringes to get me through Monday evening.

Also, I just went to look at the two syringes still loaded with 1 unit that I have sitting in the fridge to see what it is. This is Lantus (glargine) from 10/09, the free loaded syringes she sent me home with that very first weekend. I thought I was out when she sent me home with the Vetsulin that I purchased and started him on that without finishing these last two. He started out doing the Lantus 1 unit, once a day for the first weekend.

After I started him on the Vensulin, she had me bring him up there to check his numbers and they were in the 400's (pre shot) so she had me up him to 2 units twice a day. I ordered my AlphaTRAK 2 that day!! The 2 units stopped the second day I had my Alpha TRAK, when his levels dropped to 53 at +2 (he was 288 pre shot) and I gave him cat treats and checked him again in 20 minutes to make sure he was going up, then watched him and continued to check him the rest of the night.
 
Glad you caught that low number!!! Sometimes the vets are a bit gung ho when it comes to prescribing insulin!
 
His reading was 411 at 10:08pm last night, and his shot was at 10:55pm.
8:02am (+9) 342
8:56am (+10) 388
His morning insulin was at 9:30am.

I just got home and checked his bg before feeding for his insulin and his reading was 191 at 9:42pm.
Do I skip his insulin?

He did not finish his can of food that I left out from this morning either, the bowl still has food in it. Also, my daughter put the lid on his high carb kibble last night because he was trying to eat it right before it was time for me to feed him and I didn't take it off today, plus I picked up the dog food today, so he had no access to high carb food all day....just as a few facts that might have a factor in it.
 
With Vetsulin, you want him to eat before giving him a shot. His numbers are probably low because he hasn't eaten. I'd try to eat him to eat. If he eats something and his numbers rise above 200, you might give him a reduced dose. You do need to be sure his numbers are rising, not falling.
 
Could you please add some details to your signature? It'll help us give you better feedback.

To edit your signature:

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.

Add any other text, such as
your name, cat's name,
city, state,country
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like food issues, allergies, IBD,

etc.
Then Click on Submit to save it.
 
Ok, I got him to eat his tablespoon that I normally feed him before I give him his shot (FF Classic Beef Feast) and now 10:40pm he is at 213.

Sorry, haven't had a chance to set up my sig.....I haven't had a chance to even sleep more then 2 hours at a time this week. I'm exhausted! I will work on it.
 
Its probably OK to give the shot.

When you have test data that shows a particular dose can take him down near 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer from a given starting point, and you have a pre-shot test like that, you'll know that if you don't want to stay up all night monitoring for a hypo that you'll want to adjust the dose down so he's safe and you can sleep.
 
Oh, I forgot to put my meter in my Sig, will edit that. It's the Animal one, AlphaTRAK 2. He stayed up in my daughters bed when I took him up to test since we are shampooing the carpet down here (dog blood from her chewing her tumor open again when we took the cone off for too long...ugh), so I will go up and test him again since it's been an hour, then feed him more and inject if his numbers are still rising! I'll be up a while since I still haven't got to log in to work and will set my alarm to check him if necessary, as well as make sure his high carb kibble is out for him!!

Thank you all!! Happy Thanksgiving!! :)
I already stocked up on him some FF Turkey & Giblets, as well as bought extra cans for my son and his gf to take home for their two furballs!! :razz:
I am also sending them home with all of the cans of FF that include "tuna" since I read that it is bad for my KooKoo's other condition!! They are going to think it's Christmas!! hehe
 
I skipped his shot. At 1:15am, he was back under 200 (198). 24 hours with none of his high carb kibble and this is his night to skip his half a steroid dose too. Thursday I was going to take his high carb Purina kibble away and replace it with the Young Again Zero Carb kibble anyways and was wondering if I would be able to drop his insulin to once a day then, so maybe this is a good insight to what that high carb Purina was doing, even though he was eating a very small amount?
 
Good call on skipping - safety first!

No insulin lasts 24 hours and with the need for steroids, it becomes more difficult to go to a diet controlled state. it is possible; you'll just need to wait and see. It may be that on steroid days, he'll always need a little insulin.

If he's eating canned successfully, you might stop the dry food completely. It can result in a cat that is borderline dehydrated due to the lack of thirst drive and this may strain the kidneys, causing them damage over time. See Cat Info for more info on this. We generally suggest switching food about 20-25% different each day, gradually, to avoid food refusal, vomiting, and diarrhea. Some cats have very sensitive stomachs. I know the Young Again says to feed it exclusively; I like avoiding cleanups! And it may seem like a small amount to you, but dry food is calorie dense.

Changing from high carb food to low carb food may drop the glucose 100 mg/dL and the insulin as much as 2 units. Each cat is different, though. You need to be checking the glucose when you do this so you don't wind up with a cat in hypoglycemia (too low glucose), which can kill.
 
Yes, I did read on the Young Again where they recommend a diet of only their foods, but I refuse to do that. I would only leave it out during the day while I was not home in case he was hungry. Up until 10/08, he was strictly a kibble eater, which is why I have still offered him the kibble while I am away. He is up and eating now, and had his pain meds a little while ago. His bg was a little lower then when I went to bed a couple of hours ago and I am planning to go back to bed for a little longer, so will probably check him before that, but skip his insulin until tonight, which is when he gets his steroid. Thoughts?
Here is his numbers again:
11/26:
8:02am--342 (+9)
8:56am--388 (+10) fed, then gave 1 unit Vetsulin at 9:30am
9:42pm--191
10:40pm-213
1:15am--198
4:51am--234
7:25am--261
10:36am-253
 
Those are very nice numbers. As I suggested, some may be because of the low carb food and some may be because he is eating less. I'd suggest being careful with the insulin, maybe shooting a half dose if he is over 200 and then watching to see how low he goes and how long it lasts. It is also possible that his pancreas is helping out.

It is true that usually two doses daily are best, but if this pattern continues, even as you lower the dose, I'd think chasing the numbers might be a good idea. (Many ProZinc beans going off insulin use this technique - watching the numbers until the kitty is over 200 -even if it is over 12 hours - and then giving tiny doses.)

If he starts eating regularly andhis levels jump up, then we will need a new plan. :-D
 
Check my signature link Glucometer Notes for reference range targets using various meter types and units.

I think he needs insulin twice a day so that he is in better numbers for longer periods.
 
11/26:
8:02am--342 (+9)
8:56am--388 (+10) fed, then gave 1 unit Vetsulin at 9:30am
9:42pm--191
10:40pm-213
11/27:
1:15am--198
4:51am--234
7:25am--261
10:36am-253
He ate a tablespoon of ff, then I checked him again:
11:34am-234

I am about to take him the rest of the bowl upstairs, freshen up both of his water bowls up there (he & the dog share an electric water bowl down stairs so it's always fresh) and then lay down for a few hours, then will check him again.
 
So the food seems to be bringing him down, not up, or at least keeping him flat. That might be an indictation that his pancreas is helping out. Is today a day you can monitor him? What would you think about giving him a small dose, now that he seems pretty solidly in the 200s+? Maybe pull up .25 or even .25 and letting out a tiny bit before dosing? If it is a time when you can monitor (testing carefully especially a hour and 2 hours after the shot and then in that 4-7 time frame) maybe you can see what a tiny bit of insulin will do? We would like him to be below the renal threshold the majority of the time (which we think is about 250) so his pancreas can heal.

Only do this if you feel comfortable doing so. Your gut is always a good indicator.
 
I am not comfortable doing that, as once I get up, I will be starting Thanksgiving dinner, then will have a house full and decorating the tree with the kids, etc...Worried I can not manage watching him and all of the food, especially when all of my timers and alarms will be set for dinner foods. It will be a chaotic afternoon/evening around here for me.
 
Hi Alice, hope everything went ok for you yesterday. I noticed you're in Omaha also and wanted to let you know that if you end up switching KooKoo to a new, 12hr insulin, and decide on ProZinc, I have a new unused bottle of ProZinc that I can give you. I freaked out when Cootie's vet went on maternity leave & insisted on buying another bottle--in the meantime Cootie has gone OTJ! lol
 
Oh perfect, thank you!!

He had a shot of insulin two nights ago, just under one unit and gave me such a scare....He slept through me taking one of his readings, which said 135, then I couldn't wake him as I had his head in my head and his head just fell to the couch. I ran to the kitchen for the Karo and a baby spoon while my hubby (who does not care for the cat at all) jumped up and ran over and was able to wake him. Needless to say, he got some treats immediately and hasn't had a shot since, but his numbers have been low enough not to need them! Tonight he had 120! Maybe he got better for me knowing my daughter was getting sick (and I'm probably next) as she & I spent the morning in Children's hospital after she threw up here all night. The Dr in emergency asked if we were ready to go and my 7 yr old informed him that we needed to get home because it was time for Mommy to take care of the sick kitty! <3
So, between the sick kiddo and trying to get the Christmas decorations out, I've been non-stop. Just wanted to drop by and give a quick update. He seems to be his normal friendly self too, enjoying the jingle bell collar I put around his neck even! :)
 
Oh my goodness!! What a tough week you have had.I do hope that things settle down for you soon.
Kitty's can go into remission when their diet is changed from high carb dry food to wet low carb food. Maybe the food has done the trick and he is off the juice?? Keep taking his BG on a regular basis for a while and see if that is the case.
Have a wonderful day!! ~O)
 
Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Nancy & Cootie, I tried to PM you, but it says that it is in my "outbox", so not sure that it actually sent to you? Please let me know if you did get it. Or you can email me, alicecraigslist@yahoo.com

BJM, I will try to get that started this weekend. I have had such a busy week. No sleep (2-3 hours a day, if that) and for me to try to find time to fit anything else into my schedule, would cut more into the little sleep I am getting. :(

I am not sure if KooKoo is not enjoying the food selection I have been giving him, or if he is experiencing side effects of upset stomach/nausea from the pain meds or pancreatitis, but he barely touched his food yesterday. This morning I fed him ff shrimp and salmon and he grubbed tho! Have any of you ever read/heard that you are only supposed to feed them fish once a week or know if this is true? I'm trying to stick to (I think it's called) Dr Laura's shopping list (minus the tuna for his kidney disease) and without the fish options, there are very few he is liking these days!! :( I am waiting for the Dr to email me back to see if I can stop by to pick up some nausea meds for him to see if that helps.
 
Thank you again Nancy! It was great meeting you and talking with you!! :) I found that food list and am going to look at it now.

I am hopefully going to have time to try to get my spreadsheet going this weekend and get stuff organized with it.
 
Hi Alice, glad I had the chance to meet you as well! Hope things are calming down for you a little . . . Good luck with the spreadsheet, etc. I think you'll find it very valuable in tracking KooKoo's BG levels and adjusting his dose as needed. If you post any questions you have there are several experienced ProZinc users here that can give you excellent support! (Myself not included as I'm also a newbie & kind of lucked into Cootie's OTJ status, lol)
Take care, Nancy
 
Alice, if you are struggling with the spreadsheet, send me a private message and I can get it up for you. (Choose the PM button on the left hand side of this post)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top