Just had blood chase needle out of injection site

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ben and Oreo

Member Since 2022
Just gave my cat Oreo 1.5 units of Lantus but when I pulled the needle out there was a couple blood drops that came out. Have any of you guys seen this happen. I just upped her from 1.25 to the 1.5 this morning because her nadirs were around 250 and pre shots around 300 she was 227 before feeding and the shot. Do I need to be really concerned about an “instant” onset and a bad hypo?
 
Yes. You probably hit a capillary. Nothing to worry about.

Welcome to the FDMB. Please post an intro on the main/ health forum and they will set you up with a spreadsheet and signature.
 
Thank you so much I was freaking out a bit because she’s been on insulin since early last month and I haven’t had this happen yet. Although I am going to keep a close eye on her tonight and I test before bed (around +3 to +4.5).
 
Will do I just joined a few minutes ago, but have been reading on here from day one to try and figure things out she’s been on the freestyle libre until last week and I really only got the hang of ear poking yesterday.
 
Thanks Wendy, I found the freestyle lite to be great for her due to its tiny blood sample requirement and the abilities to add blood up to a minute after the first drop. It really helped our success rate.
 
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-for-oreo-and-me.263801/

Hi Ben I see on your intro post you said Oreo had a few bouts of pancreatitis, I would add that to your signature also, she's a pretty kitty.
If you would like someone to set up our spreadsheet for you just ask and I will tag her ,we track our kitties to see how the insulin is working for them and how low they are dropping so we know whether to increase or decrease the dose, in case you need advice the members will look at your spreadsheet
I'll give you the link to the spreadsheet anyway :cat:
This will also explain how the spreadsheet works
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Last edited:
Hey Diane I added pancreatitis to the signature, thank you for the template I plan on starting her spreadsheet either tomorrow night or Saturday morning. Weekdays are tough because it feels like I spent more time poking her than petting her so I try to spend as much time with her as I can to offset it. Setting my computer up is gonna be a bit of a process. I haven’t used it for about 3 months haha. And thank you she gets a lot of compliments when we go to the vet, they also lover her because although shes really squirmy she’s not aggressive and really loving to everyone.
 
Hi Ben thanks for adding that, no problem whenever you get it set up is fine.
Oreo's on a very good insulin by the way.
How old is she
You have really found a good forum, everyone here is so helpful and we have a lot of experienced members here.
If it wasn't for them Tyler wouldn't be in remission today
He's been in remission since 1-24-21
It's great you are home testing and feeding low carb wet food
Just keep asking questions .
Do you have an automatic feeder for her while you're at work
You can set it up for certain times to open so she can eat
Good talking to you and I'll check up on you and Oreo :cat:
I see you are following TR
To follow TR you need to test at least both preshots and once during all the cycles for TR.
If you don't work weekends it would be great if you can get as many tests as possible
Scatter the times around
 
Last edited:
wow Ben, Oreo is spectacular! We're gonna need more pictures of that kitty, STAT!

not that gender matters but this forum is overwhelmingly female caregivers, can't say I'm sorry to see you, John, and others join lately. CatDads Unite!

Welcome to the club, this place is like a life preserver thrown to a drowning person, I cannot understate it. Strangers devoting their time, energy and more just to help other people and their diabetic kittahs. Gives me hope for humanity I tells ya what!

I'm pretty new here, just joined around 6 months ago, so not one of these super-knowledgeable experts just another guy with a diabetic fur-buddy. I'll see you around the forum.









P.S.

PICS!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top