ajsandbe said:
...Should I get a meter before I start the insulin to make sure he is at the correct level?
Absolutely. A WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro or Prime will be inexpensive, the test strips will be inexpensive, and any will work just fine. If you're not a fan of WalMart, pop over to American Diabetes Wholesale and get the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini as it is the same as the Confirm, just not branded.
Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.
[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
How to use the glucose reference values chart:
When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.
Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.
Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.
Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)