Just diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and Marky Mark

Member Since 2017
Hello!

Mark is 12 years old and was diagnosed on July 8th. We took him in after noticing large amounts of urine and he had developed a tremor in his front paws.

His bg when diagnosed was 414. We immediately removed dry food from his diet and started him on high protein/low carb wet food. The vet started him on 2 units of Lantus twice a day a few days later. We did our first bg test (using AlphaTrak 2) at the vet last week. His bg was 235 and that was 10 hrs after his last insulin shot.

We are doing our first curve today. Before being fed and getting his insulin, his bg was 163 (12 hours after last insulin shot).

We have another kitty with a chronic illness (Sylvia is 16.5 years old and has IBD, diagnosed 2.5 years ago). I've been doing a lot of research to find wet food that both cats can eat because segregating the cats and making sure they eat is really difficult and stressful on both of them (and me!).

Last week, we suddenly lost our Emmy to kidney cancer. We noticed she was sick on Sunday and she was gone on Wednesday. We are reeling from the recent diagnosis and losing the 'healthy' kitty so suddenly. I am so grateful to have found this forum for info and support.
 
Bless you! I'm so sorry for your recent loss. :bighug:

Welcome to the best place in the world for some information and support.

The best place for any queries or questions is the main forums.

I'm sure someone will be along soon to advise you on setting up your spreadsheet and signature (sorry I'm not very good at tech)
It's helpful to have some info in your signature like date of diagnosis, what insulin you are using, food brands etc etc that way you won't have to keep repeating yourself.

:bighug:
 
Welcome Mark, Sylvia, and their parents!
Very sorry for losing a fur baby, May fond memories of Emmy, warm your heart always :bighug:cat_wings>o
We'd love to help you out with Mark and Sylvia though! Come on over to Main Health forum and post some questions :)
 
wow that bg preshot came down a lot already. I'd be vigilant about testing... you may need to reduce that dose. (typical starting dose is 1unit) Be sure to read up on how to treat hypos in case he dips too low. welcome to the fdmb.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top