Welcome to FDMB
I know exactly how you feel! We all have had thoughts of being a bad mom, but Feline diabetes has caught all of us unexpectedly, Corky also began with the excessive water drinking, I thought it was another habit, our cats entering diabetes, always act normal, until it catches us by surprise, It is important you know that feline diabetes IS manageable, here we can assist you in dosing, curving, any other issues your cat was diagnosed with diet or any other concerns you may have, the best insulin for a diabetic cat are ProZinc and Lantus, you can do a curve in your own home without stressing your cat or spending, by home testing at home, doing a curve is only testing the BG every 2 hours for a cycle, (12hours).
It is very important to home test, especially before each insulin shot to avoid hypoglycemia, most important protocols for a diabetic cat are: home testing, a diet of Wet can food between 0-10% and lots of cuddles, you are in the right place, make sure your Vet is knowledgeable in Feline Diabetes, it is very important. Ask your vet, you are in control, you know your cat better than the vet does, do not be afraid to ask questions, and do not get sold on "prescribed food" these food have between 20-35% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, if you are in US most of the members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates, and with home testing we mostly use the ReliOn Premier Monitor and strips, you can purchase it at Walmart, very inexpensive and accurate, there are many sticky notes in the Main menu with valuable information, please continue to post your concerns, we are here to help you get your cat regulated there are amazing members that dedicate their knowledge to save our cats lives, they saved mine, you are not alone, let us know where you live. and if you have been prescribed insulin already what is the name and the dosage, the more we know about your cat the better we can help you

