Arkali
Member Since 2018
Hi, everyone!
I'm so glad this forum is here. Gypsy is about 12 or 13 years old. We found her at a dump when she was a kitten years ago, and I'm not 100% what her age is. She was a kitten when we brought her home, but I didn't really track that date
Anyway, she was diagnosed Monday with diabetes. Her blood sugar was 700+ (vets glucometer tops out at 700). She spent three days at the vet's and came home Wednesday evening. She seems to being doing fairly well. I'm just trying to get up to speed with everything and also trying not to kick myself for not seeing the signs sooner. She had wobbly back legs (I assumed it was arthritis), and she was drinking / peeing a lot, but assumed that was from the occasional steroid shot she got to help with the "arthritis."
My cats were also all on dry food--I thought it was healthier. They ate a good-quality food (Natural Balance), and I just though I was doing right by them, you know? I was horrified to learn that I basically caused my cat to get diabetes and the others have probably been chronically dehydrated :-(
I've been reading as much as I can and have a couple of questions. Quick update:
1) Two cats are off of dry food--Gypsy and Buddy. Our third cat, Emmy, has been difficult (she's addicted her corn chips!), but she ate tonight after I seeded her bowl with a handful of kibble. After she got a couple of bites in her, she chowed down. No idea if she'll eat again tomorrow, but I'll take it. The food I switched them to is Fancy Feast Classic Pates, the lower-carb, higher protein, non-fish flavors.
2) I am testing Gypsy four times daily. Before meals, giving her a shot of insulin as needed (if over 400 BG, 2 units Lantus, between 250 and 400, 1 unit, under 250, no Lantus). It's still taking a lot of pricks as I get the hang of things, but I finally found her sweet spot, which for her is pretty much at the tip of her ear. She's being a saint though--I still have all my fingers
3) She came home Wednesday night and had had a shot at the vet's, so the new protocol started Thursday morning. The vet suggested Royal Canin Glycobalance. We're not doing that for (a) the cost, (b) not low enough carb.
4) Her blood sugar is all over the place. This morning it was 197, so no Lantus. I didn't get to check it after breakfast--we had painters out here and all the cats disappeared for the day. Before dinner it was 414, I think (log sheet is in the other room--sorry!), so I gave her the 2 units of Lantus then put down the cats' dinner for the night. After meal (about an hour later), her BG was in the low 300s.
So, my big question--is it normal for it to be bouncing around like that at first?
Follow-up concerns: She's poor as a snake right now. She drastically lost weight the past few weeks. I chalked it up to aging :-( She's also got (has had for years now) really flaky skin. I don't know if that's diabetes related or just her. She seems to be feeling lots better--I could tell over the weekend before we took her to the vet that she felt miserable. But I'm still worried she's going to die on us. Which I know is going to happen eventually--we all die
--but I'm hoping it's not her time yet. And I'm trying really hard not to freak her out and not to freak my husband out, but I'M freaking out.
Thanks to everyone who read all this. I'm a bit of a mess right now. Thank you again!
I'm so glad this forum is here. Gypsy is about 12 or 13 years old. We found her at a dump when she was a kitten years ago, and I'm not 100% what her age is. She was a kitten when we brought her home, but I didn't really track that date
Anyway, she was diagnosed Monday with diabetes. Her blood sugar was 700+ (vets glucometer tops out at 700). She spent three days at the vet's and came home Wednesday evening. She seems to being doing fairly well. I'm just trying to get up to speed with everything and also trying not to kick myself for not seeing the signs sooner. She had wobbly back legs (I assumed it was arthritis), and she was drinking / peeing a lot, but assumed that was from the occasional steroid shot she got to help with the "arthritis."
My cats were also all on dry food--I thought it was healthier. They ate a good-quality food (Natural Balance), and I just though I was doing right by them, you know? I was horrified to learn that I basically caused my cat to get diabetes and the others have probably been chronically dehydrated :-(
I've been reading as much as I can and have a couple of questions. Quick update:
1) Two cats are off of dry food--Gypsy and Buddy. Our third cat, Emmy, has been difficult (she's addicted her corn chips!), but she ate tonight after I seeded her bowl with a handful of kibble. After she got a couple of bites in her, she chowed down. No idea if she'll eat again tomorrow, but I'll take it. The food I switched them to is Fancy Feast Classic Pates, the lower-carb, higher protein, non-fish flavors.
2) I am testing Gypsy four times daily. Before meals, giving her a shot of insulin as needed (if over 400 BG, 2 units Lantus, between 250 and 400, 1 unit, under 250, no Lantus). It's still taking a lot of pricks as I get the hang of things, but I finally found her sweet spot, which for her is pretty much at the tip of her ear. She's being a saint though--I still have all my fingers
3) She came home Wednesday night and had had a shot at the vet's, so the new protocol started Thursday morning. The vet suggested Royal Canin Glycobalance. We're not doing that for (a) the cost, (b) not low enough carb.
4) Her blood sugar is all over the place. This morning it was 197, so no Lantus. I didn't get to check it after breakfast--we had painters out here and all the cats disappeared for the day. Before dinner it was 414, I think (log sheet is in the other room--sorry!), so I gave her the 2 units of Lantus then put down the cats' dinner for the night. After meal (about an hour later), her BG was in the low 300s.
So, my big question--is it normal for it to be bouncing around like that at first?
Follow-up concerns: She's poor as a snake right now. She drastically lost weight the past few weeks. I chalked it up to aging :-( She's also got (has had for years now) really flaky skin. I don't know if that's diabetes related or just her. She seems to be feeling lots better--I could tell over the weekend before we took her to the vet that she felt miserable. But I'm still worried she's going to die on us. Which I know is going to happen eventually--we all die
Thanks to everyone who read all this. I'm a bit of a mess right now. Thank you again!
