just adopted 10 yr old diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

peachbird79

Member Since 2012
I just adopted a diabetic cat off craigslist she was going to be put down by the city pound if the owner had to take her there and the owner had to get rid of her so I couldn't let that happen Im just curious on what to expect Ive been reserching all over the internet she is on prozinc at this time twice a day Im not rich but she already has a supply Id like to know what is the best food for her is it possible to get her off insulin over time where is the cheapest insulin and any other helpful tips can I use a human meter on her as its so easy to get those free what should a cats glucose levels be how long does a vial of insulin usually last
 
Hey- well done you on adopting a diabetic kitty!

I know the answers to some of your questions, but I'm a newbie too, so sure someone more experienced will pop in.

Yes, you can use a human meter. Not quite sure where you are so the measurement of blood glucose differs depending on your country.

I think a vial of insulin lasts 28 days and must be kept in the fridge and never shaken. Only rolled gently to mix the contents. Some people i think use their vials for longer - that's just what my vial says.
 
Good on you for taking her in!! Diabetes is a completely manageable disease... although it is not necessarily cheap, we have a lot of tips for saving you money in the long run.

First, Prozinc is a good insulin! Although it is not necessarily cheap. None of the insulins we recommend are really cheap. Insulin is one thing you don't want to cheap out on! Prozinc should last you quite a while if it's handled properly (some report upwards of a year). Just keep an eye on it for discoloration or loss of effectiveness.

The best food for a diabetic is low carbohydrate canned or raw. No dry food at all, even grain free. Low carb canned is very cheap and not any more expensive than feeding dry - some common household brands are Friskies, Fancy Feast, Special Kitty, and of course there's more premium brands like Wellness, Merricks, Evo, etc. It all depends on your budget. Take a look at this chart compiled by feline vet Lisa Pierson - it lists all of the carbohydrate percentages for a lot of common foods. You are looking at the "C" column under the "CALORIE%" title. You are looking for something under 8% carbs, but 3-5% works best for most. One missing from this chart is Petsmart's Grreat choice - any of their pate style foods (NO gravy) are low carb and very cheap. My cats like poultry platter. :)

And yes, you can use a human meter on her! The most expensive part of diabetes is home testing - testing strips for meters can get VERY pricy since we recommend testing at least 3 times a day! But fortunately there are cheap meters out there. If you're in the USA, the ReliOn Confirm and Micro from Walmart have very reasonably priced strips ($36 for 100) and there is also the new ReliOn Prime that has the cheapest strips ($9 for 50!!!) you also have a few other options, such as ordering strips online from places like American Diabetes Wholesale, local classified sites, or reseller sites like eBay.

I think a vial of insulin lasts 28 days and must be kept in the fridge and never shaken. Only rolled gently to mix the contents. Some people i think use their vials for longer - that's just what my vial says.

The 28 day expiry is for Lantus and it is applied to insulin kept at room temperature. This is a direction for human diabetics, because human diabetics use a LOT larger doses than our cats do, and will use a whole vial of Lantus before it expires, whereas our cats would barely make a dent in it! We refridgerate Lantus to make it last longer and use pen cartridges as they are more economical - I use my pen cartridges down to the last drop (3-4 months each one) but you could potentially get 4-6 + months out of a vial... you would still have to throw away some of it unless you have a high dose kitty.
 
Thank you for adopting your little lady. I have no advice for you, but wanted to say that I think you are fantastic for offering your home and heart to such a deserving little one.

This is a very special time, she is going to start feeling better and a bond will form between the two of you that will be so strong. It's hard to describe but you will know when you feel it. Just remember, while you are learning all of this, take time to enjoy her and love her and ask tons of questions, the folks here will take good care of you.
 
You're AWESOME!!!! Thank you for saving her, you won't regret it.

My first bottle of Prozinc lasted me a year almost to the day (if handled properly, refrigerated, not shaken, no floaties in it, etc.) The cost at the Vet was $136.00 but we PZI folks did some research and found out that some Costco's can order it for around $77.00. When I went to buy my second bottle at the Vet I asked for a prescription to buy it at Costco and they price matched.

For food always choose the pate for Friskies, Special Kitty, 9 Lives, etc. and classic flavors of Fancy Feast. You want the carb content of the food to be under 10%, even lower is better. We have 3 new food charts now, someone will link them I'm sure.

For meters, Walmart's Confirm, Micro and Prime have the least expensive strips around and are dependable.

Welcome to our group.
 
Thats awesome to know that the insulin can last a long time and around 100 for it for up to 6 months is alot better then I thought I know how to get a free meter and some start up test strips Its very easy to get free meter offers for humans online yeah you have to say its for a person but they'll never know the food sounds easy my mom had a cat that had to eat only wet food because she had bad issues with going number 2 so Im used to the wet food I think I will order one of the home testing kits from this site too 8 bucks is a good deal
 
Hello, welcome to FDMB, and well done, you, for adopting a diabetic cat! dancing_cat

Yes, as others have said, you can use a glucose meter made for humans. But the real cost is not the meter but the strips. Some US folks recommend the Relion meters from Walmart because the strips are very reasonable.

We recommend that diabetic cats eat a low carb wet/canned food diet. You will get lots of suggestions here.

Is your cat currently eating any dry food at all? If the answer to that is 'yes' then DO NOT remove the dry food until you have learned how to hometest and are comfortable with monitoring your cats BG (blood glucose) levels at home. The reason for this is that removal of dry food can significantly reduce BG levels in some cats. And your cat might need a reduced insulin dose as a result (too much insulin can cause hypo).

Welcome to the wonderful wacky world that is 'feline diabetes'!

Eliz in UK
 
Hi,

For people (and cats!) new to insulin we recommend that you do not give a shot if the BG is below 200 (11 outside of US).

The following is copied from the FDMB FAQ's and may answer some of your questions. :smile:

" 6. REGULATION

Q6.1. What is regulation?


A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":

•Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
•Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
•Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
•Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
•Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
•Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]"

There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure. "
 
For the too low - if a cat with insulin in their system goes below 50 you will need to intervene with either regular low carb food, a high carb food or Karo Syrup to bring their bg's up to a safer number and you will need to test every 15 minutes to make sure they are rising.
 
Awesome I wish there were more people like you out there that would adopt diabetic cats and give them the loving care that they deserve and testing is a really big part of that :)
 
Elizabeth and Bertie said:
Is your cat currently eating any dry food at all? If the answer to that is 'yes' then DO NOT remove the dry food until you have learned how to hometest and are comfortable with monitoring your cats BG (blood glucose) levels at home. The reason for this is that removal of dry food can significantly reduce BG levels in some cats. And your cat might need a reduced insulin dose as a result (too much insulin can cause hypo).

What Elizabeth said is VERY IMPORTANT!!! the glucose level could drop 100 points, possible sending the cat into hypoglycemia, which can kill.
 
If you need to talk to any of us, I sure would be happy to field Qs for you. Just PM me with your number and I'll give you mine if you like. I'm a Lantus user, so not savvy on ProZinc, but I can help most other concerns...I'm in NYC.

best
Martica
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top