Just a reassurance

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
Just need a little reassurance ... tested mocha today at +8 and got 46 .. that's not too low, right? She's never been below 50 since officially OTJ .. nailbite_smile
 
I don't think so but have nothing to base that on other than I know she wouldn't hypo without insulin. Hope someone comes along soon to tell you for sure. Have a great day!!!
 
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Well... 50 is the low end right? But for a kitty that's been OTJ for a while? I don't know if 46 is just a variance in the meter calibration?

Can you take another reading in 30 mins?
 
it's fine. i tested a cat a while ago that wasn't diabetic and i think he was 43. a cat can not become hypoglycemic on their own - it only comes from injected insulin.

so no worries! enjoy that awesome number!!!
 
I remember seeing someone come on alarmed that when they tested one of their civies they got a low number. They were told a cat not on insulin can't go hypo.
 
That's Fine, without insulin there is no hypo, but please PM Barbara & Tuffy and she will tell you all about Tuffy's OTJ numbers--You have no worries, Barb can help!
 
Thank you everyone! I knew she couldn't hypo without insulin but I thought that just seemed really low .. My vet always tells me mocha is "unusually low" for a cat and that is when I tell her she's in the 60's .. so seeing that 46 kinda made me nervous .. she's sleeping like a rock right now on her favorite blue blanket ..
 
when i tested that cat, it helped me understand why the protocol is set up like it is. i now think of the 40's as being the "action zone" - your cat isn't in danger, but you want to act to prevent it going too low.

this is also why people say there is a difference between low numbers and hypoglycemia.

punkin had a 34 my first week on here - no symptoms at all. that's not a problem. nothing happened to him, it just meant it was time to pull him up.

hypoglycemia, on the other hand, has symptoms that become alarming and show the cat's body is entering a time of crisis.
 
We caught mocha down in the 20's when she was on insulin, with no symptoms at all .. I just don't know why she would be in the 40's today when she normally is a bit higher then this .. hard to say I guess!
 
Wouldn't be like us when we have low blood sugar...nothing happens, we just might not feel the best. Agree that you cannot hypo with no insulin.

Pattie
 
hi guys - wow, nice BG! I know Barbara's OTJ Tuffy tests in the 40's all the time. Someone else too - I just can't remember who... But no worries: no insulin, no hypo. Sure is a nice BG!
 
Yep, I checked out Tuffy's SS .. looks like she even likes the 30's! nailbite_smile She seemed hungry for her food, but that is nothing new .. Thanks for all the reassurance guys! I can't believe I still hold my breath when I test!
 
Hi Devon,
Mocha is fine. 46, after all, could easily be meter variance, or strip variance. Don't test her again until after the holidays!!!!!

Enjoy the holidays. This must be a very busy time for your business.

Wishing you and your gang a great evening,

Ella & Rusty

thanks for visiting Rusty.
 
She's fine!! She may have been a bit hungry or you caught her at a low point in her normal BG cycle. Heck, Gabby hit the 30s today and was fine!
 
I tested one of my civvies, Scooter, the other day because I noticed that he was drinking a lot of water. He was 59. I thought that was a bit low, but that's just him. One of my other civvies is in the 70's, and I think another is in the 90's. ECID.

Hopefully, Mocha won't bottom out after that #, and will come back up on her own. :YMHUG:
 
Thanks you guys! I would love to test our civvie, but she is not a hands on type of cat .. it would never happen in this house .. as it is, we always say He chose the right cat in this house to get FD .. at least we can treat mocha! I won't test mocha until the first of the year .. it's our gift to her .. well that and maybe a stocking full of goodies .. :-D Thanks again everyone, and Merry Christmas!!!
 
Gracie is consistently in the mid 40's low 50's since being OTJ. That 's with her being back to eating some dry, and knowing she's eating well. My civvies have been in the 40's at times as well. Low numbers are scary when shooting, but are great when it's all natural!

Happy Holidays,

Jason
 
PeterDevonMocha said:
I love the name tabasco :-D

Yeah, all my cats are condiment themed according to their personality -

Honey is sweet
Cini Mini is spicy
Tabasco is just plain obnoxious and hot

:lol: :lol: :lol:

The kids (who were 4 and 5 yrs old at the time) originally wanted to give Cini the name "Pizza", but I talked them out of it.
 
hahah that is some cute naming!

We named Mocha Jo Latte .. when we picked her out, she was a very soft creamy beige .. so pretty .. now we call her "bear" She's so dark!
We have Twix Pixie Stix, because of her carmel stripe running up her head .. and because she is so sweet (from a distance!)
And then we had Cheddar Colby Jack (GA) .. because he was orange from his eyes to his tail!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top