Junior's AMPS on 10/8 was 92, no shot...

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
Saturday was my birthday, and we were going to spend it testing, we did some testing, but not having given him a shot because he was at 92....I didn't do the full curve.

He is looking good, fur soft & shiny, eyes clear, all 4 p's are fine. I just don't get the numbers , and more reading is telling me newbies, of which I still consider myself, aren't supposed to shoot under 200?? What have I been doing to my little guy, in the summer he was up to 2 units twice daily because urine testing was showing glucose above 500. He was running in the 100's starting in August, and then I got the hang of the testing and went back to 1 unit twice daily...all wet, lo-carb food & treats.

and the Methyl b-12 for his hind legs is wroking wonders! he can almost run, and doesn't mind the stairs...

how are we doing? looking for any answers that might help me understand when to shoot and when not to shoot.
 
Hi Kay!

Keep getting those mid-cycle tests. It looks like he's doing well on 1u right now, you need those tests to tell you if and how much to increase/decrease/hold the dose. We tell newbies not to shoot below 200 because they often do not have enough data that will point to how their cats will respond. Because you don't have a lot of data yet, you absolutely did the right thing not shooting that 92 preshot.

Once you have enough mid-cycle tests to show how Junior responds to his insulin, you may start shooting lower numbers. But not until you have the data that shows you how Junior typically responds to his insulin. That's why getting daily mid-cycle tests is so important.

You're doing great! Keep up the good work testing!
 
Hi Julia!

Always happy to hear from you!

Will work on the early & late numbers too, not just mid-cycle, and still filling in the notes back through the summer, for history.

and I was shooting all those 150's, and up to 200, did that hurt him? is that why his #'s are going up instead of coming down?

thanks as always for your help.
 
Without mid-cycle tests, it's impossible to know how he responded to shooting those lower numbers. He could have been fine, or he could have been dropping too low. But there's no point worrying about what may or may not have happened now, and what is important is that you're being proactive with testing from now on. You're doing great, and Junior's numbers may be a little high be they really aren't that bad. It's hard to tell just yet, but it doesn't look like he's bouncing much (meaning he's adjusted to normal numbers), which will make getting him well regulated a much easier task.
 
Thanks again for your support, and what happend this summer, as you said, is over and done, and now with proper testing, I will get him regulated, and hopefully his happy little self again!

and I am glad you think his numbers look ok, I don't like the yellow ones....I want him to be green!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top