Junior +4 38....

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauramarie

Member
Here we go, I changed battery just in case and tested 4 times. It went from 38 to 35 in 10 min. Gave a little karo and some ff chicken n gravy and waiting for vet to call back. testing in 10 min. He seems totally fine.
 
Too much of a glob can change the reading. Try another spot on the ear.

Definitely syrup is a good idea. Did you rub it on his gums? Test again in 15 minutes.
 
I have never heard of neosporin changing the reading.

I cannot pull the SS up-- I am on my phone. When does Junior normally nadir? Have you had a hypo before?
 
This is our first. An hour ago I put just a thin film on both ears. I did then try to clean them off and did a test where there was none. Karo on the gums...and all over his face. I put a little in the food. I'm in worse shape than him, shaking, smoking in the house, and gonna have a little nip of wine
 
Go ahead a check again... I agree with Sue, that is a big drop in an hour.
 
I know! I was thinking about his day on 2/29.....amps 97 so not shot. His sitter got a pmps reading of 342. Wonder what it went down to?
 
That's good news, but the syrup is usually a quick fix and then goes away. You gave him some gravy food, right? Let's take another test in 15 minutes. You are doing great, Laura.
 
Thank you, just got off the phone with vet and he advised everything you guys did! He said no shot tonight if he does not hit 400. Back to 1u tomorrow. Do you all usually feed the whole 3 oz of food?
 
You mean feeding him now? If so, no, I would give him a fourth or so and wait awhile. You don't want to get a full tummy and then not eat for you when you need him to go up. If he slips back down, I would suggest just the gravy off the high carb. It will give him carbs but not fill him up.
 
Not sure I agree with the vet's dose for tonight though. We are usually very careful after low numbers. Often the kitty will bounce up at preshot. A high preshot after a low cycle is sort of an "artificial" high because of the extra glucose his body produced when it saw the low numbers. Often we skip the night after anything under 50. Or give a token dose. Then we expect the following preshot to be high, after a token dose or 24 hours without insulin, and we still reduce the dose from the amount that caused the hypo.

The 97 for amps on 2/29 was an indicator 1.5 was a little high for him. Any time you get a long duration like that and an amps too low to shot, you should reduce.

Have I completely confused you?
 
It looks like he's up! Hurray! I would get another test in 45 minutes or so, just to make sure he doesn't surprise us. :mrgreen:

Why don't you post tonight with your +11 and let us mull it over? I just know I don't think I would do one. It's that better safe than sorry thing. Can always increase the dose the next preshot, but can't get the insulin out of the cat once it's shot!
 
I think that's fine, just remember your amps will reflect 24 hours since the last shot. It isn't a normal number - there is a reason it's high. I would shoot less than you did today for sure.
 
+10 376. 1 hour to go, ugh. Let's say it's way OVER 400 then. maybe .5 or not? Tomorrow will definitely not be anything more than 1.0. Now i'm worried if a little would benefit him (only if high enough) tonight to keep some sort of good in his body vs going SUPER high. I've just realized the fact he's 1/2 hour late today as well. The +12 should be 7:00 tonight and I want to get them both back on that eating schedule. Somehow I screwed up the time frames. His low point happened @ noon. Usually i am off about 1/2 hr with the +'s. Then next hour will be just before they eat. Then i'll be out of the house for about 2.5 hrs. OMG, just confused myself and decided not to shoot! I need to get it together....
 
It's only one cycle, Laura. Whatever you decide is fine - shoot a token or skip. If he is high for a cycle, he'll be okay and you will get back on track tomorrow.
 
Thank you.... I snuck back home to get a +1 reading after his dinner and it's 8 points lower. So far, glad I gave no shot. I really am thankful for everyone here. Just 3 days ago I got the "hypo" kit together. After reading about others' first times, I had no idea how I would feel. I am very lucky he had no symptoms what so ever, I may have a mental breakdown if he ever does but I know you all will help me through (and luckily my vet as well)

much love to you all
 
Laura -

Looks like you've had a crazy day, but handled it like a champ! Good job!

Tomorrow is another day. Hopefully not quite as eventful!

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top