Junior 3/17 AMPS 177

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauramarie

Member
Not that i'm complaining, but was just getting into the swing of 300's! He's eating now, going to retest in an hour. I'm thinking if it .5u? (not giving it yet)

Happy St Paddy's Day! :mrgreen:
 
That next test will include food, so keep that in mind.
Looks like1.25 is a tad too much. One cycle went very low, and the last one went long. Maybe that line in the sand needs to be at 400?
Carl
 
Good morning!

Junior had a beautiful run yesterday! What's your threshold to shoot? Do you usually feed an hour before the shot?

Grayson doesn't usually have an issue with a high enough number, so I've not dealt with this much, but I think normally they tell you to withhold food so it doesn't give you a food-induced preshot.

However, if you do feed an hour before, you don't seem to have much of a food spike (Grayson's is typically 30-50 points, and lingers a couple of hours). My shooting threshold is 250... and then it's typically a reduced dose. That being said, and based on your spreadsheet, I would say a reduced dose would be in order... in an hour or two.

Happy St. Patty's Day - looks like you might see some green today! :mrgreen:
 
What a nice, surprising AMPS! It looks like Junior does great with the 1.25u when PSs are in the 400s, but a bit much when under 400...like Carl said. You might go with a sliding scale, based on PS numbers. Something like:

>400 1.25
300-400 1.0u
etc.

Planning on a reduced shot based on the 177 is a good idea. Can't use the food induced number to determine a dose. If Junior happens to have another low PS, wait to feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if he is rising and you'll have a better idea of what to shoot. Yea, I know. Waiting to feed can cause those hungry kitty eyes to bore right through you. :lol: I always fear for my ankles. :lol:
 
I'm still not used to so much thinking this early in the morning!

I always shoot between 15-30 min after food. Then start the day of testing 3 hours later. At the vet yesterday, my main question was when to not shoot. He suggested when the number is half the previous. (based on being in the 300's) Then to wait 1-2 hours to see if it goes up and do half the dose. It all still seemed very vague and I get all flustered every time i'm at the clinic and can't think clearly!!!!!!

With how good the numbers have been so far, I don't want to mess anything up. He also gets a new sitter (another vet tech) next weekend. There will be 2x's she'll be getting here 1 hr later than when I've been doing it. I more worried about them being fed. Now, I have this anxiety to deal with!!!!!!

Hoping luck o' the Irish around today.....for everyone!
 
Laura -

Robin (Rob & Harley) has set up sliding scales for several PZI folks - you may want to PM her to see if she'll look at your numbers and make a recommendation. "Half the previous number" seems pretty vague to me as well. I like to have something a little more definitive.

It may help keep you from getting flustered if you keep a running list of questions you want to ask the already asked here - this will help you cross-check what the vet thinks. Frankly, I would put more weight on some of the feedback you get here, as we are all in the trenches, dealing with this every day, and at every stage of the dance. Some vets may have several clients they see every couple of weeks to run curves on. Others may just have one kitty... and they aren't living it day to day like we are. Not to say we're all experts - not at all. That's one of the reasons I try not to give "dosing advice" - rather I'll share what my experience has been in a similar situation and the advice/wisdom that was shared with me.

Making choices in the treatment of our sugars is like any other decision we make... we do our research, analyze the data, make a decision & go with it. Then evaluate, see what worked and what didn't, modify if necessary, and continue. Every so often we do a recheck. And when we make mistakes - and we all do - we can't beat ourselves up for it... just learn from them and move forward.

As for your pet sitter and the schedule change, you may want to shift your shot time 15-30 minutes each preshot to get Junior onto the revised schedule. Once you're back, then you can shift him back. We all have to do that from time to time.

As for the mornings... I try to just take them as they come. Some days I test & shoot and am back in bed by 6:45. Others, well, we just hang out or jump into our day! Key is getting in bed at a reasonable hour (reasonable to what time we have to get up!). Or just set your alarm clock - on the other side of the room... :lol:
 
+1 404 wth!!!!! O.k., he finished eating 1 hour ago. I will now keep in mind to wait a little if the ps # is low BEFORE eating and test a little more to see if it rises. And i know it's this high because of the food at the moment.

I am going to give him 1 unit
 
I'm no expert, but I think most people see a food spike of 20-40 points. Some of that HAD to have been a climb.

... or....

Sometimes we get "wonky" numbers that are so completely out of the norm for our guys. If you see something that's that far off, next time I'd be inclined to retest. Sorry I didn't suggest that sooner!

I saw a 154 one night, and went to dinner 6 blocks from home. The entire time I was wondering if he was gonna go hypo on me - couldn't relax, enjoy, anything. I raced home right after the meal and he was at 368 or something like that. A quick retest might've avoided that and saved the evening. That's the thing about hindsight - it's SO much clearer!!!
 
Hi Laura,

Don't worry too much about today's cycle, it's only one cycle.

Your ss is pretty interesting. I think you have been getting some very steep drops which are probably keeping the PS's higher. But otherwise you are on the right track. You want to try to get a more gentle curve going so the swings back and forth aren't so dramatic, it makes them feel crappy.

The 1.25u is a little too much insulin. I think your line in the sand is 400 and I would go with a fat 1 unit instead of the 1.25u to take some of that nose dive out of the drop. You could also feed at + 3 or +4 to soften the drop, you could get some guidance from Carl on that.

Anything under 400 I would go with 1 unit and see if you can get more stable cycles. I know you held a 1 unit for about a week before and he did pretty well. You can play with the dose like a lower 300 do a skinny 1 unit, etc.

Prozinc is very flexible schedule wise, so you should be ok with the vet tech shooting late a couple of times.

Robin
 
ok, PMPS 330. This is 40 min later than AMPS. He got a fat 1u. He was ravenously hungry all damn day. I hate to admit, but he got the very smallest smidgen of Johnny cat's dry purina DM 1 hour ago. Had to give the shot now, i'm going out....
 
You could also feed at + 3 or +4 to soften the drop, you could get some guidance from Carl on that
.

OK, here is something you could consider trying. How ever much food you would normally give Junior for breakfast, instead of the whole amount, feed him about 2/3rds of it. Then test him at +3 or so. If you see a drop that seems a little large, then after testing him, feed him the other 1/3rd of the meal. What that should do is give him a 2nd "food boost" between +4 and nadir, and hopefully not allow the nadir to go so low. It should give him a slower and less "deep" drop mid-cycle. That should help with avoiding going too low, and bouncing because of the low number. Your curve would be smile shaped, just not a really big smile.

You'll get this - :smile: - instead of this - :-D , so there won't be so much of this - :o at the next PS reading!

Then, you will hopefully feel like this:

Carl
 
Hang on, Robin and Carl. I planned to pm u both in the mornIng. I made the shot decision based on it being early and he was fed more than usual for dinner (after ps #) also because of the shot I gave. I don't want anyone thinking I'm making irrational decisions to go out and party. Both the cats are all I think about anymore and I've completely put my life on hold because of what's going on. I'll be home to check on him soon. Just needed to get out of the house for once
 
Nobody is going to think anything like that, so don't worry. You can't put your whole life on hold and you should by all means take a sanity break when one is needed! Get away from it for a few hours. We want you to be able to go out, do dinner and a movie, whatever it is, and not be thinking about the kitties the whole time you are away from them.
Feline Diabetes can't control your life. And it does get easier and less intense and less stressful. You need to recharge your batteries or you'll go insane.

We're here for you,
Carl
 
Sooooo important also, that was not meant to be derogatory! One reason I hate the Internet and texting. I love u all no matter what u have to say
 
OMG Laura, nobody thought any such thing.

FD can be very life consuming, that's why I said to have FUN tonight. I meant that, it's St. Patrick's Day, go have fun, don't think about this for a few hours. We all need the mental break.

Go read Kim's thread. Both Kim and I said that we needed a little break today too.
 
ohmygod_smile I'm such a spaz!!!!!! I just need to give more info for my doing's!!!! Now, getting my drink on drinking24 drinking24
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top