June 23: Foster Cat Kitty 58@ +12, 52 @+7 Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

missyandlittlegray

Member Since 2010
Good morning, Lantus Land. Foster Cat Kitty and I haven't been here for awhile. Since we were here last, I've raised her dose, and she's now getting a fat 1.5 units of Lev. At first, I thought she was bouncing from low to high numbers, but things seem to be leveling out, and we haven't seen any pink for a few days. There have been a couple of times when she's been too low to shoot though. This morning is one of them. Her AMPS was 58. It's 10:45 now, and I can stall until about 11:30. Then, I'll have to decide whether to shoot or not shoot because I'll need to leave. When she has these low numbers, I think it's because she hasn't eaten much. The food I left her last night is pretty much untouched.

She also had some diarrhea during the night. And her poo is always a funny color. It's light brown, which I believe means shes not absorbing all of her food. Not sure about that though.

Unfortunately, I'm not here to test as much as some of you do, but Kitty and I are doing the best we can.

She's being fostered through Diabetic Cats in Need. If you'd like to help Venita with all the cats in DCIN's care, you can make a donation here: http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/p/donatefundraising.html. Thanks, everyone.
 
Re: June 23: Foster Cat Kitty 58@ +12 Need Advice

She's up to 107 now, so I'm going to give her 1u. Very nervous about this, since I won't be here at all today to keep an eye on her. I'd still like to know whether the very low numbers are because she didn't eat or she's getting too much insulin.
 
Re: June 23: Foster Cat Kitty 58@ +12 Need Advice

I think a vet visit is in order. Diarrhea and loss of appetite may mean there's a GI problem going on. It looks like from Jasmine's SS that she was throwing up and not eating beginning on June 17th. I'm concerned that giving mirtazepine may have been masking the problem. And yes, the low numbers can be influenced by not eating. Please get her checked out by your vet.
 
Re: June 23: Foster Cat Kitty 58@ +12 Need Advice

Yep, I'd take her in to the vet to have a look-over. Sounds like something isn't quite right, but I have no clue what it might be.
 
I agree with both of you that something's not right with her. A healthy diabetic cat wouldn't need mirtazapine every few days. She's eaten two cans of Fancy Feast since this morning.

I'm wondering what to do about her dose. Should I stay at 1u for a little while, maybe a fat 1u? For a long time, her pre-shot numbers were in the 300s, and I don't want her to go back there again. But I also wonder how low she goes when I'm not here to test.

She saw the vet shortly after she got here. Blood tests and an ultrasound revealed nothing except serious constipation and a slipped disc. She's on Adequan once a week for the disc problem and gets Mirilax when she seems constipated.

Could very low BGs cause the diarrhea?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top