Jul 25 - Monkey - AMPS 182 - do I shoot?? First post

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel & Monkey

Member Since 2017
Was hoping for some guidance on whether or not to shoot if Monkey's BG was 10.1 for her AMPS just now. Her spreadsheet is up to date if someone could please advise??
 
Hello and welcome. Most people here use the US form of measurements, which is on your US tab of your spreadsheet. 10.1 is 182 in US numbers.

Are you home to monitor Monday today? What method are you using for dosing? On this forum we suggest it's OK to shoot above 150 if you have some data, which you do. But only if you can monitor.
 
Hi from Vancouver Island :)

Would it be terrible to skip her shot today? I'm here to monitor but I'm very afraid that I'm so new to this and something is going to go horribly wrong.. I really have no frame of reference for her BG levels and what it means for her shot etc
 
It would be fine if you skip. Another option, if you haven't fed her yet, is to test again 15-20 minutes after that first test and see if she's coming up to a number you are comfortable shooting.
 
I did forget to ask if Monkey was ever diagnosed with DKA or has tested positive for ketones. If that were true, we would suggest getting some insulin in her. If you aren't testing for ketones, you should be, especially with her still getting some high numbers.

Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers low. If you shoot with a lower preshot number, you'll see much flatter cycles. Take a look at some other spreadsheets and posts from other people to get an idea of what happens when people shoot lower. You will have to slowly lower the number at which you feel comfortable. Maybe even a 1/2 dose to start is one option.
 
I did forget to ask if Monkey was ever diagnosed with DKA or has tested positive for ketones. If that were true, we would suggest getting some insulin in her. If you aren't testing for ketones, you should be, especially with her still getting some high numbers.

Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers low. If you shoot with a lower preshot number, you'll see much flatter cycles. Take a look at some other spreadsheets and posts from other people to get an idea of what happens when people shoot lower. You will have to slowly lower the number at which you feel comfortable. Maybe even a 1/2 dose to start is one option.


Thanks, I just started checking for ketones the other day and she is negative, and no history of DKA either thankfully. I decided to skip this morning because it's already 30 min past her shot time and just to be safe because I've never seen her have an AMPS (or PMPS) even close to that before. That is good to know about shooting low on Lantus creating a flatter cycle though, my fear of course was that it would just make her nosedive too low. More to learn everyday about FD!
 
Thanks, I just started checking for ketones the other day and she is negative, and no history of DKA either thankfully. I decided to skip this morning because it's already 30 min past her shot time and just to be safe because I've never seen her have an AMPS (or PMPS) even close to that before. That is good to know about shooting low on Lantus creating a flatter cycle though, my fear of course was that it would just make her nosedive too low. More to learn everyday about FD!
these curveballs are exactly why we always say to test before a preshot. :)
 
Just a FYI, you can move shot times 15 minutes each cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day. So if you did shoot 1/2 hour late, it's fairly easy to get back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top