jul 21 tibbs 560 i am confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
so today tibbs amps was 560 i don't understand these big jumps. i am putting his spreadsheet up today so you can see what's going on. basically for the past week since diagnosed on jul 11 his pmps are in the 300 to 400 range and mornings were down from 50 to 138 except jul 29 he was 371. i was only able to shoot that one morning but today he came in so high. he got his .5 dose last night. i am trying to stabilize a constant low dose before changing anything but his numbers are all over. he seems to be acting somewhat normally. i am confused. i'm working on spreadsheet now and will upload todsy.
thank you.
nadine
 
Okay I can't completely unconfuse you until I can see what and when you're seeing on the meter. But there are two words you'll learn to hate.....Patience & consistency when working with Lantus. The next thing you're gonna here a lot is TEST. When in doubt, test.

See insulin isn't like say a pain killer. With a pain killer the greater the pain the more the drug to counter it. Insulin is a hormone and hormones play by their own rules. Too much and too little can look like.

Also steep drops can cause a bounce where they zoom back to high numbers and so can even a drop from 400s to the 300s if its been awhile since they've been down that low.

Now how do we tell what's what? By testing multiple times daily. We watch for patterns. Like they mostly still go up after preshot until +3 and drop the lowest they are going to go by +7

That tells us when onset and nadir is so we can judge too much, too little or just a bounce.

Lastly Lantus forms crystals under the skin that have to be there a certain length of time before they become available to Tibbs to bring down his bgs. So when you skip a shot he uses what is already under his skin then you shoot again most of that shot just sits there for a cycle or two. So you need a dose you can shoot a.m. and p.m. Again this is where knowing nadir and onset comes into play because that allows you to safely lower your no shoot number and give a full dose on even double digit preshots.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
hi mel. thanks. i see there is alot i don't understand. i am going to try and upload spreadsheet. thanks for the help.
nadine
 
so tibbsy is back down to 403 for his jul 21 pmps.
i gave him his .5 dose. we'll see what morning brings. thanks all. big hugs for all your help
and support. good night
nadine
 
Whenever you can, try to snag a test between +5 to +7, which is when the nadir, or lowest glucose level, is likely to happen between shots. That let's you know how well the insulin is working and may be used to adjust doses, after a sufficient waiting period during which the dose stabilizes.
 
Until you can get a spreadsheet linked into your signature you can give us your numbers in this format

Amps-#
+5-#
Pmps-#

Amps-a.m. preshot
+number -number of hours post injection
Pmps-p.m. preshot.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top