Jubalee AMPS 203...Give Insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.
If her numbers are high, I'd definitely suggest shooting but not more than 0.5u. It is MUCH easier on the nerves if you start at a lower dose and work the dose up if you need to than to be chasing after low numbers they way you've had to do. However, let's see what the numbers have to tell us closer to shot time.
 
Just to clarify, the way Lantus works is that you dose by how LOW a dose gets a cat. So there is some level of ignoring high numbers - they will come down. So if we know that 1.0u will get Jubalee into the 30's, it's very likely going to still have the ability to do that in the near future. Cats bounce to high numbers, or they go high with skipped shots, but the highs don't make it ok to increase the dose. Evaluate the dose by the low numbers.

You've had a helluva couple of days!!! good job taking care of your sweetie under so much stress.

Hopefully dropping the dose to 0.5u is going to get her out of these extreme low numbers and let you catch your breath. Because we don't know if 0.5u is too much, however, even after you give that, please get a +2 so you have a heads-up of what may happen in the following hours.
 
Just poked Juba again at +8 and her BG was 198.
Won't test again until PMPS and see where she is.
How high should we let her go tonight, if she continues to climb?
Her breakfasts and dinners have consisted of low carb FF classics and FP.
 
Just to clarify, the way Lantus works is that you dose by how LOW a dose gets a cat. So there is some level of ignoring high numbers - they will come down. So if we know that 1.0u will get Jubalee into the 30's, it's very likely going to still have the ability to do that in the near future. Cats bounce to high numbers, or they go high with skipped shots, but the highs don't make it ok to increase the dose. Evaluate the dose by the low numbers.

You've had a helluva couple of days!!! good job taking care of your sweetie under so much stress.

Hopefully dropping the dose to 0.5u is going to get her out of these extreme low numbers and let you catch your breath. Because we don't know if 0.5u is too much, however, even after you give that, please get a +2 so you have a heads-up of what may happen in the following hours.

Thank you so much for the support!!
This has been quite a day, and testing every half hour for the past 4 hours has been keeping us on our toes!
We don't have kids, so having a tight timed schedule like this is new to us, lol.
Juba will get a break for a few hours, and then we will retest again to see where her numbers are.
 
If she's over 200 which seems likely at this point I think I'd give her the 0.5u dose. She might well be starting a bounce from the low numbers today. I wouldn't go over 0.5 though even if she's much higher by then.
 
You've done really well with her today Kadie. I know it's scary the first couple of times they go low, but you handled it really well. And it does get easier - I promise. :bighug:
 
I agree....if she's over 200, let's try the .5 dose but I'd make sure to get a +2...that's a good test to get in the habit of getting because it can act like an "early warning system" on that cycle.

If the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, that's your clue that you'd best plan on getting some more tests in during that cycle.

If it's about the same, it can indicate a more "normal" cycle...where they gradually go down until about +6 and then gradually go up again by the next pre-shot

If it's higher, that can mean they're bouncing and those are the cycles where it can be safer to take a pokey break

With Jube being so new to the dance, as we get more data on her, hopefully things will settle down for you! You've certainly had your trial by fire the last few days!!

Now we just have to find a good, safe dose that you can give every 12 hours :)
 
Just got Juba's PMPS her BG number was 353.
In about 20 minutes we will giver her 0.5 unit of Lantus.
Then we will test +2 after
ALSO: This number is similar to this morning's, so I'm really hoping that by halving the dose she won't go into as low as numbers.
Fingers crossed!
Will keep you updated and post at +2
 
If nothing else, a bounce would let you get a good night's sleep to recover from today! :) Like you, I hope she gives you a break tonight and doesn't head low again - we'll know much better once you can get her +2 number. And yes, too high is better than too low - something to remember if she does bounce tonight!!
 
Just tested Juba again at +2 after evening insulin of 0.5 units and it was 307.
So lowering much slower than this morning's 1 unit.
Should I keep testing her tonight, like every 2 hours, or does everyone think she'll be good until her AMPS tomorrow?
I don't want her to go too high, but high is better than low.
 
With the 20% meter variance, that's not much of a drop at all. I'd have thought she'll be fine overnight though if you're not going to sleep just yet, you might want to get one more test just before you do so you can sleep easy tonight. :)
 
With the 20% meter variance, that's not much of a drop at all. I'd have thought she'll be fine overnight though if you're not going to sleep just yet, you might want to get one more test just before you do so you can sleep easy tonight. :)

I'm thinking one more test in a few hours probably wouldn't hurt. Especially since this is a new dose.
Then I start thinking, what if her numbers rise, or they drop super low?
 
As long as you're not too tired to go for one more test, it certainly wouldn't do any harm. And will hopefully give you peace of mind for the night after the day you've had today.

I think it's unlikely that she'll go super low again tonight but I know how difficult it is to leave a cat overnight after the sort of numbers you got from her today too. If her numbers rise, that's fine - she still might have a bit of a bounce or some wobbly numbers for a few cycles so don't worry if they do but I can completely understand you wanting to make sure she isn't going much lower tonight. If I'm not at the computer, I'll have my phone with me and be watching a movie in the other room so I'll check back every so often and I'll check in on you before I go to sleep to make sure you're still doing OK. :)
 
If her numbers rise, just hold the dose and try not to get frustrated

If the numbers drop below 50 at any time, you give a couple of teaspoons of the high carb gravy and retest every 30 minutes until she's safely into at least the 60's and then you can stop feeding ....but keep testing every 30 minutes for an hour and then one hour later than that....as long as she stays safe during that time and doesn't require more food, you can relax a little

Again, GREAT job today Kadie!!! Hope you get a good night's sleep!
 
Okie everyone,
Just tested Juba again and her number was 213 at +5 after the new dose of 0.5 units of Lantus.
Great to see her numbers decreasing slowly!!
I fell asleep and woke up at +5 instead of +4. Oops!
I haven't updated her spreadsheet since I'm on my phone at the moment.
Will update later this morning when I test her AMPS.
 
Alright, my husband and I decided since she is so close to that 200 mark (even with a 20% difference) that we should skip her am insulin because of what happened yesterday. We did a little math, and since yesterday Juba was 332 AMPS and 32 just 5 hours later, that's about 300 numbers dropped.
We were thinking that even with the 0.5 units, that could possibly get Juba down into the 50's-60's??
Is it terrible if we skipped this morning's insulin?
I will retest in 2 hours to see where she is.
 
Unfortunately, you're being very logical but that's not the way it works! The basic mantra of using Lantus and Lev is "shoot low to stay low." If you look at Gabby's SS or the SS of any of the more experienced users (or even some of the subject lines that are visible on the Board), you'll see that I'll shoot any number that's above 50. With your logic, Gabby's BG would be in the negative numbers. The ideal curve is flat - it just takes a while for our kitties to get there. Generally, we encourage people to shoot anything above 150. We were being particularly cautious with Juba because you'd already seen the 30s and the dose you were giving was too high.

Moving forward, it's important to see how Juba is doing on a 0.5u dose and to make sure that her depot gets stabilized at this new dose.

I'd also suggest that you start a new thread. We encourage you to start a new thread (aka "condo") every day that you post. We use a particular convention:

Date Cat's Name AMPS-#, +time - #
So for today, your subject line would read 4/17 Juba AMPS-206

We also link the previous day's condo to the current day. That way, if you or anyone reading your posts needs to backtrack, it can be done easily.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top