Josie - 4/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Josie

Member Since 2012
After 31 hours with no insulin, Josie finally needed another shot at 1am last night.

AMPS - 243, gave a skinny .5

The cycle started out fairly promising...

+3 - 250
+5 - 232
+6 - 65

At this point, I was at work and my husband was home with her. We had been talking and texting back and for about Josie's numbers, since she was getting lower. We had decided to try to let her ride it out and not to interfere expect to give her the normal food that she eats.

+7 - 53

And this is where things went downhill...

+7.5 - 43. Unfortunately, at this point my husband panicked. He gave her 7 carb food. He said it was just a teaspoon, but knowing him it was more. Probably at LEAST a tablespoon. This was the exact food he gave her on Friday that caused her to have the only 12 hour (vs 24 hour or more) cycle she's had this week.

+8 - 44. So far, so good.
+8.5 - 88 There's the spike I expected with this food. I had hoped she'd maybe hold steady, but nope.
+9 - 108. Definitely rising.

I am pretty disappointed. I know she'll only have a 12 hour cycle today. We are trying to get her off insulin and giving her a higher carb food was not a good choice. Not at +7.5 when it was probably mostly her pancreas anyway! I was not given the opportunity to weigh in with my choice of food. I don't understand it either, because I was just a text away. I would have probably suggested giving her maybe half a teaspoon of 5 carb food. Or mini meal of her normal food.

But apparently whoever is home with her is in charge. I am trying to tell myself that I was not the one who was home with a cat in the 40's and that he had every right to make the decision that made him most comfortable. But right now all I can see is a missed opportunity to get her off insulin once and for all. I really thought today might be that day.

I realize that I sound like a huge brat right now. I have a cat with good numbers and I should be very grateful. I am. But I feel like with Josie, remission is the ONLY option. I don't feel that she'll ever be "regulated". She is volitile, always has been, and I feel if I don't get her off insulin I will lose her. So I am desperate to do that. And I am willing to take some risks in order to accomplish that. But of course, if she has TWO caretakers, both have to be on the same page. And I guess we're not.

So, that's what's going on with Josie right now. Good, but rising numbers. Probably a normal cycle. And of course, two fighting beans. :-) But that's probably another subject for another board. :-)
 
its okay, things happen and this cycle looks great, tell him that those numbers are exactly what you want. I would stick to her normal food, actually give her a bit now and see if she'll go back down. My guess is she would have risen today regardless because she's probably going to bounce from those lows, not because they were dangerous but because that was the first string of less like that on a long time. Very encouraging with the increasing length of her cycles and those nice greens, expect higher pmps and keep at it, this looks like she's gonna be diet controlled really soon.....no jinx.
 
You can leave your ss open and input each test as you take it so you don't get behind, that's the only way I was able to keep up.
 
Catannc said:
its okay, things happen and this cycle looks great, tell him that those numbers are exactly what you want. I would stick to her normal food, actually give her a bit now and see if she'll go back down. My guess is she would have risen today regardless because she's probably going to bounce from those lows, not because they were dangerous but because that was the first string of less like that on a long time. Very encouraging with the increasing length of her cycles and those nice greens, expect higher pmps and keep at it, this looks like she's gonna be diet controlled really soon.....no jinx.

Yeah, the weird thing is he knows that the lower numbers are a good thing. He was SO relaxed when she was in the 50's, acted like it was no big deal, etc. Then as soon as she hit the 40's he was giving her the food with more carbs.

No PMPS yet! We tested at +15 and she was at 134. That's been pretty much the norm for her at that time. I don't think she'll go 24 hours, but I'm impressed that it's been more than 12. I guess this cycle won't be a bust like Friday!

Oh, I hope you are right with that last comment!
 
Catannc said:
You can leave your ss open and input each test as you take it so you don't get behind, that's the only way I was able to keep up.

That's a good idea. I got caught up last night and now I'm behind again!
 
Some people would be envious that DH is willing and able to test and shoot and was there to catch the low numbers. So she becomes diet controlled (anti jinx) one cycle later.

You are all still doing an awesome job.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Some people would be envious that DH is willing and able to test and shoot and was there to catch the low numbers. So she becomes diet controlled (anti jinx) one cycle later.

You are all still doing an awesome job.

Oh, yes. You are right. I was just like CRAP!!!! at the time (and when I posted this) because I thought we were going to have another cycle like Friday's AM where she shoots to the mid 300's by +11. That didn't happen, but even before I could tell that wasn't going to happen, I apologized for being upset. He was doing his best and I really did understand being nervous about the low number.

The hubby is great with Josie. He actually adopted her shortly before we got married 4 years ago and she is definitely his favorite of our three cats. (The other two are my cats from before we began dating.) He is MUCH better at giving shots and got the hang of testing before I did. So he absolutely does a lot. And normally, I am very grateful. Today, however, I was being a drama queen. :-) But all is well now.
 
If Josie's pancreas is doing what we think it is doing, it may keep that number from rising much more, so it isn't a bad cycle at all. Try to be patient with yourself and with your husband. You are pretty fortunate to have a second set of eyes and two extra hands. A few people here have been that lucky, but from what I've seen in general, the overwhelming majority of the management is done by only one bean even in two bean families.

You can see the "finish line", so you're extra antsy about it. You'll get there! I was three days, I think, into Bob's first OTJ trial and ended up having to give him one more shot till he finally got the message that I was just about out of quarters for the jukebox so the dancing was over. :smile:

Carl
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
If Josie's pancreas is doing what we think it is doing, it may keep that number from rising much more, so it isn't a bad cycle at all. Try to be patient with yourself and with your husband. You are pretty fortunate to have a second set of eyes and two extra hands. A few people here have been that lucky, but from what I've seen in general, the overwhelming majority of the management is done by only one bean even in two bean families.

You can see the "finish line", so you're extra antsy about it. You'll get there! I was three days, I think, into Bob's first OTJ trial and ended up having to give him one more shot till he finally got the message that I was just about out of quarters for the jukebox so the dancing was over. :smile:

Carl

Yep, that's exactly what happened. All of this happened at +7-+9, and we are at +17 right now, I think? And at 147. So basically, that slightly higher carb food may have shortened her cycle by a few hours, but that's no big deal at all. It's still a good cycle.

Gosh, I wish I hadn't written this post. I sound like a huge jerk. I am SO lucky to have a partner in this. I realize this, most of the time. Other times, like today, all I can think about is what is immediately in front of me. Plus, I have this fear that one wrong move will get us completely off track.

I need to chill out, I am absolutely aware of this now.
 
Holly,
Everybody here has had at least one or two "moments", so don't sweat it! We're here to keep each other "up" as much as we are for the kitties. In most cases, one or more of us will defuse the drama with humor. If you look back, there's been some pretty humorous threads in the past 10 months or so I've been reading here!
Some of our finer moments...
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=57718&p=626425&
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=52238
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=54537&p=589880&


Gosh, I wish I hadn't written this post. I sound like a huge jerk. I am SO lucky to have a partner in this.

Nah, vent on us whenever you need to. Beats the heck out of venting on hubby!

Carl
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Some people would be envious that DH is willing and able to test and shoot and was there to catch the low numbers.

My first month of testing was done without a second set of hands.... just a beach towel around Grayson and wedged between me & the table to hold him still. Count your blessings! Again, I'm green w/ envy! :mrgreen:
 
OMG Carl, thanks for the walk down memory lane.

Holly, this is the best and safest place to vent ever, we get it. So vent anytime you need, don't feel bad and don't look back.

Tomorrow is a new day.
 
Robin,
You're welcome! The whole "Petunia" saga still makes me lol when I reread it. :lol:

It was fun looking back, and I found a lot of useful information while I was looking. :smile:

Anybody who doesn't do it much, using the "advanced search" function, and narrowing it down to just the PZI forum will help answer a lot of questions if you're ever around with a question and nobody seems to be online to answer...

Carl
 
Glad to see she's still holding her own, something I do not mind being wrong about at all! Keep it up, you don't have much longer until you start your countdown, anti-jinx!!!!
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
Holly,
Everybody here has had at least one or two "moments", so don't sweat it! We're here to keep each other "up" as much as we are for the kitties. In most cases, one or more of us will defuse the drama with humor. If you look back, there's been some pretty humorous threads in the past 10 months or so I've been reading here!
Some of our finer moments...
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=57718&p=626425&
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=52238
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=54537&p=589880&


Gosh, I wish I hadn't written this post. I sound like a huge jerk. I am SO lucky to have a partner in this.

Nah, vent on us whenever you need to. Beats the heck out of venting on hubby!

Carl

You guys are so funny. Thanks for sharing. I loved the one with the cats "talking" to each other!
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
Holly,
Everybody here has had at least one or two "moments", so don't sweat it! We're here to keep each other "up" as much as we are for the kitties. In most cases, one or more of us will defuse the drama with humor. If you look back, there's been some pretty humorous threads in the past 10 months or so I've been reading here!
Some of our finer moments...
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=57718&p=626425&
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=52238
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=54537&p=589880&


Gosh, I wish I hadn't written this post. I sound like a huge jerk. I am SO lucky to have a partner in this.

Nah, vent on us whenever you need to. Beats the heck out of venting on hubby!

Carl

Very true!!!
 
Grayson & Lu said:
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Some people would be envious that DH is willing and able to test and shoot and was there to catch the low numbers.

My first month of testing was done without a second set of hands.... just a beach towel around Grayson and wedged between me & the table to hold him still. Count your blessings! Again, I'm green w/ envy! :mrgreen:

I know, I know! I was just having a "moment"! I really DO appreciate that the hubby and I are able to do this together!
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
OMG Carl, thanks for the walk down memory lane.

Holly, this is the best and safest place to vent ever, we get it. So vent anytime you need, don't feel bad and don't look back.

Tomorrow is a new day.

Thanks! Glad you guys are so patient with me!
 
Catannc said:
Glad to see she's still holding her own, something I do not mind being wrong about at all! Keep it up, you don't have much longer until you start your countdown, anti-jinx!!!!

Me, too! And I was wrong too... luckily... see my next post!
 
So I was VERY wrong yesterday in so many ways.

First, I shouldn't have gotten frustrated with my husband. He was just doing his best and I AM so lucky to have his help. We are lucky to have each other. Thank you guys for reminding me of that.

Secondly, I thought Josie would have a regular 12 hour cycle, due to the quick jump up from the higher carb food. I was wrong about that.

But what I couldn't have predicted was that at +35, she would be at 120!!! So no shot for 35 hours and the insulin has been out of her system completely for almost 24 hours.

I am not ready to say this is an OTJ trial (I'm not even sure when people usually start saying that) but I can say she is dosed "as needed" and it's been awhile since she's needed a shot!
 
:RAHCAT
COME ON JOSIE YOU CAN DO IT!

OTJ is 14 days without insulin. Then its party time. You call the date for a OTJ board party.

Baxter & I can't wait we want to attend a party soon.
 
I think in your own head you're already calling this day 1.5 no insulin, but I think for the most part we've all breathed easier once we've gotten past the 36-48 hour mark. Don't be disappointed if she needs another shot or two, the three of you are doing great and I think it's almost over......soon you can sleep without worrying or getting up to test!
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
:RAHCAT
COME ON JOSIE YOU CAN DO IT!

OTJ is 14 days without insulin. Then its party time. You call the date for a OTJ board party.

Baxter & I can't wait we want to attend a party soon.


Thanks for the encouragement!
 
Catannc said:
I think in your own head you're already calling this day 1.5 no insulin, but I think for the most part we've all breathed easier once we've gotten past the 36-48 hour mark. Don't be disappointed if she needs another shot or two, the three of you are doing great and I think it's almost over......soon you can sleep without worrying or getting up to test!

Oh, yeah, I figure she will probably need another shot or two. I think that's why I wouldn't call this an OTJ trial, I think that's when you have the expectation that you will not be giving any hots, whereas I expect that we will have to at some point soon. (Or is an OTJ trial the period AFTER you go 14 days without insulin? I get these things mixed up.) When she does need another shot, I wonder if I should give the same amount I've been giving? A skinny .5? Or should I reduce it? Thinking I shouldn't increase it, since she got pretty low yesterday. But I'm not sure!
 
The OTJ "trial" is the 14 day period where if BG is always below 150 and the majority of the time it is below 100 your cat is considered diet controlled and in remission. Some people do a true trial where the numbers aren't really low enough, like in the upper 100's because they aren't comfortable shooting at that point and see how it goes. If the numbers truely aren't high enough to shoot, like with Josie, you're not really giving her a trial...she's just shoot as needed and technically your countdown has started already, you are just over Day 1.5 of 14.

If she gets high enough to shoot I would stick to the same dose, that 0.5u works and I wouldn't try less since it's unproven that it will work. There seems to be a threshold in some cats where anything less does nothing, but the first dose that does anything really does a lot. Yesterday was a beautiful cycle, and being that your lows were exactly what you would want sans insulin I would keep trying it. Behavior at low numbers is really key, cat's don't always show when they are dangerously low, but if she is normal I wouldn't worry too much unless she reads very low like below 40. With Kitten we would see if she would play when the numbers were low, and she would go bonkers on her toys so we just let her be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top