Josie 4/3 - 4/5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4

After a flat AM cycle in the 300's, this last cycle has been very good to us!

PMPS - 377
+3 - 249
+4 - 200
+5 - 150
+9 - 89
+12 - 87
+13 - 81
+15 - 101

Now, if we can just prevent this awesome cycle from going into another crappy cycle like it did yesterday...
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Looking promising, hope you can catch that rise again and have a better "flat" cycle then you have been. Seems like Mr. P wants to play, hope the feeding are helping him pary for longer. Trap Mr. P!!!
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Catannc said:
Looking promising, hope you can catch that rise again and have a better "flat" cycle then you have been. Seems like Mr. P wants to play, hope the feeding are helping him pary for longer. Trap Mr. P!!!

I hope so, too! I hate it how she's in the 100's for a cycle then in the 300's for the next. Her pancreas really seems to turn on and off quickly.

I'm just a little bit scared to shoot a full dose into anything in the 100's. Yet, once she starts to rise I feel like a reduced dose doesn't usually work well. I'm considering waiting until 200 and then just shooting the full dose.
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

So what happened? Sorry, my pc crashed and have to use phone.
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Catannc said:
So what happened? Sorry, my pc crashed and have to use phone.

She stayed under 150 until 5am, which was +21. At that point she hit 151. I was torn on whether to go ahead and shoot a reduced dose or to wait and see. I decided to wait and see. She has gotten up around there and decreased again and so I was nervous to give her insulin at that point.

Then she hung around 180 for another two hours. At that point, I thought I'd just let her get to 200 exactly and then shoot a full dose. Well, dang it, within 30 minutes she jumped from 180 to 246. We shot a skinny .5 just under 24 hours after her last dose.

I feel REALLY bad about missing that jump. I didn't want her to get that high. And I regret not shooting at 151. But I was afraid she would either drop again and even a reduced dose would be too much OR that she would rapidly increase and the reduced dose wouldn't have been enough. Basically I was scared that any decision I would make would be wrong so I decided to wait and see. But in hindsight, if I had known that she'd stay between 150-180 for three hours, I'd have given her .3 or something. That probably would have been perfect.
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

I know what you mean about wanting to catch that number. Hershey always slips it by me in less than :30, no matter how far under it he was just :30 before...

Looking really good!!

Hope y'all have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Doug N Libby said:
I know what you mean about wanting to catch that number. Hershey always slips it by me in less than :30, no matter how far under it he was just :30 before...

Looking really good!!

Hope y'all have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)

I know, it's so frusrating when that happens. But in this case, I definitely should have seen it coming.

Hope you have a good day, too!
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Well, that was an amazing run, hope she gets right back to it today. So she basically skipped a whole cycle and didn't get rediculously high! More greens please, Josie!
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Catannc said:
Well, that was an amazing run, hope she gets right back to it today. So she basically skipped a whole cycle and didn't get rediculously high! More greens please, Josie!

Yep, I was happy to see that she could skip and entire cycle and stay under 300. Would have been nice for her to stay under 200, but I guess I can only ask for so much! One thing I was excited about, was that she's never really been under 100 after the insulin has worn off. Last night she was under 100 until +15. (And then stayed right at 100 for another two hours or so.) It's great progress, but with her you just never know. So I try not to get too excited.
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Catannc said:
How's she doing today?

Not too bad, but I don't think we are going to have a super long cycle like today or yesterday.

Lets see...

AMPS - 249, gave a skinny .5
+3 - 282
+5 - 221
+9 - 99 - fed a small snack
+11 - 84 - she seemed hungry, so fed a very small snack
+12.5 - 113 - apparently I shouldn't have fed that extra snack

So, Mr. P is at work, but I don't think he's going to stay a super long time. Certainly not 6-12 hours. That jump between +11 and +12.5 makes me think she's moving up faster than yesterday and the day before.
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

The important thing is you got back to Back cycles! Mr. P seems to kick in late once he got a nap, but he came back!
 
Re: Josie 4/3 & 4/4 - Welcome back, Mr. P!

Catannc said:
The important thing is you got back to Back cycles! Mr. P seems to kick in late once he got a nap, but he came back!

That's true, I almost forgot it was two cycles in a row, since it's been over 24 hours!

And I might've been wrong about Mr. P not stick around long. I tested at +14 and she's at 94!
 
You guys are doing great, Mr. P seems to like your place! Josie is the cutest thing, don't tell Ms Kitten. Seems like the feedings help her, keep it up Josie!
 
WOW - what a nice couple of days. Sorry I was tied up and didn't post much. Just read through the thread... WOW!!!

Hope you'll see great numbers continue again today. What a nice surf in the greens!!!
 
Catannc said:
You guys are doing great, Mr. P seems to like your place! Josie is the cutest thing, don't tell Ms Kitten. Seems like the feedings help her, keep it up Josie!

Aw, thanks. We love our chubby little girl! And Kitten is gorgeous. I love her unique markings!

The smaller feedings do help her quite a bit, I think!
 
Catannc said:
nailbite_smile

?????

I know, I've been MIA since last night! I burned my thumb on a HOT pan last night, and it hurt too much to type. And then this morning, I had to take one of my other cats to the vet.

Josie did GREAT last night. She went 23 hours until she hit 202. We gave her a skinny .5. Buuuuut I screwed up. For some reason I was thinking she had eaten more than she had and I only gave her about half an ounce with her insulin. Usually I give more like a full ounce. Well, I had my husband test her at +3 when I was on my way to vet with my other cat and she was at 98. That is SUPER low for her for +3. So I told him to give her 1/2 tablespoon of higher, but still low carb, food. (7 carbs per can vs. 3 carbs per can.)

I came home and he had given her at least twice that much. Maybe more. I was hoping to keep her steady at 98 through +6. Well, at +5 she was at 116 and I hope she's not rising. Or if she is I hope Mr. P will visit anyway. But with the extra carbs he may stay away this cycle, which sucks. I know the hubby was only trying to help but grrrr! We don't want her to crash but we are trying to encourage low numbers! So who knows what will happen with this cycle.
 
Grayson & Lu said:
WOW - what a nice couple of days. Sorry I was tied up and didn't post much. Just read through the thread... WOW!!!

Hope you'll see great numbers continue again today. What a nice surf in the greens!!!

Aw, thank you! She's been doing great. Oh and I understand about not posting much sometimes. I try to read everyone's threads, but I never post as much I would like. Heck, I don't post as much to my OWN threads as I want or need!
 
I wouldn't be too worried about that plus3, from here on would stick with low carb. I actually think she will continue to drop through 10 as she has lately. Great day today, majority of day will be spent in non diabetic numbers hopefully,I would expect 24 hour cycles to continue and nadir to continue to drop, keep with it, hope Mr P decides to take over soon, numbers are very promising.

Yes, kitten has a nice medallion, dh wants to figure out how to attach a gold chain and clock hands to it so she can go as Flava Flave for Halloween.he has issues.
 
Unfortunately, I was right. This will be a 12 hour cycle. She is 189 at +11. My first thought was "I wish I hadn't told my husband to feed her the 7% carb food!" (She normally gets 2% or 3%). And I also couldn't help but think "I wish he hadn't given her so much of it!"

But now I am starting to wonder if the problem is that we didn't feed her a snack around +5-+7. We ALWAYS feed her a snack then and her numbers always drop. She was hanging out around 115 from during this time and because we didn't feed, I think her pancreas left and she went up.

Dang it, I really keep messing up the food today! Well, we can hope for a long cycle next time. I guess I can be pleased that even if this wasn't a long cycle, the numbers were good (up until now!). I definitely have no right to complain!
 
Catannc said:
I wouldn't be too worried about that plus3, from here on would stick with low carb. I actually think she will continue to drop through 10 as she has lately. Great day today, majority of day will be spent in non diabetic numbers hopefully,I would expect 24 hour cycles to continue and nadir to continue to drop, keep with it, hope Mr P decides to take over soon, numbers are very promising.

Yes, kitten has a nice medallion, dh wants to figure out how to attach a gold chain and clock hands to it so she can go as Flava Flave for Halloween.he has issues.

You think even food that's still low carb but higher than normal should probably be off limits? I am beginning to think so, after today. The weird thing is I fed her this SAME food on Monday when she dropped from 377 to 106 at +3. Of course, that was a bigger drop. AND I don't think I fed her even half as much as my husband did today. Well, I can certainly say I will be more cautious before I consider giving her anything besides her normal food.

Dang it, I wish you had been right! Of course, you probably wouldn't have guessed I'd be silly and not give her a snack which she obviously needed to stimulate her pancreas. That'll be the last time I choose not to do that.

Haha, your husband's too funny.
 
+11 - 362!!!

Is this some sort of a joke? How does she go from 189 at +10 to 362 at +11? I fed her a little bit and then gave the shot about 30 minutes early.

Oh, and it wasn't the meter being wonky. That's happened before, but I retested and got 341, so it's accurate.
 
Mr p just didn't want to play today, mutt not even have been the food, he been doing lotsof work lately. The plus three wouldn't have happened if he wasn't hanging out at that point, feeding lee at shoot is probably a good thing if you can be home to give more regular food when she gets to around 100, the food will hopefully continue to simulate the pancreas and keep the drop going, really would like to see her around 60, think mr. p right now doesn't realize that he should be getting lower than the 90s. We didn't see Mr. p create nice low non diabetic numbers until I forced her down into the 40s at plus 3,4. Scary, but it worked.
 
Catannc said:
Mr p just didn't want to play today, mutt not even have been the food, he been doing lotsof work lately. The plus three wouldn't have happened if he wasn't hanging out at that point, feeding lee at shoot is probably a good thing if you can be home to give more regular food when she gets to around 100, the food will hopefully continue to simulate the pancreas and keep the drop going, really would like to see her around 60, think mr. p right now doesn't realize that he should be getting lower than the 90s. We didn't see Mr. p create nice low non diabetic numbers until I forced her down into the 40s at plus 3,4. Scary, but it worked.

Mr. P was tired, I'm sure. I think I am going to have to learn to be a bit braver. The thing is, I'm do well with low numbers when they happen later. Last Saturday. I hadn't tested her until +7 and she was at 62. I She stayed there until +12 and I did great with that. But I kinda freak when it's early because I think how much lower is she going to go?? I think I need to be braver!
 
Probably a good idea.

Here's my thinking....you run tests on the dose for many days, ECID, but there is a pattern. If suddenly you go much lower than that pattern, and you didn't screw dose up, then that's Mr. P. Josie is in a place kinda in between being non-diabetic and diabetic, So the days Mr. P plays you would expect her to drop way down within the hour or two after food, and that +3 is to be expected and desired, but there is still insulin for a few hours and you worry about that. I just think provide her with her regular food, small snacks, and watch her, but don't intervene unless something is wrong. Still of the opinion that insulin to her right now is triggering the P and helping to produce your curves, but that the curves are not insulin alone.

You're doing great, figureing a lot out this week!
 
Catannc said:
Probably a good idea.

Here's my thinking....you run tests on the dose for many days, ECID, but there is a pattern. If suddenly you go much lower than that pattern, and you didn't screw dose up, then that's Mr. P. Josie is in a place kinda in between being non-diabetic and diabetic, So the days Mr. P plays you would expect her to drop way down within the hour or two after food, and that +3 is to be expected and desired, but there is still insulin for a few hours and you worry about that. I just think provide her with her regular food, small snacks, and watch her, but don't intervene unless something is wrong. Still of the opinion that insulin to her right now is triggering the P and helping to produce your curves, but that the curves are not insulin alone.

You're doing great, figureing a lot out this week!

I think you're right. I should have fed a bit of her regular food and tested for awhile before doing anything else. The goal is to have lower numbers, after all. Sometimes I think I momentarily forget that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top