Josie - 3/8 - faster drop after AM shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Josie

Active Member
For the first time, Josie went a bit low after her AM shot (midnight). She has done this several times after the PM shot (noon). But never the AM shot until last night. She usually doesn't drop below the 200's during this time, and because of this, we give her more insulin then. Well, she decided to change things on us last night! This might have been partially because she didn't eat all of her food right away. We normally try to get her to eat most of her food before her shot and then the rest within the first hour. When I checked on her after about 2.5 hours, I realized that she'd only eaten about 3/4 of her food and so we decided to test.

AMPS - 309 - 1.25 units
+2.5 - 206 - got her eat most of the rest of her food
+3.5 - 108 - gave her some more EVO
+4.5 - 97 - gave her a tbsp low carb wet
+5 - 81 - another tablespoon of low carb wet\
+5.5 - 97
+6 - 117
+9 - 238

It looks like we are going to cut back on her insulin after the AMPS, as well. Maybe .50 -.75, depending on the reading? The frustrating thing is that if we give her a low amount (.50) she stays kind of flat. If we give her 1.0 or more, she drops fast.

Also, I am wondering if I should have given her the extra food at all last night, judging by the +9. I have a feeling her PMPS will be high and that makes me sad. I definitely think I should have made her eat the rest of her meal, but maybe I shouldn't have fed extra and let her get a bit lower? Sometimes I think I am paranoid about hypos to her detriment.
 
Holly -

That's actually a VERY nice curve. I think you handled the rate of drop quite well, and no, I don't think you're paranoid at all. Just on top of the situation. Give yourself some credit - you're really doing very well!!! +9 came up a little, but not that much in the big picture. She still has some room to climb without it being a concern. Relax - you're good!

Lu-Ann
 
OK, PMPS just in via text from hubby ... 309.

I am definitely thinking between .50 - .75, does anyone have any thoughts on which would be best? My husband thinks .75, I have no idea at this point!
 
Grayson & Lu said:
Holly -

That's actually a VERY nice curve. I think you handled the rate of drop quite well, and no, I don't think you're paranoid at all. Just on top of the situation. Give yourself some credit - you're really doing very well!!! +9 came up a little, but not that much in the big picture. She still has some room to climb without it being a concern. Relax - you're good!

Lu-Ann

Aw, thanks! You are so nice! Now that I see her PMPS is 309, I feel less like I made a mistake. I was thinking it might be quite a bit higher, which I would have definitely assumed I caused with the extra snacks!
 
I think I'm going to vote for the .75u. It's hard to tell what the doses have been doing because of all the bounding around.

I expected a much higher number too, glad it didn't happen.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
I think I'm going to vote for the .75u. It's hard to tell what the doses have been doing because of all the bounding around.

I expected a much higher number too, glad it didn't happen.

Thanks for your input! Yep, there's been a LOT of bouncing around, which I hate. But I honestly don't feel like I can keep any consistency. Maybe I will be able to keep .75 for awhile? Maybe that won't make her go super high or super low and I can just see what that dose for awhile? I sure hope so!
 
That's what I was thinking. Lower the dose a bit, let the swings stop and see what a normal cycle looks like and start increasing by small amounts and let her get used to it.

Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top