Josie 3/22

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Josie

Member Since 2012
Josie has been SO flat today. Flat would be fine, if her numbers were lower, but I'm not happy with flat in the 240-300 range. Especially not for what will likely be for 24 hours straight.

Part of me feels I should increase her dose, that .5 is just not enough, but with her you just never know. One day, .5 is not enough and the next it's too much. So I'm hesitant to increase. But I hate feeling as though my own fears are causing me to under dose her.

AMPS - 301, gave .5
+4 - 261
+6 - 253
PMPS - 273, gave .5
+3.5 - 273 (seriously, not even down 1 point?)
+6 - 245
 
Hi Holly,

I didn't realize the Josie was a beautiful Orinch, oh how I'm partial to the Orinch ones.

I wouldn't raise the dose. I know today was flat but the last two days you ended up having to stall your PMPS. Today's flat cycle might be a mini bounce.

I think I would reduce by .1u or a skinny .5u, maybe more.
 
She IS beautiful Holly! I have several orinch ones in my tribe too. They are SOOOOO loving! :-D

Have you tracked her food spikes to see how long they last w/ various foods? I just started tracking what I'm giving Grayson, to minimize the variables that can contribute to his flat numbers. Since he likes to eat throughout the cycle, I'm sure that's part of why he stays at the IHOP! He typically spikes about 30-40 points from a meal, and doesn't usually come down until about +4, so that may not be as big of an issue as it seems. You may want to track the food and record the spikes. When I'm home and he thinks he needs several additional meals, we opt for the Ocean Whitefish (FF Classic) - 0 carb - which doesn't spike him at all. Not to use it too often, but when doing this kind of analysis, it's a good thing to know.
 
Aw, thanks you guys for the compliments on Josie! I was so excited to put her picture up. She is precious and we just adore her. And I LOVE orange cats. Some might say I "collect" them, ha! Josie is obviously orange, Simba is almost red and Mittens is orange and white. And my mom just rescued an orange and white kitten so by extension he's mine, too. lol.

I'll reply to you individually in just a second.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Hi Holly,

I didn't realize the Josie was a beautiful Orinch, oh how I'm partial to the Orinch ones.

I wouldn't raise the dose. I know today was flat but the last two days you ended up having to stall your PMPS. Today's flat cycle might be a mini bounce.

I think I would reduce by .1u or a skinny .5u, maybe more.

So... you are right about not increasing the dose. I just tested at 8+ and she's at 162! That's pretty good, I think, and she may go a bit lower still.

You're thinking to reduce to make the pre-shots a more shootable number?
 
Holly and Josie said:
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Hi Holly,

I didn't realize the Josie was a beautiful Orinch, oh how I'm partial to the Orinch ones.

I wouldn't raise the dose. I know today was flat but the last two days you ended up having to stall your PMPS. Today's flat cycle might be a mini bounce.

I think I would reduce by .1u or a skinny .5u, maybe more.

So... you are right about not increasing the dose. I just tested at 8+ and she's at 162! That's pretty good, I think, and she may go a bit lower still.

You're thinking to reduce to make the pre-shots a more shootable number?

Yes I would reduce to get more shootable PS's without having to stall.
 
Grayson & Lu said:
She IS beautiful Holly! I have several orinch ones in my tribe too. They are SOOOOO loving! :-D

Have you tracked her food spikes to see how long they last w/ various foods? I just started tracking what I'm giving Grayson, to minimize the variables that can contribute to his flat numbers. Since he likes to eat throughout the cycle, I'm sure that's part of why he stays at the IHOP! He typically spikes about 30-40 points from a meal, and doesn't usually come down until about +4, so that may not be as big of an issue as it seems. You may want to track the food and record the spikes. When I'm home and he thinks he needs several additional meals, we opt for the Ocean Whitefish (FF Classic) - 0 carb - which doesn't spike him at all. Not to use it too often, but when doing this kind of analysis, it's a good thing to know.

I think you are on to something here. I was looking a my spreadsheet and thinking that you know, when my husband feeds her she goes lower when I feed her. So I think the food spikes are impacting things. Ideally, we try to feed a set amount between the pre-shot test and the shot. In reality, Josie is NOT easy to feed. She's a good eater, when she wants to eat. Otherwise, we literally have to hold the plate under her face until she finishes eating. I have more patience for this than my husband and will make sure she eats everything or close. He gives up easier. So I am thinking this is why some doses seem more effective than others.

OMG, Josie loves the Ocean Whitefish and I did not know it had NO carbs! She only eats it occasionally but that is awesome information!
 
So I mentioned this in my reply to Rob and Harley but she is at 162 at 8+. What is with these super late peaks? Traditionally, she peaked between 5+ and 7+. Now it's 8+ or later? Is there some thing where the less insulin you give the later it peaks? Or maybe it has something to do with the food. (It's completely worn off by 8+?) Josie always keeps me guessing!
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Holly and Josie said:
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Hi Holly,

I didn't realize the Josie was a beautiful Orinch, oh how I'm partial to the Orinch ones.

I wouldn't raise the dose. I know today was flat but the last two days you ended up having to stall your PMPS. Today's flat cycle might be a mini bounce.

I think I would reduce by .1u or a skinny .5u, maybe more.

So... you are right about not increasing the dose. I just tested at 8+ and she's at 162! That's pretty good, I think, and she may go a bit lower still.

You're thinking to reduce to make the pre-shots a more shootable number?

Yes I would reduce to get more shootable PS's without having to stall.

OK, thanks, I will have my husband give a skinny .5 tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top