Holly and Josie
Active Member
For the past few days Josie's numbers have been very confusing! One thing that keeps happening, that I don't understand, is that her numbers appear to be lower at the pre-shot than they are at what has normally been her peak (+5 - +7). This has happened 4 times since Friday, including this afternoon's PMPS.
These numbers are low enough (between 100-180) that I don't feel comfortable giving her insulin. What happens is that we keep waiting and keep testing and wind up giving her shot anywhere from +2 - +6. This has caused us to get off schedule, get back on schedule and get off schedule again.
It happened again today:
Her AMPS (11pm) was 148. Too low to shoot. Fed, waited 2 hours
+2 - 388. Gave .75 units.
+5 was 200.
+10.5 - 148. We're testing her again in a few minutes, but I think she'll be too low to shoot again.
The weird thing is, I don't think she is dropping way low between +5 and the PMPS. (Although I don't know that for sure.) I feel like she is just gradually getting lower even though the shot is wearing off.
Does anyone have any insight on this? Is her pancreas picking up the slack when the insulin wears off?
I'm not sure if I should go ahead and give her a small dose, to support her pancreas, rather than waiting for her to rise again (and getting completely off schedule?)
I am glad she is getting these lower numbers, but I am very confused!
These numbers are low enough (between 100-180) that I don't feel comfortable giving her insulin. What happens is that we keep waiting and keep testing and wind up giving her shot anywhere from +2 - +6. This has caused us to get off schedule, get back on schedule and get off schedule again.
It happened again today:
Her AMPS (11pm) was 148. Too low to shoot. Fed, waited 2 hours
+2 - 388. Gave .75 units.
+5 was 200.
+10.5 - 148. We're testing her again in a few minutes, but I think she'll be too low to shoot again.
The weird thing is, I don't think she is dropping way low between +5 and the PMPS. (Although I don't know that for sure.) I feel like she is just gradually getting lower even though the shot is wearing off.
Does anyone have any insight on this? Is her pancreas picking up the slack when the insulin wears off?
I'm not sure if I should go ahead and give her a small dose, to support her pancreas, rather than waiting for her to rise again (and getting completely off schedule?)
I am glad she is getting these lower numbers, but I am very confused!