Jose's PMPS is 210 what should I dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebecca & Jose

Member Since 2014
Jose was given 1.5 units of ProZinc this morning. It was time for his pm shot and his first BG reading was 199. I just tested again 15 minutes later and it's 210. His AMPS was 235 and he did well today but I'm thinking 1.5 might be too mush for his PS of 210. Would 1 unit be ok?
 
Jose is getting some lovely greens and you are managing doses very well. Looks like the one unit was the perfect choice last night. As long as you can monitor, the more time he spends under 250, the more time his pancreas has to heal.
 
Thank you! Can you explain more about the pancreas healing? I knew that with diabetes the pancreas doesn't produce enough of its own insulin but I was not aware that it could heal itself. Is that when some cats are able to stop needing insulin?
 
Yes, cats can go into remission, unlike dogs and people. We call it diet controlled, because higher carb foods can cause a cat to lose those remission numbers.

Here is an explanation from Marje and Gracie:

"And, finally, I read an article that further supports what Sienne said about the pancreas needing a break. It said when numbers first come down to normal and the beta cells start to heal, they are fragile. Because they are fragile, they can stop working. So I think that the longer a kitty stays in healing numbers, the stronger the beta cells can become until they are ready to take over the job and provide endogenous insulin."

We think the threshold below which the pancreas can "rest" and heal is 250 or so. So the more time spent at those levels, the better.

One thing that seems to help support the pancreas are small, frequent meals. Not more food, just what you are normally feeding split into several meals a day and night. An automatic feeder is wonderful for this as you can set it to go to an empty slot two hours before you want a preshot test. Another way people use is to freeze the food (a silicon muffin pan is great for this) and leave it out to thaw and be eaten over time. (have to say this did not work for Oliver. He dragged the frozen puck all over the house - of course mostly on the carpets- and ate the pieces as they flaked off). We did much better with our feeder, the PetSafe 5.
 
Thank you for the explanation. Jose's AMPS is 168. Not sure how much to give him now. Each cycle his PSs are lower.
 
168 isn't that far from 210. Are you going to be home to monitor? Maybe 1U 0r .8U if you aren't.

I'm sure someone will be around, what time do you need to shoot?
 
He's at 177 now. I was supposed to shoot an hour ago but woke up a little late and then wanted to wait for some input before I decided how much to give him.
 
I'll be around too. I'd suggest getting a +4, +6, +8 test and see if you can narrow down his nadir.

Jose getting lower and lower preshots is a GOOD thing! If he continues on that path it will get to the point of no insulin and food controlled, which is remission. There are some cats that do that in just a couple months, some take much longer and some will be on tiny amounts of insulin for ever. No matter which it is, they are much healthier and happier having the proper care.

I know it is frustrating and intimidating in the beginning, I was there a year ago, but it does get easier.
 
I replied on your other thread also. Looks like he is headed up so one unit should be okay as long as you monitor.

Just in case he dips low: If you get a number in the 50s, feed a little low carb and retest in 25-30 minutes to see if he is headed up. If so, retest again in 30 minutes. If he is still headed down, feed a tablespoon of the gravy off higher carb food (If you don't have any, you need to get some) and retest in 30 minutes. If he is still headed down and below 40, put some honey on his gums and post on Health for help with a 911. We don't like to see them under 40.

Looks like lower numbers might be in your future. (anti jinx) Lots of people here dose in tiny amounts using U100 needles and the conversion chart:

Conversion chart

Start another thread if you decide to do that and ask people specifically where they got their needles and which kind.
 
You're doing a great job with Jose! :-D The 1u seems to be looking good so far. I'll be interested to see how it goes for him today. Hoping for some safe surfing in some green numbers today! You also might think about starting to post Jose's daily updates in "condo" format. If you look at the PZI board, you can see how some of the others (myself included) basically post a daily thread with the date, the kitty's name, AMPS, etc. It's a nice easy way for others to follow along with your kitty's progress. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top