Jose AMPS too low. Need help adjusting dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebecca & Jose

Member Since 2014
If someone could look at Jose's spreadsheet and help me out on what to adjust his dose to. I just started home testing and have found that the dose of 3 units Jose was prescribed by the vet was way too much and I reduced it to 2.5 last night but this morning his AMPS was 177 and 30 minutes later it was 171. I fed him with no insulin and have been testing him every hour. He is rising and I'm wondering when I should give him his next insulin dose. He is on Prozinc.
 
His level went down after rising. I'm not sure what to think of his up and down levels. I could use some insight as to why this happens. Thanks!
 
Did you last feed at breakfast at AMPS time? He's not really rising much further than the low 200's despite no insulin since the PM. That slight rise into the 250's could be simply a food spike. It could be that his pancreas is kicking in and helping bring down the blood glucose from his food, since it does look like he may be going down slightly. I should point out that the numbers are pretty close together. Meters are generally considered to have up to a 20% variance, so a reading of 200 is basically the same as a reading of 240 or 160. Let's see where he's at at PMPS time. I'm thinking you go down to 1u, depending on where Nemo's at by PMPS and see what results you get. Those flat 200's are not bad at all considering no shot.
 
Yes Jose last ate after his AMPS test. I have had him on a feeding schedule of 1/2 of a 5.5oz low carb can right before his AM shot, another 1/2 of 5.5oz low carb can 6 hours later, and then a third 1/2 can right before his PM shot of insulin.

Should I change his feeding to only twice a day right before his insulin shots?

Thank you for responding!
 
Many diabetics seem to do better with multiple meals throughout the day. The smaller meals are thought to be easier on the pancreas. Conversely, a big meal is thought to strain the pancreas' ability to produce enough insulin to bring down the higher BG after a big meal. No need to change how you're feeding. :smile:
 
Hi Rebecca,

Glad you made your way over here. So glad you are testing! 3 units at last night pmps would have been terrible.

You can wait until your usual time to shoot tonight, unless it fits your schedule better and then you could shoot earlier. You just need to be able to shoot again 12 hours from your shot tonight. He will definitely be rising but I would post with his number and ask for help. I think I would reduce the dose even if he climbs up to the 300s by shot time.

You do test before feeding, correct?
 
Will it be safe to give him 2 units? I will not be around until about +6 to test him so I cannot monitor his levels afterward.
 
Thank you for the guidance. I just got home and tested him at +5 and he is at 63. I'm going to stay up a bit longer to test him again to make sure he does go down too much more. I know that the nadir is usually around this time but I want to be sure.
 
It looks like Jose did okay on the two units on a 300. If you get something near 200 this am, i would reduce the dose to one or 1.5, if you can monitor.
 
I agree with your dosing of 1.5U on that reading. Sounds like Jose's pancreas is trying to help out a little which is a good thing. Sue is the guru of Prozinc so I would listen to her as far as dosing advice. She helped me with my sugar baby a ton over the last 8 months. Welcome to both you and Jose!
 
I'll also throw my two cents in agreeing with Sue. :smile: Sue is my go to person when I'm scratching my head on what to dose my kitty, Eddie. :smile: 2u looked about perfect last night on that higher pre-shot number and 1 or 1.5u looks good for the lower pre-shot he got this morning.

Looks like Jose needs a quite a bit less insulin than you thought which is a good thing!
 
Nothing to say that hasn't been said.

I will add, that a lot of vets prescribe too much insulin. Mine did the same, 3U and with a low carb diet, that would have killed my Lucian. So glad you are testing and could see that it was too much. :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top