Hi. Jordan is 9, female maine coon, and was diagnosed diabetic November 2012. Due to family disagreement tried diet modification that first year but late 2013 realized she had dropped several pounds and was toooo thin. I took over all medical care and she is now on insulin. Started with PZI but discontinued after 5 months, doses over 8U BID and additional weight loss. Currently trying out Levemir but having a hard time - her preshot levels are in the low 300's but this evening's PMPS was 489! Will create a spreadsheet tomorrow so you can see. Scared me so I finally decided to join instead of just reading as a guest.
Query: I looked at another member's SS for Lev and saw that the dose was being increased every 4 doses - I thought the dose needed to be stable for 3-5 days to give kitty's body a chance to adjust. Was the purpose of the swift increases an attempt to break through insulin resistance?
I have to go (it's late) but thought perhaps you kind folks would give this a peek and maybe drop me a line. My vet has no experience with Levemir and is considering us a test case. Feeling a little adrift here... :?
Query: I looked at another member's SS for Lev and saw that the dose was being increased every 4 doses - I thought the dose needed to be stable for 3-5 days to give kitty's body a chance to adjust. Was the purpose of the swift increases an attempt to break through insulin resistance?
I have to go (it's late) but thought perhaps you kind folks would give this a peek and maybe drop me a line. My vet has no experience with Levemir and is considering us a test case. Feeling a little adrift here... :?