Joplin PMBG: 308 - advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
Good morning all,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122918&p=1277690#p1277690

Joplin had his hypo on Saturday night. It is now Monday morning and it has come time for me to go to work. I unfortunately will need to be gone today from 8am-4pm (and I will be roughly 2 hours from home). Normally my husband is home but he happens to be traveling this week. As you can see from Joplin's SS, I got up in the middle of the night to check on him and he was at 167, and now an hour before his shot he is at 96. I need to leave the house in an hour. What do I do? Feed him and test again right before I leave....skip this morning's shot all together?
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

Sorry, can't give advice, but just wanted to say, same boat here (minus the hypo).......I am sure someone will be along soon who can help us both out :)
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

Hello! If it were my cat I would stall 30 min without food and test again to see if you get a rising #. Then if rising you can shoot a reduced dose to be safe, or since you wont be home, it may be better to skip. Sorry, but I cant tell you what to do..ecid...but maybe stalling for a bit someone else will chime in soon.
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

I am telling work I have to be an hour late, so I will be here until 8:30 at this point (it's 7:15 now). I will test again in 15 mins. but I'm thinking I might want to skip the shot all together. What i'm wondering is if I should feed his regular food (low carb) or give him some higher carb (FF gravy lovers) this morning. I hate to do this to him, as he might be regulating right now and this number might be GREAT, but at the same time I can't imagine if something happens when I'm that far away :sad:
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

Stall, don't feed and restest in about 20 minutes. Considering the hypo the other day and you're inability to stay home to test, I think the safest thing to do would be to either skip the shot entirely, or just give a small token dose IF he's obviously climbing.

I can't be here to stay if you decide to shoot, but there's information at the top of the group on Shooting and Handling Low numbers...but again, with the hypo a few days ago, it's possible he's much more sensitive to insulin than he had been so skipping may be your safest option
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

I am a nervous due to the recent hypo and the fact that we don't have many cycles with the 2 units yet to see how Joplin responds.

I think I would lean toward just skipping the shot today.
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

Chris & China said:
Stall, don't feed and restest in about 20 minutes. Considering the hypo the other day and you're inability to stay home to test, I think the safest thing to do would be to either skip the shot entirely, or just give a small token dose IF she's obviously climbing.

I can't be here to stay if you decide to shoot, but there's information at the top of the group on Shooting and Handling Low numbers...but again, with the hypo a few days ago, it's possible he's much more sensitive to insulin than he had been so skipping may be your safest option

Thanks Chris. He is now at 79. I just fed him his regular food, and will test before I leave in half an hour.
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

I agree that skipping is best! Also, can you change the AMPS to AMBG..just so all know that you skipped..AMPS means that you gave the shot.
Thanks!
 
Re: Joplin AMPS: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

I also agree that at this point, given the hypo and not being able to monitor today, skipping is your safest bet.
 
Re: Joplin AMBG: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

I am glad that you decided to skip. As I started reading down the condo I was so hoping that is what you would do. You definitely can't risk a hypo while away. Is there anyone that could come by and just put out more food a couple of times during the day? With that hypo and sliding numbers that is what I would do but I am a chicken. If going up that won't be as much of an issue but I still might Right or wrong I do not know.
 
Re: Joplin AMBG: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

cheryl, i hope you did skip this morning's shot.

Can you post with BGs before you shoot this evening so we can reconsider his dose? Perhaps at +11? What time/zone would that be? He may need to skip a few shots to see what happens without insulin.

Did you have a chance to read through the post I linked for you yesterday, from that other symptomatic hypo last week? Jill & Libby were helping Sam with his cat and had some advice on how to handle things post-hypo. I think it would be a good idea for you to pm one of them and ask for advice on how to proceed.
 
Re: Joplin AMBG: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

Good job on the skip, Cheryl. I wholeheartedly agree with Julie. I've been worried about you dosing him since the hypo.

After you've fed him and had a few minutes, could you please edit the subject line to show his AMBG so we know you skipped and all is ok? Thank you.
 
Re: Joplin AMBG: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

I am just now getting home from work, and Thank God, he's FINE. Just tested at 332. Now time to think about tonight. No Chris, I haven't had a chance to read that post yet, but I will now. This morning was crazy. I will edit this post come evening with his PMBG for advice. Thank you all SO much for the quick replies this morning. I really don't know where I'd be through all of this without each and every one of you!!
 
Re: Joplin AMBG: 96 ADVICE NEEDED ASAP Please!

it was me that asked if you'd read the post on the recent kitty with a hypo. i'm concerned that Joplin's needs may have significantly changed and you might need different strategies.

that's why i suggested reading the situation there and sending a pm to jill or libby for advice on how to proceed. they may have good ideas for you.
 
I apologize for the confusion Julie! I will certainly do that!

Just tested him at +11 (to give an hour for any thoughts). Best to stick with the 2u? Edited because I forgot to add, I WILL be around all of tomorrow..no work for me, so I will be here to test!
 
hi there! if you sent a PM, i haven't received it. libby is out of town on business. not sure she'll be checking the board tonight.
i just happened to see your dilemma.

what to dose? imho, it's a tough call.

we're working with only a few days of data and a depot insulin. there was a hypo which included a trip to the vet and kitty placed on a dextrose drip only 3 days ago.. there's the expected bounce from episode. joplin also dropped into double digits last night. we don't know how low he went. he'll probably bounce from that, too.

we really don't have a clue as to dosing him safely at this time.

all i can do is share what i would do given this set of circumstances if joplin were my cat: i'd dramatically drop the dose down to 0.5 unit and (if necessary) work the dose back up from there. it's a lot easier to take the dose back up than try to frantically keep up with a kitty racing down the dosing scale.

having said that, i would also suggest fast-tracking back up the dosing scale if needed.


just my thoughts...
 
no worries, cheryl - i just want to make sure you're getting the info that will help you.

edited - i'm glad Jill's weighed in. I'd defer to her expertise.
 
Jill, I think that sounds like a good idea. I know I promised just yesterday I would STICK with the 2u until at least Thurs., but that's changed given how low he was this morning, IMO. I think your strategy makes sense and sounds the safest. I will proceed with the 0.5u tonight and we'll go up from there as needed. Thank you for taking the time to reply. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top