Jonas's Dosing Thread

(Whoops, it looks like I had this typed in and never sent it because it was greyed out when I came to report on his PMPS. Oops!)
I've done that plenty of times.

Good on keeping the dose at 3.5U for tonight, 6/11/20.

Looks like Jonas may need another dose increase real soon. We don't want to see him in those blacks, reds or pinks at pre-shot. Even the high yellows (>250) are too high. Mainly, because he has a trace of ketones, and we want to get rid of those ASAP.

How do you feel about another dose increase of 0.25U? I think that an increase to 3.75U would be good. Unless Jonas gives you an unexpectedly low < 80-100 BG number somewhere in this PM cycle.
 
I've done that plenty of times.

Good on keeping the dose at 3.5U for tonight, 6/11/20.

Looks like Jonas may need another dose increase real soon. We don't want to see him in those blacks, reds or pinks at pre-shot. Even the high yellows (>250) are too high. Mainly, because he has a trace of ketones, and we want to get rid of those ASAP.

How do you feel about another dose increase of 0.25U? I think that an increase to 3.75U would be good. Unless Jonas gives you an unexpectedly low < 80-100 BG number somewhere in this PM cycle.

Sorry for the late reply Deb, yet another crazy day... I'm so glad it's the weekend! I didn't have a chance to check in earlier so I'm just now seeing this. I gave him 3.5U both times today but I definitely would like to increase to 3.75 tomorrow and see how he does... I desperately want to get him out of those ranges for his pre-shots. I'm afraid he may be bouncing a bit tonight because he went from 345 PMPS to 404 at +2... trying hard not to stress too badly, I just want to get him into lower numbers. He was still at .2 ketones so at least they haven't increased, but I want them GONE!
 
Good morning! 393 AMPS so we increased to 3.75U this morning. I’m nervous as heck because it psychologically seemed like so much more in the syringe (I recounted it so many times before I gave it to him, lol). But at least it’s Saturday so I’ll be able to get some more frequent checks in. He ate breakfast great!

ETA: He just got a nice drink right after breakfast too! I also forgot to mention that he woke me up playing last night, I’m really proud of how he’s acting and trying to focus on that and not let my worrying eat me alive!
 
168 at +9!! I know that's AWESOME but this is where I start getting nervous, lol. I'm worried about giving him too much insulin for his PM shot depending on where he's at.
 
Why do the mid-range blues make you nervous?
You've been giving Jonas insulin for a long time, but perhaps not home testing anywhere near as long.

Are you using the Prozinc SLGS protocol? Neither your signature or the SS says which protocol you are using.

p.s. New thread tomorrow please. We like to see threads at 50 posts or less, whenever possible. Link the old thread at the top of the new one. For reference.
 
Sorry, I worded that badly. I didn't mean the blues made me nervous, but the thought of him still being below 200ish at shot time because that's when I get nervous and confused on how much insulin to give him. 3.75U would seem like too much in that case, but I don't want him to go high either. We shot blind for so many years and now I'm terrified of him getting low. Our vet only ever wanted him to come in once a year for testing :/ I feel like an idiot for just blindly following that advice.

I'm actually a bit confused about TR? I couldn't find a definition anywhere but I probably missed it. I guess maybe in a way we'd be following a modified SLGS? Not starting at 1 of course because he's already been on much more than that for years, but I am trying to increase by .25U at a time. I can add that if you think he suits that definition, I just wasn't sure what to go with :)

I will start a new thread for him tomorrow, thank you for telling me that! I assumed it just stopped after a certain number of posts and that's when you made a new one, oops. :facepalm:
 
There is a Prozinc equivalent to the Lantus TR protocol. It's the MPM (Modified Prozinc Method). You can find it in the stickies at the top of this forum. Look for the one that mentions "dosing methods" in the title of the thread. Look those over and see which one you think you'd like to use.

I will start a new thread for him tomorrow, thank you for telling me that! I assumed it just stopped after a certain number of posts and that's when you made a new one, oops.
We do things the old fashioned way. Manually.;)
! I also forgot to mention that he woke me up playing last night, I’m really proud of how he’s acting and trying to focus on that and not let my worrying eat me alive!
So, getting his "mojo" back and starting to act like he used to! Way to go Jonas!!!!!!:)
 
Back
Top