? Jimmy's PM Dose after testing today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan G & Jimmy G

Member Since 2017
I've been testing this morning - and it's the first time in a few days he's gotten back in to the yellow. I just got a +6 test and he's gone up slightly (3) since +5. Looking at his spreadsheet - based on what I get at PMPS, if back in the 300s - should I increase to 2.25?
 
I am not experienced enough to offer dosage advice. But will respond to bump up your post.

I see you are on Lantus, are you using SLGS or TR method? Lantus is a depot insulin so based upon the sticky with information on depot insulins the general recommendation is to hold a dose for 6 cycles (3 days) to ensure you know what that dose will do. I follow SLGS, so unless Jones earned a reduction I would of held unless there was other circumstances like DKA- but ECID.

I always tried to wait 6 cycles for any dose changes once I started him on the SLGS protocol here - Jones usually didn't co-operate but again ECID.
 
Hi there

Lantus dosing is based on how low a dose takes your kitty, with only some consideration given to PS BG numbers.
Also a new Lantus dose needs time to settle in. Increasing the 1.75u
dose to 2u after only two cycles could result in you missing a good dose. That as well as potentially cause New Dose Wonkiness because the Depot seeks to bring itself on par with the new dose.
 
Last edited:
Hey there, I don't think I have posted on your thread before. Welcome!

I see that Sandy answered your question about holding the dose. This dose was only started this AM and it looks like you didn't give the 1.75 depot to fill before you jumped up to 2 units. With Tight Regulation you would hold the dose for 3 days or 6 cycles and with Start Low Go Slow the dose would be held for 7 days or 14 cycles. So, that said, I would not raise again until the 2 unit depot is held the required time and the depot can get full. As Sandy said, jumping ahead too fast and you can go over the right dose and possibly have Jimmy go too low for safety.

Have you given any consideration which method of dosing you want to do? You can start at one and always change if you need to or want to but, by declaring one now and putting the initials in your signature either TR or SLGS will help people here that are offering you dosing advice to guide you better.

Also, I noticed that last night you did not get any test in after the PMPS which was red ( 400) I know you probably felt like there was no way that he could go too low starting off so high, but some kitties can drop from a red number into a hypo number in the same cycle. So, getting at least a test in before you go to bed is always a good idea.

Jimmy is a handsome cat and he is a big boy!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top