Jimmy not eating since yesterday

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmy

Member Since 2014
Hi! Jimmy is not eating and he vomited last night. Last night he ate very little of his wet food and the same this morning. I checked his BG at +7h 30 minutes after his AMPS and it was 138. My vet was not there, and I went to another one who said there is no reason to worry and I should force fed him with a syringe in his mouth. However I can't fed syringe fed him enough, he is getting very nervous. His PMPS was 249.

Since this morning he didn't eat or drank water.We are worried. His breath is not smelling as acetone. Do you have any idea how can I trick him to eat or drink water? The cat shows no signs of feeling ill. Should I take him to the clinic and fed him IV?
 
Larry and Kitties said:
How much can you syringe feed Jimmy?
Can you check his temperature?

Hi Larry,

Thank you for your answer. We did not manage to syringe feed him and we went back to the vet's.

We were lucky to find a good doctor who realized that actually he is not eating because he has gingivitis and it is painful for him to open his mouth :sad: .

He fed him artificially and we are starting antibiotics for the gingivitis so hopefully he will be feeling better in a few days.

Thanks again for your reply!
 
Hi ... returning from the clinic. It was gingivitis and it hurt him when he chew the food or drank water. IV food + antibiotic for a few days. :sad:
 
Be aware that as the infection is treated, his BGs might lower and the dose might need to be lowered as well, so keep a close eye on his numbers over these next few days.
 
KPassa said:
Be aware that as the infection is treated, his BGs might lower and the dose might need to be lowered as well, so keep a close eye on his numbers over these next few days.

So glad that Jimmy may be feeling better soon.
And seconding what Kay (Kpassa) said in her post quoted above.

Reassuring hug to you,

Eliz
 
Thank you all, we'll be home testing before each shot for the next few days. Warm wishes from Romania. Jimmy & Alexandra & Ioan
 
Hi!

Thanks for asking, we've just seen your posts.

First thing, he is feeling very well, he is eating and drinking water. He is receiving 30 pieces of dry food every 2 hours (Hill's for diabetes + Hill's for liver damage), except the time when we are at work and he receives food in advance.

We are not very sure about what happened. We couldn't find his actual doctor in the weekend so we went to another one who treated him for gingivitis (Stomargyl antibiotic + some IV feeding). Returning to his own doctor on Monday, she said the gingivitis had nothing to do with it but he was poisoned and we went to the clinic for 2 times a day for treatment for the rest of the week. He had jaundice.Our doctor stopped the administration of antibiotic and started him on IV with Ringer lactate, antivomitive, vitamins and treatment for liver disease.

He received this treatment twice/day until yesterday and as of today he will only receive the treatment daily until Friday, then continue for 30 days with Hepatiale pills. The jaundice is gone.

During this time we've started home testing twice a day before his insulin shots and we will continue doing this. During the treatment his BG changed a lot and we skipped some shots due to values < 180.

The poisoning idea is very hard for us to explain : he is only staying indoors, he is not in contact with other animals, we don't have plants, he always had food and water, basically nothing changed in the last period of time. Maybe he ate soap (?), ate laundry detergent (???), found naphtalene ball in the closet, but why would he ate that if he had food available?

Our doctor greatly supported us during this hard times, we called her before every shot of Insulin (including weekend) and also every time Jimmy looked ill or vomited (he didn't vomited sine July 10th). Jimmy lost some weight, he is now 4.2 kilos (4.5 kilos 2 weeks ago).
 
It sounds like he might have had a bout of hepatic lipidosis. Maybe your vet was thinking he was poisoned because that is often the go-to assumption for liver damage/jaundice? In the case of fatty liver, it is usually brought on by not eating and whatever caused the lack of appetite in the first place and not "poisoning."

Are you going to try him on wet food again or are you waiting until he is done with his treatments so as not to change too many things at once?
 
I asked the vet to change his diet to wet low carb food and the answer was that his liver is too weak, all the fat from the wet food will go to his liver and this could be dangerous/fatal.
 
There are some low carb foods that are not high fat. Check Dr Pierson's list andpick form those where the %fat and % protein calories are nearl equal.
 
Thanks, BJM.
Unfortunatelly, Dr Pierson's list is for US foods and I'm based in Europe. I have already bought canned food from zooplus (Granatapet testing pack, Catz finefood testing pack, Bozita veal ) as I found them to be low on carbs on a German site. I can't find the proteins and fat values for them tough, and I don't know how to calculate.

Maybe some user in UK or somewhere else in Europe can recommend low carb canned food where %fat and %protein are nearly equal.
 
Check this thread for European foods.

Also, you can contact manufactures and request 'as fed values' or ''dry matter basis values' and use the calories per gram to work out the % calories from each of protein, fat, and carbohydrate with these values:

3.5 calories per gram for protein
8.5 calories per gram for fat
3.5 calories per gram for carbohydrate

For each calorie source, you multiply the calories per gram * grams in the product to get total calories from that source.

Sum these all up to get total calories in the product.

Divide the calories from each source by total calories to get % calories from the source.

There are also some on line calculators to estimate these percents.
Ex http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top