? Jett's curve today - need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJ Brown

Member Since 2016
Hi Everyone - I tried to do a curve today after reducing Jett's dose to .75 units of Levemir twice a day. All I saw was "hi" numbers. Does this mean the reduction wasn't what his body needs? I have no idea what I am doing with his insulin and his #s are so concerning. How can he continue with these high #s? I'm scared of losing him.

Post from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pmps-187-do-i-shoot.173407/
Apparently, I posted more than once yesterday, which I didn't know we shouldn't do. I'm sorry for not following the rules.

Thanks for your help.
Patti
 
Jett is bouncing from those blues yesterday. Unfortunately it wasn't a good day for a curve. Wait for the bounce to go away and see where he ends up. On SLGS you hold the dose for a week before reevaluating the dose. Sorry about the high numbers. Jett really likes to bounce.
 
It will take a while for the depot from the 1.0u to reduce to a depot that fits the size of the 0.75u dose, as many as 4-6 cycles. In the meantime, as long as he doesn't seem sick, just hang in there and wait for the depot to drain and the bounce to clear - then you'll be able to see what the new 0.75u dose can do for him.

Sending a little TLC your way - sounds like you're feeling a bit overwhelmed. Jett is sure beautiful - i love your 2 black kitties profile picture!
 
Apparently, I posted more than once yesterday, which I didn't know we shouldn't do. I'm sorry for not following the rules.
It's okay, Patti. Lots of new members do it. Just remember that if you need help for a specific issue, you just need to change your subject line in your existing condo for that day to include that issue, then add a new reply at the end explaining what's going on. That will bump your condo to the top of the list. Just changing the subject line without doing a new reply won't bump it up. If you aren't sure how to do something like that, feel free to PM me and I'll try to get back to you as soon as I can and explain it.

Just FYI, the reason we ask everyone to only do one thread a day is that it is hard for someone responding to the second condo to know what was already said in the first condo. Sometimes you have people posting on both condos throughout the day, and it can get very confusing! We have so many members posting every day that we want to make sure everyone get seen and responded to. It's our way of asking you to help us help you. ;):)
How can he continue with these high #s? I'm scared of losing him.
I know that with everything you've been through in the past year, you are very anxious and I can't blame you one bit. You are doing your best, and if you just take some deep breaths and read what we say and try to follow it, Jett will get through this. I don't think he's in any immediate danger.

I do have a question for you. Last night, you shot a reduced dose of .75 because Jett gave you a lower pre-shot than you were comfortable shooting. Why did you not return to 1.0 unit this morning? Typically, when we suggest you shoot a reduced dose due to a low preshot, it's intended to be just for that shot time. I think it would be best if you returned to the 1.0 you were shooting with Jett's next shot. He could still be bouncing from that blue, which is much lower than anything he's seen lately, but I think still think it would be better to go back to the dose you were shooting.

Are you testing Jett's urine Ketones? With all these high numbers, it's a good idea to try to get a test every day if you can.

Yesterday you mentioned you switched Rhett's food to something he had previously liked. Is he eating it?

Patti, I know you are very stressed and still recovering from the loss you suffered in November (as if anyone could recover from that), but I want you to know that you have a family here that cares about you and your kitties and we will do our best to help you. You are not alone. Hang in there. :bighug:

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top