Re: Updated: Jersey - Hypo Episode +6 - 33; +7 - 140
hi shelley!
here are your previous posts:
2/1, 2/4 Jersey & I need advice
2/8, 2/9 Berberine to lower BG?
2/4 Help with Numbers & Humulin
2/8 How do I switch to Lantus
ok - after reading through your previous posts and talking with Dyana, i think the consensus is for you to drop the dose to 0.1u and try to get an accurate dose given twice a day. Sienne had suggested that in your last post as well.
Sienne gave you the photos of the tiny tiny dose in the "How do i switch" post above. those pictures are also found on the "New to the Group" yellow starred sticky. I saw that someone earlier (maybe Deb/Wink?) told you about the technique for "screwing" the plunger to try to measure out a tiny dose.
Jersey is obviously very responsive to a small dose. The purpose of the TR protocol is to hold a cat's BG numbers between 50 and 120. Being able to do that allows the pancreas to heal. A newly diagnosed cat able to be held in those BG numbers has an excellent chance of going off of insulin. So that's our goal!
I'm so sorry about your loss of Bugsy. What a terrible experience - especially to have happen at your vet's! I'm so glad you're testing now, because that's going to keep Jersey safe. Not sure if you're testing on the paw still, or on the ear, but just so you know it takes a couple of weeks for capillaries to grow in the ear after you begin poking. the poking encourages the growth of the capillaries.
A couple of tips that I can add to help you get that tiny dose: you mentioned about you/your husband getting older and having more trouble measuring the insulin than when you were doing it 10 years ago with Bugsy. If the issue is being able to see the lines on the syringe, you can try either stacking reading glasses - yes, put on 2 of them at once. you'll be amazed at how clear the lines become! you'll look stupid, but hey! what we won't do for our kitties?!?
Another thing some people do is to buy a clip on magnifying glass at a craft store - some of them may have lights - and clip it on an open cupboard door so you can work with the syringe behind the magnifying glass. some people buy opticians magnifying glasses - i don't have a link for that, but Zener's people, Anne & Liz, use those. Find Zener's condo (thread) and you can ask them for a source if you're interested in that.
We do have a very small dose that isn't measurable. Not sure if that would be enough for Jersey at this stage. We generally have people go to it as their cats go off of insulin. One presses in the plunger very hard so absolutely no air is in the syringe, insert the needle into the lantus, then release the plunger. The syringe will pull in a "breath" of insulin. It's going to be less than 0.1u so it may not be enough. i would try the 0.1u dose first.
I'd try stacking the reading glasses, drawing up a half unit to a whole unit of lantus, then tinkering with it with the syringe to get a 0.1u. sometimes it helps to draw some air into the syringe AFTER you have the lantus in it, then do the flicking to try to get the lantus to drop to the plunger end and the air to rise to the needle end (pointed up) and then express the air.
another thought - some syringes are far worse at creating bubbles than others. some barrels of syringes are also thinner, making the markings spread out farther and therefore easier to measure than other syringes. there isn't a perfect needle/syringe, but i liked these:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/product/terumo-thinpro-insulin-syringe_5891_112.htm. many people on here use them, but a couple of folks recently have said they didn't like that they have a longer needle. So . . . for what it's worth, i'm suggesting them if you can't get a dose drawn without bubbles that you can get out. if you decide to order from ADW, you might want to register first at
http://www.mrrebates.com and they'll track your purchases and send you a rebate every so often.
Take a look at this page, and make sure you watch the video about 1/2way down the page:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151 Lantus is never rolled. You also test, feed and shoot all within a few minutes, unlike when you had the Humulin and fed first, then waited to shoot.
that's probably all a bit overwhelming. do you have any questions?