HappyCat
Member Since 2013
So to begin Jerry and I are following the Lantus Tight Regulation. BJM suggested I pop over here to see if you guys can't help clear up some questions I've had over Jerry over his progress and having NADIRs higher than his preshots. Hopefully you guys can help. A summary of his progress:
It took awhile to find his perfect dose, first it was too much then not enough then he settled into 1.75 units. Since then he's had constant reductions and not a single one has failed, on the 9th it's been 6 months of treatment and he's down to .25 unit. Very exciting but this is where we're running into speedbumps.
I hadn't ever figured out how to bring him down safely, every reduction taken was from him falling below 50. His reduction down to .75 came at a 23 reading so that concerned me. Out of nowhere it hit me that his NADIRs always get higher than his preshot before he earns a reduction. Any time I wondered if he would get a reduction he got one, and any time I wondered it was over reverse NADIRs. I took him down from .75 to .50 on my hunch, the folks on the Tight Regulation forum weren't sure about it but I was right and not too much longer afterwards they said his numbers were good enough to bring him down another reduction to .25. Exciting stuff but I don't have him figured out.
It's not a constant but probably half the time for awhile his NADIRs are higher than his preshots even after reductions. I've done a range of testings to keep an eye on him and it hasn't given me any answers. It was recommended to record his feeding times but I'm not sure food is the problem. I didn't know at first that a +8 feeding is good for the pancreas so it's something we've been working on a couple months. He had been on a PS feeding and a +6, now he's got the PS and if not +6 broken into 2 smaller meals at a +4 or 5 and +8. He's been on Friskie's Pate from the start, he's grateful for his diet even, but he did get bored with the flavors. He had been getting the combo pack of mixed grill and turkey (giblets?) but was sassing me about it so I switch it up for him with some of their other pates going easy on the seafood. Mainly food is a constant and his dose is the variable so I guess that's why I'm doubtful it's the food. I'm willing to do nutritional info for his other flavors but I'm thinking it's something else.
His numbers aren't at all terrible just are known to pop up in the wrong order. I don't know what to make of what's going on and I sure don't know what to expect. I've read these weird readings can mean either too much or not enough insulin and unfortunately those are the only 2 options rather than to hang out and not know what's going on. I've thought about fattening his dose but then I get greens and don't want him to fall below on me. I've thought about shaving his dose but don't want a yellow reading now especially since he used to live in the pink and red zone and even had some scary black readings in the beginning.
He's telling me something I just don't know what. I think he's on his way to remission which maybe it's just hopeful thinking but it'd be nice to know how to get him there safely. So I guess what I'm wondering is how he looks on this .25 dose, any input on why his NADIRs are higher than preshots (general info or increase/decrease), and some OTJ information since I really don't feel prepared. He's a rebel but not without a cause, he's a happy cat.
Eek! Help?! We appreciate any input, thank you very much. :mrgreen:
It took awhile to find his perfect dose, first it was too much then not enough then he settled into 1.75 units. Since then he's had constant reductions and not a single one has failed, on the 9th it's been 6 months of treatment and he's down to .25 unit. Very exciting but this is where we're running into speedbumps.
I hadn't ever figured out how to bring him down safely, every reduction taken was from him falling below 50. His reduction down to .75 came at a 23 reading so that concerned me. Out of nowhere it hit me that his NADIRs always get higher than his preshot before he earns a reduction. Any time I wondered if he would get a reduction he got one, and any time I wondered it was over reverse NADIRs. I took him down from .75 to .50 on my hunch, the folks on the Tight Regulation forum weren't sure about it but I was right and not too much longer afterwards they said his numbers were good enough to bring him down another reduction to .25. Exciting stuff but I don't have him figured out.
It's not a constant but probably half the time for awhile his NADIRs are higher than his preshots even after reductions. I've done a range of testings to keep an eye on him and it hasn't given me any answers. It was recommended to record his feeding times but I'm not sure food is the problem. I didn't know at first that a +8 feeding is good for the pancreas so it's something we've been working on a couple months. He had been on a PS feeding and a +6, now he's got the PS and if not +6 broken into 2 smaller meals at a +4 or 5 and +8. He's been on Friskie's Pate from the start, he's grateful for his diet even, but he did get bored with the flavors. He had been getting the combo pack of mixed grill and turkey (giblets?) but was sassing me about it so I switch it up for him with some of their other pates going easy on the seafood. Mainly food is a constant and his dose is the variable so I guess that's why I'm doubtful it's the food. I'm willing to do nutritional info for his other flavors but I'm thinking it's something else.
His numbers aren't at all terrible just are known to pop up in the wrong order. I don't know what to make of what's going on and I sure don't know what to expect. I've read these weird readings can mean either too much or not enough insulin and unfortunately those are the only 2 options rather than to hang out and not know what's going on. I've thought about fattening his dose but then I get greens and don't want him to fall below on me. I've thought about shaving his dose but don't want a yellow reading now especially since he used to live in the pink and red zone and even had some scary black readings in the beginning.
He's telling me something I just don't know what. I think he's on his way to remission which maybe it's just hopeful thinking but it'd be nice to know how to get him there safely. So I guess what I'm wondering is how he looks on this .25 dose, any input on why his NADIRs are higher than preshots (general info or increase/decrease), and some OTJ information since I really don't feel prepared. He's a rebel but not without a cause, he's a happy cat.
Eek! Help?! We appreciate any input, thank you very much. :mrgreen: