? Jerry Constipation question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicki and Jerry

Member Since 2015
Jerry has constipation and I gave him two feline pet - ema's . One 6 ml dose at +2 ( 8 am) and anther 6 ml at + 5 (11 am) Checked his BG level at +5 and it was 297 and checked it at +6 at it is at 339. I have called the vet and he suggested I give him a few more drops of insulin now since we don't want him to go weak with hyperglycemia. He is on a dose of .1 which is two pin drops of insulin. Thoughts?
 
It's usually not a good idea to give insulin mid cycle. If he stays higher after tonight, you may want to increase his dose tomorrow morning to get him back on track. :bighug:
 
Are you doing anything else besides an enema for the constipation? You may want to try Miralax, add some oil or butter to Jerry's food, or include canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie) or baby food squash to his food.
 
Are you doing anything else besides an enema for the constipation? You may want to try Miralax, add some oil or butter to Jerry's food, or include canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie) or baby food squash to his food.
Jerry gets 1/4 tsp Miralax twice a day , pumpkin approx 2 tsp a day mixed in food. He did eliminate yesterday and he had three rounded stools with quite a bit of hair in them. I have found that when he gets constipated his stools have hair.
He hates his back end quarters brushed so hence the extra hair. He did go again this morning with a pretty normal looking stool but I did find what I think to be tiny rice particles ( tapeworms ) in his stool. I have kept him treated for fleas in the summer bbut laid off in October but he acquired them back a few weeks ago I noticed some when I did get the chance to run the flea comb on his hind end. I am calling the Vet this morning and he will probably want to do meds. Any harm of these to a diabetic cat?
Side note I gave Jerry subfluids yesterday per advice from the vet
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top