Jenny: 9/28

JennyAnyDots

Member Since 2026
Hi, I'm Sandra and my kitty is Jenny, 9 yr, diagnosed 9/4/26. She also had high keytones 5.4 at diagnosis so I have to keep a close eye on that. She has been to the vet after Week 1 and Week 2 for curves, and now I'm ready to take over. The vet said because I'm testing AMPS and PMPS that we don't need to return for a month unless there are problems. I printed my (meager) spreadsheet for her, and she liked it.

Short history: Jenny started on 2u, then after 6 days the curves were high (see SS), so vet moved her to 3u. After 2 days I called vet because now it's all too low, so vet moved BACK to 2u until curve at Week 2 (today).

AMPS today was 219, then 2u PZ and food, then vet curve of +2=175; +4=134; +6=221. Vet said it was perfect, stay at 2u, call if problems.

This evening PMPS was 185 so I did not shoot. I'm afraid this is just going to yoyo (tomorrow chasing high numbers) so want to get on the right track. What I should have done is waited a bit to test again and see if BG went up. I failed this, because I fed Jenny. I wasn't thinking after I said "no shot tonight" to myself.

I am now consistent with testing (6 days) so I feel like I should stay on 2u, and get some more testing history. So help me out, what are my next steps? I'm ready to follow this protocol.

I'm using AlphaTrak3. Thank you all.
 
Hello and Welcome. I will be back in the mo with more questions and information, but she probably will be high tomorrow due to the skipped shot tonight. It’s all right, we can get her back on track! Two units is a high starting dose (and it’s definitely not wise to increase by entire units at a time at this juncture). I am glad you are back down to 2 units. Please monitor Jenny carefully though because it may also be too much as she stabilizes. I am happy to see some lower ketone numbers. Great job getting up to speed with the testing! Now you can keep her safe. I would advise holding this dose for now and testing frequently to try and catch her nadir.

Please feed her a small snack at +2 and +4 also. More on all of this tomorrow. It’s 12:31 a.m. here now and I must get some sleep. I look forward to talking to you tomorrow!
 
Thank you! This morning she was 453, after such a pretty day yesterday. I knew she would go high. This yoyo is what I want to learn to stop. I appreciate your help.
 
PMPS 137 (pet meter). So no shot tonight. That makes 2 nights in a row that she has been too low to shoot, last night's followed by her highest AMPS yet this morning. She didn't eat great all day today, but she did eat some pate and chopped chicken. I'm probably used to her inhaling her food so "normal" appetite feels like too little.

How do I get her off this yoyo? I think I need to do a home curve, will try that tomorrow pending morning reading. Thanks!
 
PMPS 137 (pet meter). So no shot tonight. That makes 2 nights in a row that she has been too low to shoot, last night's followed by her highest AMPS yet this morning. She didn't eat great all day today, but she did eat some pate and chopped chicken. I'm probably used to her inhaling her food so "normal" appetite feels like too little.

How do I get her off this yoyo? I think I need to do a home curve, will try that tomorrow pending morning reading. Thanks!
And yes. You need to test at home more often than just the AMPS and PMPS preshot numbers. One day’s cycle (at the vet where cats often run higher than at home due to stress) is not necessarily the same as the next. We need to see daily data in order to see patterns over a period of time. Even at home you may test and one day your cat may be bouncing and high. If you choose that day to do a curve you may believe more insulin is needed. Then your kitty clears the bounce and comes down and you have already increased the dose.
 
We have no idea what her nadir was today, so we can’t know if she went too low or not. That is information we need if you are at home to get it. If she went too low then you would need to decrease her dose. Does this make sense?
 
Okay. I think you have gone away for the night. I am sorry because we perhaps could have shot a reduced dose to keep her from being quite as high in the morning.

If you get a high AMPS tomorrow (and with a skipped shot tonight you should) and you give her 2 units (which may be too high for her at this time) it is very important for you to get a few mid-cycle tests tomorrow. A +4 and a +6 would be extremely helpful to us!
 
Hi Suzanne, I'm still here. Jenny ate some chopped chicken after her test, so is it ok if I test her at +4 or should I test her sooner? I'm in Central time zone, so I just tested/fed her about an hour ago. My shot times are 9am/9pm. I will do a +4 and +6 tomorrow for sure.
 
Tested at PM+3.5 (no insulin at PMPS) and Jenny was 317. Ketones .4. Will test again at 9am, and I expect it will be so high again.
 
Great job getting those tests done today! Beautiful greens. Now, if she has a lower PMPS, we should talk about doing a reduced dose for the evening. As long as you can monitor the cycle for a while it will be okay.

Also, since you are following the start low go slow protocol for now (and I would recommend it for a few weeks to a month while you gather data on the spreadsheet) she has earned a reduction per SLGS … a .25 unit reduction down to 1.75 units.
 
Wow, I was just typing my update when you posted. Thank you! I added the +8 to make sure she started coming up, which she did. I will let you know PMPS at 9 central, is that too late for you?

thanks again. It's so helpful to have someone looking at this. I appreciate you!
 
Your sweet little girl is doing so great! And you are too! Her duration is really good. I see a lot worse spreadsheets than Jenny’s— especially in the beginning. I am very optimistic for Jenny to do well on ProZinc. If she is in a blue number this evening, we should try a reduced dose for the evening. Let’s see what it is.
 
It would be very helpful if you could start getting some early testing done as well we should know when she starts to onset. ProZinc will onset around +2 in most cats. I think it looks the same for her, but we should know this. If, on different days, you can vary the times that you test…. One day a +2 and a +4 and another day a +3 and a +5 or a +7, etc. we will be able to fill in a little picture of how she’s doing and understand her patterns better.
 
It’s a good time to talk about bouncing. High numbers do not always mean more insulin is required, and we must be careful. The high numbers you are seeing now are a bounce.

A bounce is where the cat's body reacts to lower numbers that she is not used to being in anymore... since becoming diabetic. It's a protective mechanism where her central nervous system perceives either a steep drop in blood glucose or simply being in lower numbers, and releases adrenaline, cortisol, glucagons and growth hormone, all of which create insulin resistance and can keep numbers high for up to six cycles (the bounce). Bounces don't have to last that long, but in some cats they will. Over time, many cats will start to clear the bounces more quickly. When the bounce does clear, the BG numbers will come back down and give us an accurate picture of what a dose is doing for Jenny!
 
Hi Suzanne, I tested at +6, then I had to leave for a few hours so couldn't get +10. I'll be testing again in about 35 minutes. Thanks for the details on the bounce, I feel a lot better about where she is now vs. a week ago. Tomorrow I'll test her at +2 and +4. I'm a bit worried that she's not eating well, since I introduced cooked chicken thighs chopped up for her treat, that's all she wants now. Takes a few bites of her pate then looks all sad. Ugh. Still drinking plenty and acting bright and normal.
 
Usually a +2 is a good indicator of how the cycle is going to go. If it’s a lot lower than the preshot number then you may be in for lower numbers. If it’s just a bit lower or is about the same as the Preshot number then the cycle may not be as active. Of course, we are still learning her individual patterns. At least so far I am not thinking she is a “diver.”

Many cats do tend to drop into lower numbers at night.
 
Last edited:
I missed +2 but +3 was 200.

Food: her treat for being a good testee is chopped, cooked chicken thigh. This is recent and she gets a tablespoon or two after each test. She also gets the chicken during the day if she is not eating much. Also I have 3 cats total. Around 9am they get a small can of Fancy Feast pate shared, Jenny eats about 1/4-1/2 of the can and a small amount of Dr Easley's Clean Protein dry food. I pick up the dry food around 10. Jenny nibbles on the dry but doesn't eat much. The wet food stays out if they don't eat all of it. (Prior to Jenny's diagnosis, I left Meow Mix dry cat food out all day in a bowl, and Jenny ate quite a bit, and the other two less. Jenny loves(d) it, of course.) Early-afternoon, another can of Fancy Feast. Jenny will eat about 1/4. By then she's had her chicken thighs a couple times. At 6pm, another can of Fancy Feast wet. Jenny has not been eating much of this, maybe a tablespoon or so. Dr. Easley's dry is back out, mostly for the other 2 cats, and she may or may not nibble. If she doesn't eat much wet during the day, I'll heat up some chicken for her, a couple tablespoons, which she will usually eat. I leave the wet out, but lately about half or more is never eaten and is tossed. My other 2 cats (her littermates) are normal weight, and they've all been eating this way for years. It seems all of them are off their appetite since this started 3 weeks ago. Jenny drinks a lot of water, and pees fine.

Since she's eating the chicken, I'm making a batch of the homemade catfood from catinfo.org (has all the required nutrients) tomorrow and see how that goes. She has gained weight in the past 3 weeks so I'm probably worrying over nothing. She lost probably 2.5 lbs (from 12 to 10.5) in the last several months, which is what finally clued us into a problem. She's back up half a pound.

That's a lot, I hope you don't mind the details. Thank you for being so helpful.
 
It's +3 (that's where I see it?)

This morning back up to 420, ketones .4 so that's good. I'll test at +2 and +4.
 
I don't know why I have a delay, I didn't see your msg until just now. PMPS was 300. So she stayed in the 300's after her initial AMPS. Let's home tomorrow she levels out a bit lower.
 
I would have tested more today but Jenny decided she had enough of me. She snapped at me twice today, for the first time in her nine years of life, so I let her be for the afternoon. She has always been my cuddler and it was so out of character I decided she needed a reset.
 
I would have tested more today but Jenny decided she had enough of me. She snapped at me twice today, for the first time in her nine years of life, so I let her be for the afternoon. She has always been my cuddler and it was so out of character I decided she needed a reset.
Yes, this was a good decision. She was in the pinks anyway, and I would’ve left her alone and given her a break until PMPS time as well. We need to try to keep it positive whenever we can. That’s where those good treats and pieces of chicken thigh come in as well.
 
APMS of 414 decreased to 101 at +6. Is there a reason why she wakes up with high BG in the mornings? Seems like its still fairly random. Is the ultimate goal that we get the dose to a level that keeps her generally flat, in the blues and yellows? Just trying to see if I can make sense of it yet, or still too soon. Thanks again Suzanne.
 
I am. I thought I was supposed to hold her from food for 2 hours prior to PMPS? So I hold at +10. I actually feed at 6pm (+9) and pick up the food after she eats.
 
Feeding after nadir can contribute to the loss of duration — cause BG numbers to rise more quickly toward the end of the cycle.

Is there a reason why you chose 9 a.m./p.m. for your shot times? That’s quite late and I can see how it could make it awkward to not give her dinner until 9 p.m., although if she’s not eating breakfast until 9 a.m. it’s not bad when you think about the number of hours between meals and snacks.

The main thing is to keep the bulk of food in the early portion of the cycle prior to Jenny’s nadir, because that’s when the action of the insulin is strongest. As the insulin starts to wane, it’s helpful to give only a very small amount of food and only the lowest carbs.

I usually recommend feeding at main meal time and again at +2 and then again at +4 After that, you should not really need to feed again until dinner time. This does not include the small low carb treats that you give for testing, of course (or if you were feeding to manage low numbers.) She should always get a treat with every BG test. 😊 We can customize this a bit if it’s not working for Jenny. Some cats (like the cats with acromegaly or cats who just get really stressed and freak out for food) just need a small amount of LC at around +6, but, in general, not feeding after nadir is best for BG numbers. Also, some cats who start going down in BG a little earlier need that first snack at +1.5 instead of +2, but in general the +2 snack works for most cats. The snacks can just be a spoonful or two of LC wet food, but another approach is to divide the amount of food that you want her to eat in the daytime/nightime into a few portions and split them between breakfast/dinner and the planned snack times. For the night time, many FDMB members will use an automated feeder to dispense snacks at the desired times.
 
. Is the ultimate goal that we get the dose to a level that keeps her generally flat, in the blues and yellows?
It can take some time for your kitty to adjust to the insulin and start leveling out. It’s still very early days for Jenny. My goal for Jenny would be to find a dose that would keep her in a much more level blood glucose range: in the green numbers (what we call the healing green numbers where her pancreas can actually heal) and possibly some blue 100s. I would not like to see her in any 200s at all (but that would be ideal and we can’t always get there.) Normal blood glucose range for a cat is between 50 and a maximum of about 120 on a human meter. That would not be much higher for a pet meter, although we use 68 on a Pet meter as the point where we probably don’t want to see her go below when she’s on exogenous insulin. On a human meter, you will find non-diabetic cats in the 40s and 50s, but we have an extra safety margin built-in for cats who are receiving exogenous insulin. It would be very healthy for Jenny to be spending quite a bit of time in the green numbers and the lower blue numbers, but it can take some time to get there.
 
Great answers, thanks so much. Jenny's feed times (all three cats) just evolved because that's what time we get up, have a coffee, then feed the cats. Jenny is that cat who, after the sun rises, doesn't let me sleep; she's all over me to get out of bed and feed her. So I get up around 830, make coffee, test and shoot Jenny, then all cats get to eat. I'm trying to figure out the best time; we are night owls so something like 11-11 would be ideal because we could still go out in the evening and have plenty of time, but I know the cats would not tolerate a 3 hour gap between getting up and getting fed.

What schedule do most people do? I could get up at, for example, 6 am, test, shoot and feed Jenny, then back to bed :). Would make it easier for nadir testing. I'll have to think on it.

This morning was high again, 413. She's been very consistently high the last several mornings. Thanks Suzanne, have a great day.
 
Hi Sandra! Being high in the morning can be from dropping lower at night. I know you caught a blue last night at +4 (thank you). It was a higher blue so I am thinking she dropped lower by +6 but I doubt she went much lower than a low blue (which is still an improvement.) That could be low enough to trigger a higher AMPS just like yesterday at PMPS when she was red. Then, as I mentioned, it can also just be good old fashioned loss of duration.

Can you move her final feeding up to an earlier time since +9 is way too late to be feeding Jenny?

I’m sorry to be disrupting things!
 
Back
Top