AZJenks
Member Since 2014
As an initial matter, I admit that we've been ignorantly and naively and incorrectly dosing Jenks for weeks now under a theory that he needed less during the day than he did at night. In this post for help on the main board, it was pointed out that depot shedding was the most likely culprit of his sky-high nighttime numbers, and that it was essential to proper regulation that both the AM and PM dose be equal.
So we took the plunge, purchased syringes, and settled on 2.5U (which is a little more than the usual AM dose and a little less than the PM dose). The difference of equal dosing made itself readily apparent.
That is, until today. His +6 over the last two days was 91 and 149. Today, it was a 34. I can account for no difference over the last three days. Same insulin. Same doses. Same times. Even the same food and feeding schedule. I'm sure there are people ready with "I told you so's" because we haven't been testing AMPS, and I'm not proud of it, but I accept that this is my fault.
Despite being totally asymptomatic, we were prepared with our hypo toolbox and gave him corn syrup, followed by HC gravy, and his favorite treats. He quickly rebounded to about 60 and then into the 100s and has been monitored ever since.
Questions:
How do I adjust the dosing? His PM test comes up in 2 hours. I'm used to him being in the 300s or above. What do I do if it's in the 100s? The sticky post on handling low numbers deals with pre-shot numbers like 50s, but doesn't seem to contain any info on what to do when they're elevated but still lower than usual. Is there some sort of sliding scale to decrease it according to the pre-shot BG levels?
If I can't get his other human on board with AM blood testing, I'm just going to have to find some way to do it myself, even if it means getting fired.
Do I reduce the dose? By how much? For how long?
What else do I need to be doing?
So we took the plunge, purchased syringes, and settled on 2.5U (which is a little more than the usual AM dose and a little less than the PM dose). The difference of equal dosing made itself readily apparent.
That is, until today. His +6 over the last two days was 91 and 149. Today, it was a 34. I can account for no difference over the last three days. Same insulin. Same doses. Same times. Even the same food and feeding schedule. I'm sure there are people ready with "I told you so's" because we haven't been testing AMPS, and I'm not proud of it, but I accept that this is my fault.
Despite being totally asymptomatic, we were prepared with our hypo toolbox and gave him corn syrup, followed by HC gravy, and his favorite treats. He quickly rebounded to about 60 and then into the 100s and has been monitored ever since.
Questions:
How do I adjust the dosing? His PM test comes up in 2 hours. I'm used to him being in the 300s or above. What do I do if it's in the 100s? The sticky post on handling low numbers deals with pre-shot numbers like 50s, but doesn't seem to contain any info on what to do when they're elevated but still lower than usual. Is there some sort of sliding scale to decrease it according to the pre-shot BG levels?
If I can't get his other human on board with AM blood testing, I'm just going to have to find some way to do it myself, even if it means getting fired.
Do I reduce the dose? By how much? For how long?
What else do I need to be doing?