Jemima update, a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebsW

Member Since 2013
Jemima was diagnosed a few months ago and we managed for a little while to control it with diet but had to start her on insulin about 2 weeks ago, Caninsulin, 1 unit twice a day. We have bought a BG meter and Jemima is getting very good at sitting while I test her (and I'm getting better at testing!) but we found out last week that the vet's numbers are about +5 on ours - for example we took her in for a test which was around 21 (UK numbers) but did her at home about 40 mins later and it was around 16. Is it normal for vet and home tests to be so different? Jemima is usually very relaxed about being at the vet though this time the nurse took her without us so we don't know how she was but assume the numbers aren't higher just because she's at the vet.
Jemima's numbers have been consistently in the mid teens but in the past few days have risen and are now in the high teens so yesterday the vet increased her dose to 1.5 units, this evening's pre-shot test was 20.4 - which could mean it's around 25 on the vet's meter, she has been up to 26 at the vet but I'm getting a little concerned the numbers are going the wrong way! She seems absolutely fine in herself - and is at this moment head butting my shoulder and purring like mad to get me to feed her! - though she is peeing for England and drinking huge amounts and is constantly hungry (she's on Macs wet). She was also sick twice today, the first time was mostly bile and some rather big bits of grass which would explain it but about an hour ago she brought up her supper, eaten about 4 hrs previously, her tummy is now making delightful noises in my ear but apart from that she seem her usual self!
I also wanted to ask where most people inject. We've been trying to vary the sites so do between the shoulders (sort of where the vet did it) round the sides and near her hips, the shoulders are easiest as that's where there is more skin to get hold of but we don't want to keep donig the same place.
I guess I just need some assurance that even though things aren't good yet they're ok and I don't need to worry! :roll:
 
The stress of being at the vet can elevate the BG like you saw.
To get the whole picture you need to tabulate the various BGs and other information into a form that we can evaluate. Most of use here keep the information in a Google Document spreadsheet. The following tells y hao to set itup
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130
 
A few years ago I would have said Jemima was definitely stressed at the vet but now she is very relaxed, she comes out of the carrier on her own, wants to look around, purrs and even laid down last time, but as I said, we didn't see how she was with the nurse and I do know that nurse doesn't seem to know how to hold a cat! But even so, the numbers are going up at home even if you disregard the vet numbers :sad:
I also forgot to mention, Jemima is doing huge and smelly stools, is that something connected to the diabetes or could it be a different problem? We had her on Naturesmenu pouches but due to being let down by the supplier we changed to Macs last week and her stools have been the same on both, she goes about twice in 24 hrs.
I have been meaning to do the spreadsheet, will do it at the weekend :oops:
 
Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Thank you BJM, you have given me that info before - and I even printed it out - but I forgot about the fact that we are testing at home on a human meter!! :oops: My brain is not functioning today, if the vet's pet meter is showing as being +5 on our human meter isn't that a much bigger difference than it should be, unless I'm reading the chart wrong.
Hubby fed Jemima first thing but didn't do her BG though when I did it later it was 14.5 at +3.
 
Around +2 hours after feeding there can be a food spike in the glucose level.

Vet stress can raise it from 100 to 180 mg/dL (5.5 to 10 mmol/L) depending on the cat.
 
How much does she eat a day? Are her poops fluffy and pale? Is she losing weight?

There are conditions that cause large smelly poops and I want to rule them out.

Did you get a chance to do that spreadsheet? Would be interested to see how low this dose is taking her as she is high..

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top