Jemima was diagnosed a few months ago and we managed for a little while to control it with diet but had to start her on insulin about 2 weeks ago, Caninsulin, 1 unit twice a day. We have bought a BG meter and Jemima is getting very good at sitting while I test her (and I'm getting better at testing!) but we found out last week that the vet's numbers are about +5 on ours - for example we took her in for a test which was around 21 (UK numbers) but did her at home about 40 mins later and it was around 16. Is it normal for vet and home tests to be so different? Jemima is usually very relaxed about being at the vet though this time the nurse took her without us so we don't know how she was but assume the numbers aren't higher just because she's at the vet.
Jemima's numbers have been consistently in the mid teens but in the past few days have risen and are now in the high teens so yesterday the vet increased her dose to 1.5 units, this evening's pre-shot test was 20.4 - which could mean it's around 25 on the vet's meter, she has been up to 26 at the vet but I'm getting a little concerned the numbers are going the wrong way! She seems absolutely fine in herself - and is at this moment head butting my shoulder and purring like mad to get me to feed her! - though she is peeing for England and drinking huge amounts and is constantly hungry (she's on Macs wet). She was also sick twice today, the first time was mostly bile and some rather big bits of grass which would explain it but about an hour ago she brought up her supper, eaten about 4 hrs previously, her tummy is now making delightful noises in my ear but apart from that she seem her usual self!
I also wanted to ask where most people inject. We've been trying to vary the sites so do between the shoulders (sort of where the vet did it) round the sides and near her hips, the shoulders are easiest as that's where there is more skin to get hold of but we don't want to keep donig the same place.
I guess I just need some assurance that even though things aren't good yet they're ok and I don't need to worry! :roll:
Jemima's numbers have been consistently in the mid teens but in the past few days have risen and are now in the high teens so yesterday the vet increased her dose to 1.5 units, this evening's pre-shot test was 20.4 - which could mean it's around 25 on the vet's meter, she has been up to 26 at the vet but I'm getting a little concerned the numbers are going the wrong way! She seems absolutely fine in herself - and is at this moment head butting my shoulder and purring like mad to get me to feed her! - though she is peeing for England and drinking huge amounts and is constantly hungry (she's on Macs wet). She was also sick twice today, the first time was mostly bile and some rather big bits of grass which would explain it but about an hour ago she brought up her supper, eaten about 4 hrs previously, her tummy is now making delightful noises in my ear but apart from that she seem her usual self!
I also wanted to ask where most people inject. We've been trying to vary the sites so do between the shoulders (sort of where the vet did it) round the sides and near her hips, the shoulders are easiest as that's where there is more skin to get hold of but we don't want to keep donig the same place.
I guess I just need some assurance that even though things aren't good yet they're ok and I don't need to worry! :roll: